We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So luxurious and romantic..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walnut Block Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So luxurious and romantic..”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was a wonderful choice for us to stay in, and provided an excellent base to explore the Marlborough region. We were travelling as a group of 4 (2 couples), so rented out both cottages, and enjoyed cooking a bbq overlooking the vineyards on the first night we were there. The bed was lovely and comfortable, plenty of space, and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was incredible. We are still talking about Walnut Block!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Djs-mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
120
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed here in february at the end of a long trip, and we were delighted with our choice. We particulalry enjoyed the option to barbecue and enjoy meals on our deck overlooking the vineyards. Our nightly table for 2 became a 3 when the dog came to visit! - an event which made us laugh given we ONLY saw this dog at meal times.

The facilites are superb, helpful staff on arrival, and a no stress approach to your stay. Bed very comfortable, and plenty of room to spread out an re-organise before the next part of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandjotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed 3 nights and each night was wonderful. We had personalized name plates welcoming us at the entrance. The cottage was very large, spacious, and well decorated. The bathroom floors were heated which was a real plus in the winter. The view was everything we could have hoped for. The walk through the vineyard was very nice after a day of wine tasting. They had a selection of Walnut Block wines in the cottages, it was very cool to drink the wine from the very same vineyard we are staying at. TV stand was cool as it could turn so we could watch from the couch and the bed, there was a ipod stereo too. The refrig was stocked with a nice selection breakfast items. Everything was top notch and clean. Location of the cottages are great, 5 min from the super market and 5-15 min from a bunch of wineries.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank achiabuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is simply superb. Two beautifully presented cottages looking over the vineyards with everything you need for a totally relaxing stay. Just a 5 min drive from the centre of Blenheim, and a 10 min drive to the major vineyards, this is an oasis of tranquillity and peace. The cottages have huge beds, very comfortable, sofas and dining table, great kitchenette with breakfast provided. The bathroom is magnificent - lovely cosy underfloor heating and great shower, making it a real highlight of our trip so far. The views from the big windows and the deck are marvellous, and the stars are incredibly bright at night due to the absence of streetlamps. Free fast internet was a bonus too, and the Walnut block wine was excellent. The host Clyde recommended several restaurants and Bubblygrape tours, and he was spot on. Overall, a real gem, and we just wish we could have stayed for a month!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outinthemiddaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Great little cottage in the middle of the vineyards, excellent views, really comfortable bed, nice big shower and bathroom, breakfast provisions were great & their sav blanc was a ripper. Thouroughly enjoyed our one night & wished we could have stayed longer. Well done!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantisalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2011

roomy, comfortable, well-equipped cottage with amazing views of the vineyard and the hills/mountains in the background, a great breakfast, and very, very hospitable hosts.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great place to relaxed and explore the wine tasing region from. The cottages are very well kitted out. They are modern and comfortable - the bed is huge and has lovely bedding, making it feel very luxurious.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
4.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
2.0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
627 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
5.1 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Block Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Block Cottages

Property: Walnut Block Cottages
Address: 43 Blicks Lane, RD2, Blenheim, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Blenheim
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxurious one bedroom cottages set amongst the vines, Walnut Block Cottages offer a haven of seclusion and comfort in a relaxed and inspiring environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walnut Block Cottages Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing