We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's ok, but I dont think its 5 star!!! not returning here.”
Review of Parkview on Hagley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkview on Hagley
Ranked #57 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Putting in some fancy controls in the lifts and quality bathroom fittings do not make for a 5 star hotel - i am sorry to say. This is my 2nd night at Parkview on Hagley and most certainly the last. The place appears to be run by one 'mature' lady who delivers your continental breakfast at 8pm, so you can enjoy your stale toast when u wake up. Thats it - 2 slices of stale toast and a glass of OJ. The tiny container of long life milk in the fridge is a bonus thou! because it would be such a hassle to give out some fresh milk for coffee when u check in.
Yes, im getting picky here, my bad for expecting 5 star Hotel when booking this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fazerandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

My stay at ther Parkview on Hagley was very enjoyable. The room was huge and very well laid out. It had everything i needed for my two nights stay.
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
From the minute I checked in to when I left I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
The room was very clean, the small kitchen was well kitted out if there was one thing I thought was a bit lacking it was a proper wardrobe. One of the larger kitchen cupboards was designated as the wardrobe which was a bit small.
The bathroom was very clean and even had a jacuzzi bath which was lovely! The products in the bathroom were really nice to use too.
I took advantage of the hotels room service from the adjoining restaurant and it was fantastic, huge portions and the chocolate brownie was just devine!
My room was at the front of the hotel at a busy roundabout but the double glazing was brilliant I couldn't hear the traffic at all it was pretty silent. The views over the park were lovely too. Because it was a business trip mid week I didn't get into the city centre but I got the feeling it wasn't too far out and would be within walking distance there seemed to be plenty of little shops and restaurants around the hotel. All in all a lovely little hotel that I would be pleased to use again.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very nice hotel, but a bit weird you can only get room service from the restaurant below, breakfast is only avaialble via room service if you order before 7pm the night before..we arrived after 7pm so missed out!

TV was on the same wall as the bed, so you couldnt watch it in bed...again..strange.

Noisest heat pump ive ever weve ever experienced....we turned it off in the end, and the road noise started at about 6am.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Small boutique hotel with rooms that shoot the lights out.
Great for business/couples stop over. Geat pub downstairs/nextdoor

Room Tip: I think they're all as good as eachother as there are only 40 rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I've stayed in plenty of hotels all over the world - some of which being 5 star and some. But the little things are always what counts and customer service is key. That's what Parkview has achieved. Friendly and helpful service, and rooms are clean tidy and include all the necessary comforts. Also lloved the views to Hagley Park, particularly as the autumn leaves are starting to turn. Would stay again and recommend to anyone to also.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiegirl369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Would not recommend a room here, was told since rooms were double glazed that road noise was 'barely noticeable' was kept up to all hours of the morning by yelling, screaming and boy racer cars.
Room had a lovely big spa bath however no plug and a sign saying not allowed to use it.

Trying to talk to Brian was like trying to get blood from a stone, anything that was said fell on deaf ears unless the wallet was open and willing to pay extra on top of a very expensive room as is.
Clearly wasn't interested in anything but turning a profit. Very dissapointed, suggest a change from the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesV102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This was a lovely hotel. There didn't seem to be many other guests, so it was very quiet in the building. The staff was very friendly. We loved being across from Hagley Park. We would go for a nice walk every night in the amazing park.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
288 reviews
1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#31 of 146 in Christchurch
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
2,115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview on Hagley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview on Hagley

Address: 1 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#34 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#37 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £72 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview on Hagley 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parkview on Hagley, luxurious studio hotel suite accommodation located at the green heart of Christchurch, beautiful Hagley Park. As our name suggests, most of our 40 suites enjoy views over leafy Hagley Park, many from their own private balcony. Enjoy the ever-changing outlook, as Spring daffodils, cherry blossom and brilliant Autumn colours each in turn grace this much-loved Christchurch icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parkview on Hagley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview On Hagley Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing