We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay but nothing luxurious”
Review of Parkview on Hagley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkview on Hagley
Ranked #58 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

the hotel is at a round about facing the hagley park south, the room is huge, bed is comfortable, bathroom is clean with nice fittings. free parking and wifi. there are many restuarants within walking distance, botanic garden is 5 min by foot. its an nice apartment, nothing like a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinzhikangchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

Had a good night at this hotel, well situated on the corner of Hagley Park and within 15 minute walk of city centre. The room was huge with kitchen area, desk, TV and bed. The bathroom was designed to cater for a wheelchair user so also very large. Alas we were not allocated a room with a spa bath. Everything was as we needed it, with a helpful proprietor who took us to our room. There is much building work going on which makes for a bit of noise, but the freshness of the room, the huge continental breakfast and the comfort made up for that. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a spa bath perhaps you have to ask, or upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksMysteryVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed here for three nights to attend a family wedding. Our room was a Premium executive and very spacious with reasonable furniture and fittings, though definitely not 5 star standard. The bed was comfortable but the sofa and armchairs were very uncomfortable with cushions made out of rock.
The room overlooks a major roundabout intersection and there was sewerage repair work going on right outside our window, the double glazing was really good at keeping the noise to an acceptable background level. However the internal repair work was EXTREMELY noisy - they were drilling tiles off walls and it sounded as thou it was happening right behind our headboard - this disturbed us at 4.30pm Friday afternoon, then on Saturday morning and before 9am on the Sunday morning - NOT acceptable. The absolute worse thing about the room was the complete lack of privacy - being on a busy main road with floor to ceiling windows and no net curtains. this meant that we had to draw heavy drapes whenever we wished to get changed, plunging us into complete darkness during the middle of the day when getting ready for a wedding.
The hotel has no facilities - breakfast is brought in from a cafe down the road so we gave that a miss imagining it to be cold and dry by the time it would arrive. There was no mini bar in the room and nowhere in the hotel to buy a drink - 5 star?
The bathrooms were nicely appointed but lacked finishing touches. for example they provide large bottles of shampoo and conditioner but no shelf in the shower to put them on, everything has to go on the floor.
Definitely not worth a return visit.


We would not stay here again - overpriced and average quality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneySinger2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is most certainly NOT a five star hotel, and the ugly exterior might be off-putting. It was clean, spacious, quiet and quite acceptable. And it had a bath - always a tick in my book.

No in-house restaurant, but the rowdy around the corner downstairs serves quite good food with generous portions.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a view over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mala1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights. It is right by the park and in walking distance to a lot of things. The bed is very comfortable and has a toaster, microwave, kettle, and fridge for use. It has large containers of soap, lotion, shampoo, and conditioner for use along with a very nice hair dryer. The room is nicely decorated and was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnikaColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Putting in some fancy controls in the lifts and quality bathroom fittings do not make for a 5 star hotel - i am sorry to say. This is my 2nd night at Parkview on Hagley and most certainly the last. The place appears to be run by one 'mature' lady who delivers your continental breakfast at 8pm, so you can enjoy your stale toast when u wake up. Thats it - 2 slices of stale toast and a glass of OJ. The tiny container of long life milk in the fridge is a bonus thou! because it would be such a hassle to give out some fresh milk for coffee when u check in.
Yes, im getting picky here, my bad for expecting 5 star Hotel when booking this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fazerandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My stay at ther Parkview on Hagley was very enjoyable. The room was huge and very well laid out. It had everything i needed for my two nights stay.
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
From the minute I checked in to when I left I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
The room was very clean, the small kitchen was well kitted out if there was one thing I thought was a bit lacking it was a proper wardrobe. One of the larger kitchen cupboards was designated as the wardrobe which was a bit small.
The bathroom was very clean and even had a jacuzzi bath which was lovely! The products in the bathroom were really nice to use too.
I took advantage of the hotels room service from the adjoining restaurant and it was fantastic, huge portions and the chocolate brownie was just devine!
My room was at the front of the hotel at a busy roundabout but the double glazing was brilliant I couldn't hear the traffic at all it was pretty silent. The views over the park were lovely too. Because it was a business trip mid week I didn't get into the city centre but I got the feeling it wasn't too far out and would be within walking distance there seemed to be plenty of little shops and restaurants around the hotel. All in all a lovely little hotel that I would be pleased to use again.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
#37 of 146 in Christchurch
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,028 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#28 of 146 in Christchurch
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview on Hagley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview on Hagley

Address: 1 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#34 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#40 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £56 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview on Hagley 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parkview on Hagley, luxurious studio hotel suite accommodation located at the green heart of Christchurch, beautiful Hagley Park. As our name suggests, most of our 40 suites enjoy views over leafy Hagley Park, many from their own private balcony. Enjoy the ever-changing outlook, as Spring daffodils, cherry blossom and brilliant Autumn colours each in turn grace this much-loved Christchurch icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parkview on Hagley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview On Hagley Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing