We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Parkview on Hagley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkview on Hagley
Ranked #62 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Great location, with Hagley Park and the Botanic Gardens literally over the road. Despite being at a busy intersection, traffic noise was not a problem. We chose this hotel because we got a great internet deal (through the hotel's website) on a lovely big room with a view over the park. Plus, other guests had rated it's cleanliness highly, which was important to us - we found it to be very clean and comfortable, with friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetoru3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    68
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
16
68
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2009

My husband and I and our 2 children stayed at this hotel on our recent NZ holiday. We stayed 2 nights at the start of our trip and we loved it so much we stayed another 2 nights at the end of our trip. The rooms were spacious, immaculate and the beds were the most comfortable in the whole of our trip. The staff were really friendly and helpful. It was a lovely walk into the city across the park and a short walk in the other direction to a major shopping mall. The kids were so happy with their room that they did not want to leave it !!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecully, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Hello

We stayed at the Parkview on Hagley for two days and thoroughly enjoyed our time there !!! It has a great location, close to the park and 15 minutes wlak to the town centre. We had a large room, a good view, a lot of space to relax and enjoy our stay in Christchurch.

We recommend it for winding down in Christchurch, which is as well a lovely city worth enjoying for a couple days.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabrice73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Conveniently located in Christchurch, modern and comfortable, staff are very helpful, Exec rooms are spacious and great views over park. Lots of off convenient off-street parking - highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Had to go to Christchurch unexpectedly and found this hotel on the internet at a great rate.. The manager was welcoming and very helpful. Our studio apartment was spacious and immaculately clean with quality furnishings and fittings. Comfortable king size bed and good sound proofing ensured a great night's sleep! Despite being on a busy main road we heard no road noise at all. Heaps of free,secure off street parking. The whole place looked brand new, and well located overlooking the park and close to shops and restaurants. We ate in the restaurant beside the hotel both nights as the food was great!
Christine from Marlborough

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

clean and well presented room..unfortunate that our room had a view of the capark, especially considering its great location of overlooking the botanic gardens...would specifiy this aspect if i stayed again.rooms have everything you could want including a spa bath and the fit out is modern and new.guest laundry is tucked away and not user friendly (no seating and small room)..however overall a great lace to stay

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We arrived early, after enduring an unbelievably noisy night at the hotel down the road.
The receptionist was very helpful, nothing was a problem,
We were upgaded to an (executive) room which had a lovely view of the park from our balcony.
The room was amazing & the staff were so helpful.
We will defininately be back.

  • Liked — Great Room
  • Disliked — Walk through carpark to Resaurant (Great Food Though)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wanderer060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.9 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#86 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aalton Motel
Aalton Motel
#56 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Roma on Riccarton Motel
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview on Hagley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview on Hagley

Property: Parkview on Hagley
Address: 1 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#34 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#40 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview on Hagley 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parkview on Hagley, luxurious studio hotel suite accommodation located at the green heart of Christchurch, beautiful Hagley Park. As our name suggests, most of our 40 suites enjoy views over leafy Hagley Park, many from their own private balcony. Enjoy the ever-changing outlook, as Spring daffodils, cherry blossom and brilliant Autumn colours each in turn grace this much-loved Christchurch icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Parkview on Hagley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview On Hagley Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing