We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arena Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle on the Park(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
105
84
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
84
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfree shuttletranz alpinenext morningcheerful servicehelpful with local informationbus servicetrain tripwindows closedlincoln roadone nightperfect basemins walk awaytower junctionami stadiumroad noiseovernight stop
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Located on a fairly busy road, it's not a quiet place unfortunately.

The rooms are ok, with a basic electric heater to try and keep the place warm. It only just succeeded.

You get 500Mb free wifi which is helpful - this worked without issue.

Shower only just managed to get hot enough.

Continental breakfast and a cooked breakfast can be ordered - the continental is dropped off night prior.

I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent location for travel on Tranzalpine train trip. Free transport to and from railway station a real bonus. Friendly and helpful hosts. Only had a 2 night stay and room was serviced which was an unexpected surprise for motel accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gade34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I chose Arena Motel as our last stop of our 14 days self drive trip in South Island because of its proximity to the train station and the free transportation service provided to/from the station. We took the TranzAlpine ride from Greymouth to Christchurch. Upon arriving at the Christchurch train station, we made a free phone call (located on the left side of the entrance of the station) to the Arena Motel. Within minutes, a van came to pick us up to the motel (very efficient!). The duty manager (I think her name is ‘Dale’) was very friendly and walked us to our room, and we were surprised to find that the room was already warm with the heater on. Dale explained that the night was getting a bit chilly and she thought we may need some warmth. EXCELLENT service and THOUGHTFUL host!! The motel is also located conveniently near to a number of eateries within 5 mins walk. Dale booked us a shuttle service to the international airport which cost NZ$20 in total for the two of us (much cheaper than taxi). Highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My friend and I stayed here on two different occasions while we were in NZ. Within 3 blocks from the train station. An easy walk. Upon arriving as we were a bit late due to the train being down and had to be bused from Kaikoura to Christchurch, Dale welcomed us with a very friendly greeting and checked us in no bother. She even took us to our room. We were astounded by the room with a nice kitchen for cooking and just very nice detailed little items that you normally don't find in places. One of our best places we stayed in in NZ!!! Would definitely stay again if I was ever in the area!! Nice shuttle service too and free. Dale, hope you and your husband had a nice trip to Australia and your son the next morning got us to the train station with no problem. Bobby & Bart. U.S.A.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I traveled with a friend to attend the Christchurch Food Show at the Addington Raceway Arena. We chose to stay at the Arena Motel due to the good reviews on Tripadvisor, being walking distance to the arena, and the reasonable price.

We stayed in the one bedroom unit which had a queen bed in the bedroom and two singles in the main area. The room was fairly basic (it did have a convenient kitchenette) and quite clean. It The shower pressure was on the low side, but the water was warn (never ran out of hot water). The room definitely worked well for the three of us.

The hosts were very friendly and accommodating.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike & Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews