We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Very Happy Stay At All”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #40 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a room invasion at 1:20am as a result of their poor client management practices. It was very embarrassing and very upsetting for my wife. We wont be staying there again despite an offer to reduce the next stay by 50% and room rate refund. The reason for the invasion was explained, however the explanation belies belief and the managers wife standing at the door at 1:20am debating why we were in the room and asking the client to check there key while we lay there semi clothed and in a state of shock, was TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE and should not have happened!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Courtney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lei K, Manager at Arthur's Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for your review and we are deeply sorry for your terrible experience. Firstly, the lady who was standing outside your door was one of the tourists who accidently took the room key when they spend their first night in CHCH with us. They forgot to return the key when they checked out 1 week and half ago and they were supposely to spend their last night in the same unit with us before their departure.
They did not check their email as we have sent them one to explain their unit would be different when they came back due to you have extended your stay with us, we were quite fully booked and we had to move them into a different unit. There were no other contact details for them apart from their email address.
We are truly sorry for the incident and we will do our best to prevent it from happening again.

The management team at Arthurs Court Motor Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This motel is very comfortable, extremely clean and the management are extremely accommodating. I had booked the wrong dates and we also arrived very early after an all night flight from Perth. The manager was extremely friendly and went out his way to find us a room for 3 of us and also booked us in early so that we could get some sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Would definitely return if we need accommodation in Christchurch again. Clean, comfortable and safe. We had a car so location was not an issue. Found it fairly expensive, but apparently most ChCh motels are these days anyway. We had two adults and two young children. Enough space, but not large. Seating was only for two, but dining table seated 4. Wouldn't be ideal if you wanted to do a lot of cooking in the room, but fine for basic stuff. Such a friendly manager.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katinjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stay for 2 night! Very modern and well maintained development. Comfortably and well equipped. Convenient location for central area. Love that 2GB free and super fast Wi-fi (many other place said free wi-fi = slow Wi-Fi) . Friendly and helpful hosts. Thanks q!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sharon-Hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here on our way to Melbourne we arrived late and left early so we didn't see anyone. The room was very clean and the décor is brand new and up to date. I thought the it was good value for money. The only two things that let it down for me was that the bedroom was very cold and I wasn't going to leave the fan heater on all night. I couldn't leave the bedroom to the lounge door open as my mother was sleeping in there and her snoring would have kept me awake :) Supplying a heater that is safe to run through the night for the back room would be great. The bedding wasn't warm enough and there was no extra blanket in the cupboard. The other thing was that the hot water cylinder must be on low as our showers were only just lukewarm and that was when we had the mixer turned to the hottest it could go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belle_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was my second stay at Arthur's Court Motor Lodge. I visited Christchurch for business and will definitely return to this accommodation. It is centrally located. Clean, well appointed, and friendly helpful service. I have now been in winter and summer and it was warm in winter and cool in summer - nice comfortable bed and clean quite new bathroom and kitchen facilities (and lots of towels).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This place is great. We stayed for 4 nights. It is modern, spacious, clean and nicely decorated. We had a big spa bath, separate from a nice modern bathroom. There were large sliding doors that you could close if you wanted to separate that side of things from the rest of the apartment.
The kitchen was well equipped so we were able to have a couple of meals at home, which is nice after being on a long holiday and having eaten out so many nights in a row.
We had a super-king bed which was honestly one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in while on holiday. It faced a huge flat screen TV that was mounted up on the wall. Sometimes there were a few reception issues with it but it wasn't too much of an issue.
There was a lot of parking and we had our car parked right outside the room.
We were never disturbed by the staff and we always came back to a perfectly cleaned room. But if you did need any assistance, the office was a few seconds away and they were always happy to help and give advice.
Another great thing was 2GB of free wifi for each of us.
It was only a few minutes drive into the city center as well!
Couldn't really find a bad word to say about this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#37 of 146 in Christchurch
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#44 of 146 in Christchurch
140 reviews
1.7 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
766 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#27 of 146 in Christchurch
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Court Motor Lodge

Address: 110 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £66 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arthur's Court Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in one of the best Christchurch motels. Arthur's Court Motor Lodge is the only Qualmark 5 Star rated motel in Christchurch with the highest responsible tourism Enviro Gold rating. Only 3 minutes drive from the central city and 15 minutes from the airport, we offer accommodation to suit all needs, from spacious suites and studios to a two-bedroom two-bathroom apartment. Our Executive Spa Suite, including a luxurious 18-jet spa, is perfect for a quiet wind-down or a honeymoon dream. All units are fully equipped for a warm, comfortable and relaxing stay, with FREE Unlimited High Speed Fibre WIFI, airconditioning/heatpumps, and LCD TVs with 8 Sky channels in every lounge and bedroom. Access is easy to our single storey complex, with car parking outside your door. Security cameras cover the complex for your peace of mind. Our water garden and gazebo are a good place for an out of doors chat over coffee.. We look forward to welcoming you to our motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arthur's Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing