We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arthur's Court Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #25 of 147 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Invercargill
1 review
“Quiet and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed in unit 10 - spa unit and was quiet, comfortable, warm and bed very comfy - kitchen was stocked well to cook a meal and close to supermarket and city - we will be back - best place I have stayed in a long time!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFWilson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    84
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
85
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very comfortable room and just what we needed after a hectic journey. Highly recommended for families. A bit of road noise in the morning but it is on a busy road. Beds are of a high standard as was all the furnishings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank frazermartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a room invasion at 1:20am as a result of their poor client management practices. It was very embarrassing and very upsetting for my wife. We wont be staying there again despite an offer to reduce the next stay by 50% and room rate refund. The reason for the invasion was explained, however the explanation belies belief and the managers wife standing at the door at 1:20am debating why we were in the room and asking the client to check there key while we lay there semi clothed and in a state of shock, was TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE and should not have happened!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Courtney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lei K, Manager at Arthur's Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for your review and we are deeply sorry for your terrible experience. Firstly, the lady who was standing outside your door was one of the tourists who accidently took the room key when they spend their first night in CHCH with us. They forgot to return the key when they checked out 1 week and half ago and they were supposely to spend their last night in the same unit with us before their departure.
They did not check their email as we have sent them one to explain their unit would be different when they came back due to you have extended your stay with us, we were quite fully booked and we had to move them into a different unit. There were no other contact details for them apart from their email address.
We are truly sorry for the incident and we will do our best to prevent it from happening again.

The management team at Arthurs Court Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This motel is very comfortable, extremely clean and the management are extremely accommodating. I had booked the wrong dates and we also arrived very early after an all night flight from Perth. The manager was extremely friendly and went out his way to find us a room for 3 of us and also booked us in early so that we could get some sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Would definitely return if we need accommodation in Christchurch again. Clean, comfortable and safe. We had a car so location was not an issue. Found it fairly expensive, but apparently most ChCh motels are these days anyway. We had two adults and two young children. Enough space, but not large. Seating was only for two, but dining table seated 4. Wouldn't be ideal if you wanted to do a lot of cooking in the room, but fine for basic stuff. Such a friendly manager.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katinjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stay for 2 night! Very modern and well maintained development. Comfortably and well equipped. Convenient location for central area. Love that 2GB free and super fast Wi-fi (many other place said free wi-fi = slow Wi-Fi) . Friendly and helpful hosts. Thanks q!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon-Hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here on our way to Melbourne we arrived late and left early so we didn't see anyone. The room was very clean and the décor is brand new and up to date. I thought the it was good value for money. The only two things that let it down for me was that the bedroom was very cold and I wasn't going to leave the fan heater on all night. I couldn't leave the bedroom to the lounge door open as my mother was sleeping in there and her snoring would have kept me awake :) Supplying a heater that is safe to run through the night for the back room would be great. The bedding wasn't warm enough and there was no extra blanket in the cupboard. The other thing was that the hot water cylinder must be on low as our showers were only just lukewarm and that was when we had the mixer turned to the hottest it could go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belle_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#26 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#32 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#16 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#23 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#22 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Court Motor Lodge

Property: Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Address: 110 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 147 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Arthur's Court Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in one of the best Christchurch motels. Arthur's Court Motor Lodge is the only Qualmark 5 Star rated motel in Christchurch with the highest responsible tourism Enviro Gold rating.We were the first motel in New Zealand to achieve this double rating, showing our commitment to quality in all aspects of our business. Only 3 minutes drive from the central city and 15 minutes from the airport, we offer accommodation to suit all needs, from spacious suites and studios to a two-bedroom two-bathroom apartment. Our Executive Spa Suite, including a luxurious 18-jet spa, is perfect for a quiet wind-down or a honeymoon dream. All units are fully equipped for a warm, comfortable and relaxing stay, with FREE 2GB WIFI Internet, airconditioning/heatpumps, and LCD TVs with 8 Sky channels in every lounge and bedroom. Access is easy to our single storey complex, with car parking outside your door. Security cameras cover the complex for your peace of mind. Our water garden and gazebo are a good place for an out of doors chat over coffee. Our Enviro award incorporates our Photo-voltaic electricity generation, solar water heating, double glazing, blackout curtaining, heatpumps/airconditioners, eco electric light bulbs, and PIP cleaning products. The PIP (Probiotics In Progress) system is not chemical based, and destroys such things as dust mites so helping people who suffer from allergies to achieve a better night's sleep. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, even removing the toilet seat for sanitising after every guest leaves. We look forward to welcoming you to our motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Arthur's Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing