We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #41 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at Arthur's Court at the end of our South Island tour. The units were very modern, warm and comfortable. I would go so far as to call them luxurious. The units themselves were the best we found. However, don't be fooled by the comment made by reception staff that the double glazing will keep out the traffic noise. Yes, it makes it a lot quieter but the motel is located on a very busy road and our room was right by the road. This is Ok, if you are up and going early but staying with teenagers it was not ideal. Also we had booked a 1 bedroom unit with 2 double beds and a single but the rooms had been reconfigured with 1 double and 2 singles.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JacVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in July, we got a large one bed apartment, had everything we needed, there were places to eat just around the corner, 3 min walk, reception was very friendly and helpful and would definately recommend this motel to others!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stripeynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for one night. Had a long flight from Perth and was very tired. Arrived at the airport at 6am and tried to check in early and they were very accommodating by letting us check in early (11am)
Very clean and spacious room, with full facilities, friendly & understanding staff, Check out was a breeze. We had a very good rest. Close to award winning restaurants and supermarket. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkaiCaelestis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed in unit 10 - spa unit and was quiet, comfortable, warm and bed very comfy - kitchen was stocked well to cook a meal and close to supermarket and city - we will be back - best place I have stayed in a long time!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFWilson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very comfortable room and just what we needed after a hectic journey. Highly recommended for families. A bit of road noise in the morning but it is on a busy road. Beds are of a high standard as was all the furnishings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank frazermartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a room invasion at 1:20am as a result of their poor client management practices. It was very embarrassing and very upsetting for my wife. We wont be staying there again despite an offer to reduce the next stay by 50% and room rate refund. The reason for the invasion was explained, however the explanation belies belief and the managers wife standing at the door at 1:20am debating why we were in the room and asking the client to check there key while we lay there semi clothed and in a state of shock, was TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE and should not have happened!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Courtney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lei K, Manager at Arthur's Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for your review and we are deeply sorry for your terrible experience. Firstly, the lady who was standing outside your door was one of the tourists who accidently took the room key when they spend their first night in CHCH with us. They forgot to return the key when they checked out 1 week and half ago and they were supposely to spend their last night in the same unit with us before their departure.
They did not check their email as we have sent them one to explain their unit would be different when they came back due to you have extended your stay with us, we were quite fully booked and we had to move them into a different unit. There were no other contact details for them apart from their email address.
We are truly sorry for the incident and we will do our best to prevent it from happening again.

The management team at Arthurs Court Motor Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This motel is very comfortable, extremely clean and the management are extremely accommodating. I had booked the wrong dates and we also arrived very early after an all night flight from Perth. The manager was extremely friendly and went out his way to find us a room for 3 of us and also booked us in early so that we could get some sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#36 of 146 in Christchurch
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#42 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#38 of 146 in Christchurch
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Court Motor Lodge

Address: 110 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £69 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arthur's Court Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in one of the best Christchurch motels. Arthur's Court Motor Lodge is the only Qualmark 5 Star rated motel in Christchurch with the highest responsible tourism Enviro Gold rating.We were the first motel in New Zealand to achieve this double rating, showing our commitment to quality in all aspects of our business. Only 3 minutes drive from the central city and 15 minutes from the airport, we offer accommodation to suit all needs, from spacious suites and studios to a two-bedroom two-bathroom apartment. Our Executive Spa Suite, including a luxurious 18-jet spa, is perfect for a quiet wind-down or a honeymoon dream. All units are fully equipped for a warm, comfortable and relaxing stay, with FREE 2GB WIFI Internet, airconditioning/heatpumps, and LCD TVs with 8 Sky channels in every lounge and bedroom. Access is easy to our single storey complex, with car parking outside your door. Security cameras cover the complex for your peace of mind. Our water garden and gazebo are a good place for an out of doors chat over coffee. Our Enviro award incorporates our Photo-voltaic electricity generation, solar water heating, double glazing, blackout curtaining, heatpumps/airconditioners, eco electric light bulbs, and PIP cleaning products. The PIP (Probiotics In Progress) system is not chemical based, and destroys such things as dust mites so helping people who suffer from allergies to achieve a better night's sleep. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, even removing the toilet seat for sanitising after every guest leaves. We look forward to welcoming you to our motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arthur's Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing