We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean room, lovely staff great Thai takeaway across road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
136 On Bealey Motel
Ranked #81 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great clean room, lovely staff great Thai takeaway across road”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just what we needed for one night prior to Bus to Christchurch. Loved the large clean room. enjoyed the Thai takeaway across the street but the kitchenette was well equipped if you wanted to self cater.
Would stay again, but not really walking distance to downtown, We stayed as it was close to the intercity bus stop but the bus stop has been moved and now not really walking distance. It was a 12 dollar taxi ride away

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    28
    29
    8
    10
See reviews for
20
36
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

It smells stale and smoky, there's pealing paint all over (wear and tear, not earthquake related) and pealing lino in the drab bathroom. Old noisy fridge and a saggy bed. I wish I wasn't staying here at all but one night would be all I could do.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patchavanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Sometimes you read from right to left when booking with the price in mind and then compromise comfort? This motel was $120 a night for a good size clean large room. Easy access and parking...free Internet ....the room had a bath, shower and everything you need....this is a great find and I will use again!

Room Tip: I only went in one room but the size of rooms all looked the same....rear of the hotel was quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Have stayed here 3-4 times this year, generally paying between $89 - $120. This is probably one of the few motels left in Christchurch post earthquake that didnt inflict price gouging on the traveller. They have renovated recently, and I think for the price you pay to get a comfy bed, flatscreen tv, kitchenette (some units), and a bath / and or shower - plus unlimited multiple device wi-fi is a very fair price. I've paid similar rates at hostels / lodges which don't have TVs, kitchenettes, and usually involve sharing communal bathrooms so I think this place is a bargain. It is central / walking distance to a number of bars (Casino / Carlton Hotel), as well as the SuperValue supermarket. Never had a problem getting a carpark, staff always friendly, rooms always clean... No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpayne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 6 and this motel is the only one ive found on bealey street that caters to 6 that offers a bed. Not a sofa bed :)
We had 2 interconnecting rooms each with a queen/king and a single :)
We arrived at the motel very late because the ferry from christchurch to picton was 4 hrs delayed... So basically ive informed the place thru email that we will be late. What they did was warmed up the rooms for us! Very sweet and thoughtful of them!

She oriented us to the rooms and exits well! Another great thing!

We will definitely be back!

We are currently on a south island road trip with my parents, sister, husband and 1 yr old baby :) so right beds are a must for us!

Actually booked another one night with them a week from now :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltabby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here after getting an offer on Wotif - the pictures are very deceiving. Expecting a slightly little more modern and refurbished room we got a tidy room but outdated and quite tired - painted cinderblock walls, all the door frames etc have had a hard life, scratched and paint coming off on corners. Bathroom basic and outdated. Kitchen basic and outdated. I guess disappointed having seen pictures online and then being welcomed to this. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Probably better options at this price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Accommodation in Christchurch is at a premium. The Avenue Motel is centrally located on Bealey Avenue, walking distance to the still near devastated town centre and close to 2 good pubs (Speights and Bailie's) for good value food. The motel is your old-fashioned NZ motel with a separate kitchen if you want to self-cater (supermarket also nearby). The bedroom is spacious, with good heating and plenty of warm bedding for the cold winter nights in Christchurch. There is a very good cafe next door and other cafes in containers close by. Overall hard to beat at a value price.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise on the street side but we didn't find that a real problem-if concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ec0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#82 of 144 in Christchurch
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#62 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Motor Lodge
Abbey Motor Lodge
#118 of 144 in Christchurch
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bealey Avenue Motel
Bealey Avenue Motel
#69 of 144 in Christchurch
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellano Motel Suites
Bellano Motel Suites
#68 of 144 in Christchurch
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 136 On Bealey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 136 On Bealey Motel

Property: 136 On Bealey Motel
Address: 136 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Avenue Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 136 On Bealey Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious, relaxing, and luxurious haven in the heart of Christchurch City. An accommodation experience worth remembering and sharing. Welcome to 136 on Bealey Avenue Motel! Located just a short walk from the bustling central business district, 136 on Bealey is the traveller’s choice for cheap accommodation in Christchurch. We make sure that every guest will enjoy a wonderful and memorable stay in our budget motel. Whether you are staying in Christchurch for a corporate event or a family vacation, or you are taking a break from a long trip, 136 on Bealey has the right accommodation for you. Comfort, Value, Experience At 136 on Bealey, we combine affordability with comfort to provide high quality hospitality services. We offer convenient options for all of our guests. Our great location allows more travellers to find a spacious budget accommodation in Christchurch easily. If you are travelling to the Garden City, then booking a room at 136 on Bealey is a great option. We are a few minutes away from the central city. It Feels Like Home It is our goal to give you the best accommodation experience throughout your stay in our Christchurch motel. We make sure all our guests are comfortable in their clean and well-maintained rooms. Choose from our Executive King, Queen Twin, and Interconnecting Suites designed to make you feel at home. Comprehensive Accommodation Services We provide everything that guests might need during their stay. All rooms are secure and comfortable. Stay entertained with our LCD TVs with cable TV. Free Wi-Fi Internet is available to help you stay connected with friends on social media. We offer daily room servicing, guest laundry, and parking services, as well. Great Location 136 on Bealey is near the Christchurch CBD and the Southern Cross Hospital. It provides easy access to the city’s entertainment hubs, as well as transport terminals, such as the Metro Bus Line. We are among the budget motels near Christchurch Airport, Christchurch Women’s Hospital and Hagley Park. We are close to famous local attractions, including: ◦Canterbury Museum ◦185 Empty Chairs Tribute ◦Re:Start Container Shopping Experience ◦Cardboard Cathedral ◦Quake City Exhibition ◦Botanic Gardens ◦Antigua Boat Shed/Punting on Avon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your 136 On Bealey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing