We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
136 On Bealey Motel
Ranked #77 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this place ”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This is the third or forth time I have stayed here. And really enjoy it. Clean comfortable towels changed daily. Close to city free wifi. But I have to say after comming in late to check in past reception hours they went to the extra effort . Came in my electric blanket was on ! Thank you . If you are wanting decent cheap motel in chch you can't beat this place .

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank meow_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    28
    29
    8
    10
See reviews for
20
37
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was needing to stay in Christchurch for one night and wanted to find a place that was reasonably priced. 136 on Bealey was just that. It was a 20 minute walk to the main centre and 5 minutes walk from the airport bus route stop. I arrived at about 2 pm and was welcomed by the friendly manager who explained the ins and outs and directed me to my room. It was a clean, tidy and warm studio room with free wifi which was a bonus. The bed was comfortable and the room mostly quiet though you could hear the neighbours talking in the still of the night. There was a basic Sky package 2 sports channels and 1 movie channel which served my purpose. The shower was good and, again, well cleaned. Cleanliness is obviously important to management. If you are wanting cooking facilities ask when booking as only some of the rooms have this - the room I got only had a microwave, toaster and kettle. All in all 136 on Bealey was value for money and gave me a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for full cooking facilities upon booking if you want more than a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having visited Christchurch several times, staying at the same motel, we decided to find a different one by checking the internet..The one that we decided on was 136 On Bealey-Avenue Motel..We arrived about 7pm and were met by a bright, cheerful young woman, Ashley.{sp?}. The room was ideal, amenities excellent, all that one requires for a comfortable stay..A drawback was having stairs to climb, neither of us find stairs easy nowadays but acceptable as this was a one night stay. On checkout we rebooked for our return but pointed out that we would prefer a ground floor unit. On our return we were given our choice by an equally cheerful receptionist, Lee...Light sleepers that we are, the good nights sleep that we had on both occasions was welcome..Recommended.

Room Tip: Don't have one, both rooms were ideal, beds very comfortable and clean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night. Very accommodating hosts. Arrived early but arranged a room for us without much hesitation. Clean room but small kitchenette. Microwave only no stove. Wifi reception acceptable. A little pricey considering the location and facilities but not bad for a 1 night stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karlz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here last September. Thought it was an average cheap motel until got woken at 1:30am by someone claiming to be the Police. No peep hole or safety chain and wife very scared who was really there, so did not open the door. Claimed he was doing a bail check on someone the Police had put into the motel.
On speaking to the receptionist next morning and her responses, it was apparent that Police often put this type of "guest" here. The back door is left unlocked so Police can check which is how they got in. I wondered how many other people know that - probably everyone who has been bail checked here in the past.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I was in town for a ladies lunch with the Crusaders Rugby side and wow, thanks again for the lovely stay!

I felt very welcomed from when I first arrived, there was a sign on the door for me and my keys were in the safe deposit box which was instructed on the initial email from them.

I was aware they are still slowly refurbishing the place so there is still some old decor and what not but the beds were comfy, the rooms were big and spacious and that's all I needed!

I had both a roadside room on both stays and the only issue was the seagulls making a noise, not the traffic.

Only complaint was the family on level 1 on the Sunday letting their children run riot and knocking on my door at all hours whilst I'm trying to sleep!


Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank FlankerLady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

exceptional service, helpful with laundry and other requests, great assistance with email and wifi.
Great location to where we needed to be over the weekend.
Not bad for noise considering on a busy road.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#64 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bealey Avenue Motel
Bealey Avenue Motel
#72 of 144 in Christchurch
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Focus Motel & Executive Suites
Focus Motel & Executive Suites
#5 of 105 in Christchurch
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 144 in Christchurch
952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Motor Lodge
Abbey Motor Lodge
#119 of 144 in Christchurch
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 136 On Bealey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 136 On Bealey Motel

Property: 136 On Bealey Motel
Address: 136 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Avenue Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 136 On Bealey Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious, relaxing, and luxurious haven in the heart of Christchurch City. An accommodation experience worth remembering and sharing. Welcome to 136 on Bealey Avenue Motel! Located just a short walk from the bustling central business district, 136 on Bealey is the traveller’s choice for cheap accommodation in Christchurch. We make sure that every guest will enjoy a wonderful and memorable stay in our budget motel. Whether you are staying in Christchurch for a corporate event or a family vacation, or you are taking a break from a long trip, 136 on Bealey has the right accommodation for you. Comfort, Value, Experience At 136 on Bealey, we combine affordability with comfort to provide high quality hospitality services. We offer convenient options for all of our guests. Our great location allows more travellers to find a spacious budget accommodation in Christchurch easily. If you are travelling to the Garden City, then booking a room at 136 on Bealey is a great option. We are a few minutes away from the central city. It Feels Like Home It is our goal to give you the best accommodation experience throughout your stay in our Christchurch motel. We make sure all our guests are comfortable in their clean and well-maintained rooms. Choose from our Executive King, Queen Twin, and Interconnecting Suites designed to make you feel at home. Comprehensive Accommodation Services We provide everything that guests might need during their stay. All rooms are secure and comfortable. Stay entertained with our LCD TVs with cable TV. Free Wi-Fi Internet is available to help you stay connected with friends on social media. We offer daily room servicing, guest laundry, and parking services, as well. Great Location 136 on Bealey is near the Christchurch CBD and the Southern Cross Hospital. It provides easy access to the city’s entertainment hubs, as well as transport terminals, such as the Metro Bus Line. We are among the budget motels near Christchurch Airport, Christchurch Women’s Hospital and Hagley Park. We are close to famous local attractions, including: ◦Canterbury Museum ◦185 Empty Chairs Tribute ◦Re:Start Container Shopping Experience ◦Cardboard Cathedral ◦Quake City Exhibition ◦Botanic Gardens ◦Antigua Boat Shed/Punting on Avon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your 136 On Bealey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing