We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okuti Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Okuti Garden
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Okuti Gardens offers a unique experience - peaceful, tranquil, beautiful. The yurts are brilliant - you'll have the best nights sleep! James and Jane have created a unique visiting experience, great for families, couples, or single travellers wanting something different. Thank you! We will be back!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank loocoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We loved glamping at Okuti. Beautiful gardens and the kids thoroughly enjoyed it. Rail trail just down the road and Little River village is lovely. Clean and a wonderful experience. Loved the yurts! The kids loved the donkeys and there is a pond with a boat the children enjoyed. Will be back.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

This place has a few individual and characterful places to sleep in comfort from yurts / tipees to vans. The outdoor areas and gardens are amazing with a great kitchen area and social parts. The outdoor heated bath was my favourite although the solar shower took some braving!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and had a great time. Jim and Jane were very welcoming hosts and happily allowed us to spend one night in a yurt and the next night in the house-truck. We really enjoyed both nights and the chance to experience both types of accommodation.

The atmosphere is relaxed and the tranquil gardens offer plenty of areas to explore, featuring the friendly donkeys and Nutmeg the dog. Jim and Jane got the wood-burner going in the communal studio, which was a cosy place to read and unwind in the evening when it was dark outside. We also enjoyed the piano, guitar and board games in there.

There is the perfect balance of eco alternatives and modern luxuries, with both an outdoor composting toilet and solar shower as well as a usual indoor option (the indoor shower is gas, so if it goes cold the gas canister may need to be replaced). The covered but outdoor kitchen was great fun to use and eat out in, we were even able to help ourselves to some fresh tomatoes growing by the wall. The kitchen has gas hobs and BBQ, and there is a fridge in the nearby 'internet shed'. The sink is a walk by the vegetable patch to the solar shower.

The lower yurt was our favourite as it was immensely comfortable and beautifully furnished. However, the house-truck gave a feeling of living in nature as the large window is almost hidden inside a pear tree from which you can watch and hear bell-birds and tui. Both were warm enough but the provided hot water bottles and extra bedding helped in April.

Beautiful little touches, wildflower bouquets, candles and fairy lights all around give the garden a magical quality.

Room Tip: The yurt was beautiful and was our clear favourite, but the house truck had its own shower and was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed in a Tipi for 3 days during December 2012 (something I've allways wanted to).
Everything about our stay was perfect from Jane meeting us at the bus, our Tipi, the gorgeous gardens, the resident animal hosts, the outdoor kitchen, the view through the tent flap in the morning, just picked strawberries to Jane dropping us off at the end of our stay. There are many great little nooks throughout Okuti Farm and you really should go to the mudslide up the road, great old fashioned fun and just a wee bit dangerous.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I stayed in the House Truck for one night while working in Christchurch in early October. Jane made me feel very at home and the whole place is just lovely. If you like the photo's of their place on Trip Advisor, you can't go wrong and you will have a fabulous time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Wow, what a find. A really beautiful place, surrounded by nature. The owners make you feel very welcome. Great accommodation - we stayed in a yurt which was beautifully kitted out with luxurious bedding, candles, flowers etc - lots of thoughtful little touches. We were greeted on arrival by Nutmeg, the owners' friendly and playful dog. There are also some gorgeous donkeys. There is internet access, a fridge for guests, power supply in the internet shed to charge electrical items. Great place to stay for somewhere different. Would recommend looking around Akaroa whilst you're there and also eating/gift shopping at The Store (on the main road from Christchurch).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.9 mi away
SiloStay
SiloStay
#1 of 3 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
19.8 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
24.0 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#131 of 148 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
19.9 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
24.8 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okuti Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okuti Garden

Property: Okuti Garden
Address: 216 Okuti Valley Road | Little River, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yurts and tipis set in beautiful gardens. Lovely spaces to play, create and relax. Art box, board games, table tennis, table soccer, trampoline, sand pit. Garden kitchen surrounded by pick-you-own herbs. Free WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing