We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Accommodation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbella Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbella Lodge Motel
Ranked #48 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on 3rd and 4th of March 2014 in a 2 bedroom unit. My parents were staying with us for the last days of their NZ holiday and we were all SO impressed with this motel.
The rooms were spacious and beautifully clean and modern with all the amenities you could need. I am very fussy with accommodation (I especially like to have a nice bathroom) and Abella cannot be faulted. Motel accommodation does not get better than this. I would thoroughly recommend staying here and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
19
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed 2 nights over a week at Abbella Lodge Motel. The owners were amazing! Had a lovely chat with both and what genuinely lovely people. The motel complex is easy to find, the rooms are spacious, clean, reasonably priced and well set out and the spa OMG so nice to relax in after a stressful time on the road and the shower had fantastic pressure. There was a very quaint wee outside area that was like a tiny mini maze for a smokers area which was just fantastic as well. All in all I loved my stay and nothing at all could be faulted.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights 2nd and 3rd November 2013. Rooms were lovely, spotlessly clean, well-equipped kitchen, big TV with movie channels. We requested a back room and was given that. Beds very comfy and warm. Friendly reception staff, couldn't have asked for more. We were very happy here and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 118MareeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Although I only stayed one night, the booking process done over the phone was relatively easy. I got a quick response by email to confirm everything and I was all set.
The room was spacious and all of the expected facilities were there. The bed was comfortable but there were 2 stand out obversations that made a point of difference staying here.
a) For once there was a decent TV with a nice selection of channels via a Freeview setup. Due to Freeview, the TV reception was actually decent.
b) The motel even provided specific hand/body wash and shampoo, which is unusual and not the standard rubbish soap and shampoo bottles normally provided.
I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Abbella Lodge and were very happy with our stay. Stayed there with a 3 year old and found the place to be very clean and tidy. I was very happy with the standard of the room and the price. The owners went out of their way to help us in an hour of need and I would make this my accommodation of choice if I was staying again in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Executive spa was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Good clean and well run accommodations. Good value and really nice folks. Happy to go back and will recommend to others. Ample parking with easy access to rooms. Clean kitchenette and nice big spa bath. Laundry facilities are fairly priced and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shottycanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

we stayed one night at Abbella Lodge. We got a nice room upstairs, as we requested. Our king size bed was very comfortable and staff very helpful. All was clean and we would stay here again. Location is good, too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#32 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#46 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#44 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cranford Oak Motel
Cranford Oak Motel
#41 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.3 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#16 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbella Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbella Lodge Motel

Property: Abbella Lodge Motel
Address: 194 Main North Road | Papanui, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbella Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbella Lodge Motel is a 4-star motel close to Christchurch International Airport, the city centre, and the casino. Visitors can easily reach all of the region's top attractions, including Antarctic Centre, Willowbank Wildlife Reserve, Botanic Gardens, Ferrymead Heritage Park, Hanmer Springs, and Kaikoura. The large Northlands Shopping Mall is under a kilometer away. Abbella Lodge Motel offers value and comfort to guests and promises to ensure a pleasant stay. The motel offers on-site parking, Wi-Fi internet access, a BBQ area, customer-operated laundry, luggage storage, facilities for wheelchairs, and designated smoking areas. Guests can choose from studio rooms or apartments. Rooms with spa baths are available for luxurious relaxation. When you are looking for value and comfort for your Christchurch stay, choose Abbella Lodge Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbella Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing