We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Christchurch- luxury and hospitality combined with an unmatched view.”
Review of Dyers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dyers House
Ranked #23 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stumbled upon Dyers House when we were looking for two nights accommodation mid week on a business trip to Christchurch. How lucky we were. Dyers House is a marvelous combination of luxury and hospitality. Welcoming and friendly owners Angela and Barry are great hosts. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable and the lounge areas make you feel like you are at home.
At night the views over the lights of Christchurch are stunning.
We will definitely stay here when we next come to Christchurch.

Room Tip: We had the Garden Room and would recommend this if available
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Dyers House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Graeme. Thank you so very much for your lovely review, we appreciate the time and care you have taken to write this for us.
We endeavour to be a great place to stay for both our business and tourist guests and are so glad you stumbled across us. Overlooking Christchurch we happily find ourselves close to the new business hubs which have sprung up around the city.
Really looking forward to your return visit!
Barry and Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Dyers House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

Four of us had a wonderful time at this guest house. It was like staying at upmarket accommodation of 'well off' friends, who looked after every comfort. The house is beautifully furnished, in a good location with marvellous views. We occupied all three rooms, which are attractively and comfortably furnished with many extras which are a joy when travelling. I loved looking out onto the flowery garden. Breakfast was all you could ask for, drinks were given when required and Barry drove us on each of our three evenings to various restaurants. Both Angie and Barry were friendly, informative and chatty but not intrusive. I happily recommend Dyers House. We have stayed in varying accommodation around the world and this ranks as one of the best. Marianne, Mick, Kate and Sarah.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariannewillmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Dyers House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Hello Marianne,
Thank you for choosing Dyers House for your recent stay in Christchurch. Thank you, too, for your kind words, I was delighted to hear that you all had an enjoyable time in our home.
Your feedback is very important to us because it helps future guests to know exactly what we can offer them, and we in turn learn what it takes to meet and hopefully exceed their expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had two wonderful stays at Dyers House on a recent road trip around NZ.We were so impressed that when we returned two weeks ago we stayed again.
We have sampled each room and love them equally.
This is a wonderful old house with magnificent views over the city to the Alps - a grand thoughtfully restored historic residence - indeed everything you could want in accommodation. But the very best part about Dyers House is its owners - Baz and Ange . They are the sort of hosts that set the benchmark for the popularity of boutique bed and breakfast accommodation in NZ. They are generous and extremely entertaining.
The rooms are so comfortable you don't want to get out of bed in the morning - but the breakfasts are so good you reluctantly treat yourself to another gourmet delight. Why worry? The diet starts when you get home....

Room Tip: Each room is perfect.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Manager at Dyers House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you so much for your positive recommendation, praise indeed. I'm told our love of this house is infectious; be that as it May, our emphasis has always been on comfortable beds, good food and good water pressure in spacious showers!
Much of our business is from either returning guests or direct referral from past Guests. Good company and friendship is our reward.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dyers House and I am looking forward to your next visit to Christchurch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Originally we had planned to stay in central Christchurch. However following the earthquake this was not an attractive option and fortunately we found Dyer House.
The location, accommodation and breakfast were superb. Our hosts Angie and Barry looked after our every wish. Since we had returned our car to the airport Barry kindly volunteered to drive us to the train station to catch the transalpine.
We are returning to Christchurch shortly and look forward to staying a second time at Dyer House.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed three nights at the Dyers House in January/2013. It was our first time at a B&B. The house is beautiful with a beautiful view over the city, the rooms are spacious, the bed was soo comfortable and the rooms are tastefully decorated and bright. Angela and Barry have to be some of the very best hosts there are - nothing was too much trouble - Barry even dropped us anywhere we needed to go. Angela and Barry could not have done more to help us enjoy our stay - their local knowledge was a great assistance. We would definitely use Dyers house again on our next time to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Last month (November 2012, we were very fortunate to stay at Dyers House...the owners (Barry & Angela) provide the most amazing combination of luxury/decadence and warmth/comfort.

No detail is overlooked. The rooms are beautiful - the bathroom particularly delighted me as did the beautiful garden.

I cannot recommend this place enough to anyone planning a trip to New Zealand. If you weren't intending to visit Christchurch or the South Island, change your plans....Dyers House is certainly worth planning an entire trip around. You won't be disappointed!

From the moment we arrived, Barry & Angela made us feel like we had arrived home. They have created a truly wonderful location, that is way beyond a place of accommodation.

Barry & Angela have the ability to deliver much more than a Host/Guest relationship, with those that come to stay. You leave feeling like you are part of a new "family".

I can't wait to create an opportunity to go and stay again. Thank you both so much!! Enjoyable pre-drinks and canapes in the drawing room with you was just lovely - along with the most enjoyable conversations.

Attentive owners, wonderful accommodation and a totally urbane and civilised environment. Thoroughly recommended. The food, and wine, are outstanding and plentiful. The gardens are splendid. Service is exceptional.

Look forward to our next stay with you

Look after yourselves and each other

Special thoughts

Lynne Lambert and David Atkin

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The stay at Dyers House will make you love New Zealand even more. The fantastic view from the balcony, the beautiful cherry blossom in the garden, the gracefully decorated rooms, all added up to such wonderful experience in this cozy B&B. But this all come out from Angela & Barry, who are so sincere & thoughtful that would make you love to stay longer. Oh we forgot about Joe the Cat. He'll show you how to be relaxed in this comfortable establishment. This is a truly sensational experience that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Manager at Dyers House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us while in Christchurch. Thank you very much for choosing Dyers House and giving us the opportunity to make your stay in our wonderful city as special and memorable as it could be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.1 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
5.7 mi away
Belmont on Harewood
Belmont on Harewood
#5 of 134 in Christchurch
198 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
#10 of 134 in Christchurch
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hackthorne Gardens Luxury Accommodation
Hackthorne Gardens Luxury Accomm...
#58 of 105 in Christchurch
3 reviews
3.1 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 134 in Christchurch
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dyers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dyers House

Address: 85 Dyers Pass Road | Cashmere, Christchurch 8022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £179 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dyers House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dyers House is an Edwardian 106 years old house, refurbished in the best tradition. It has panoramic views of Christchurch, the sea and the spectacular Southern Alps. All three queen-size guest rooms have their own en-suite facilities and each room retains the character of the house whilst having all creature comforts of the modern age.Your hosts, Angela and Barry, love being with people and aim for the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dyers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing