We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Decor, Helpful Staff, Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the interior of our room which was a two bedroom suite. It was exceptionally clean, large enough to accommodate the four of us, had a small kitchenette and living room, and was modern in its décor. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff was very helpful in giving us advice about sites to see in the downtown area and things to do. The location was on a main road so it was easy to find and close enough to the airport for us to easily make an early morning flight. It was an excellent value for the price, if I ever return to Christchurch I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesiGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for one night upon arrival in Christchurch. The King room was ready, impeccably clean and modern, and exceeded expectations. The small kitchen was well equipped, although we didn't use anything other than to make morning coffee. We will be returning for another night in a week after touring the South Island.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A very modern motel a few minutes walk from The Riccarton Mall and close to plenty of restaurants. Ten minutes walk to Riccarton Bush and 30 to Hagley Park
A good little kitchenette with modern equipment. The bed, furniture and decor are all very pleasant. There are tables and seats both outside front and back of the room. The motel was very quiet (we were in room 5 at the back). The owner was very friendly and we able to get an extension until 11am while I picked up my hire car. And to our relief the motel room door was open as arranged at 1am on our arrival from the airport.
My only gripe was the laundry room which was only available 2 until 8.30. I like to do laundry when I first wake up or late at night. Still you can't win them all. It is a pricey motel but I had a third off the price because of loyalty points through a supermarket chAin. Would It have been worth it to stay without the discount. Not sure?

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We decided to hunt for a motel which offered free WiFi as we wanted to use it for planning our trip, so we chose this motel on the understanding from the manager that it was all up and working.
We soon found out that our internet connection did not work at all and so were unable to access it at all during our stay. I just presumed the was a problem with the internet provider as opposed to the actual motel.
When I spoke to the manager in the morning I advised him of the lack of wifi to which he informed me that he had disconnected it in our room the day before, even though we had specifically asked for it!
We felt very deceived and angry, as when you specify somthing and are promised it, you don't expect it to not materialise.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
175Metropolitan, Manager at 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear HollyB,
Thank you for your review, very unfortunate circumstances that assisted with this mishap! It was never our intention to deceive you or any quests purely a simple forgetful moment which happened on a very busy day. Let me explain… prior to your arrival I had organised to have the wireless internet placed on hold as the guest arriving after your departure was staying for a lengthy stay (6 weeks) and wanted to use their own equipment and internet service provider. Upon your arrival I didn’t give it a second thought that the line would be disconnected a day earlier than anticipated until your advice on the morning of departure. I too was puzzled and disappointed as this is the very first instance that we have had any issues with our Complimentary Internet as all our guests rave about the ease of use and speed! After talking with you upon departure I went to get a complimentary bottle of wine for the inconvenience only to just miss you! If I had know/remembered sooner I would have had this issue corrected within minutes.
Regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A nice motel, operated by a couple. The lady is welcoming, very willing to help, and has a lovely NZ accent. I arrived very late, because my flight had been delayed. Consequently, the motel office was closed, but they had left my room unlocked with instructions on its location. Windows are a little thin, so I could hear the cars in the road in the morning. Nothing serious - I slept very well.

I will certainly return for my next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudbeckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Apartment looks exactly like the photos, super clean and tidy rooms. Fully equipped kitchenette with laundry facility. 5 min walk to the Westfield shopping mall really made it very convenient. Our room's balcony is West-facing so can get pretty hot during the afternoon. Room doesn't seems to have an air-con but fans are provided.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GKK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

If you're going to stay in Riccarton, stay here. Our room was very clean and the best thing was the bed, which looked exactly like the photos posted on their website. The beds also looked like they are from a 5-star hotel and was very nice to sleep in.

The motel is within walking distance from Riccarton Mall which makes it convenient to get anything or everything!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaileySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
2,274 reviews
2.4 mi away
Southwark Apartments
Southwark Apartments
#13 of 111 in Christchurch
349 reviews
2 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#18 of 146 in Christchurch
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton

Address: 175 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £62 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 1/2 star Luxury Accommodation provides stylish studio rooms with kingsize beds & spa baths through to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments only 100 metres from Westfield shopping mall and restaurants and bars. Free Internet.One of the newest motels in Christchurch created by award winning DD ArchitectsAt 175 Metropolitan Christchurch Motel, we provide the perfect mix of comfort and style. A sumptuous decor of rich red and deep charcoal, sandstone tones, designer furnishings and luxurious bedding chosen with your ultimate comfort in mind.Join us at our 175 Metropolitan on Riccarton, in Christchurch and experience luxury and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Executive Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing