We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Christchurch Home-base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower Junction Motor Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Ranked #18 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Christchurch Home-base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We found clean rooms in an apartment-like suite that really felt like a sort of villa. The place feels very new and even somewhat on the luxurious side. The host was extremely accommodating, and chock-full of helpful information about the area.

My one disappointment is that it is not well-located for travelers who intend to explore Christchurch on foot; it is on a busy road, and is probably just a little too far from the middle of town for walking there and back. It *is* quite close to the train station, which is nice if you're planning to take the rail trip across the Southern Alps.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blacra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    83
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
117
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Tower Junction is a very nice motel - we had a spacious room with a good bed, new furniture and a well equipped kitchenette (both microwave and two gas cooking plates). The bathroom was new as well and spotlessly clean. The hosts were really friendly and gave us lots of information about sightseeing in Christchurch. Wifi is available against a charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end, away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

It's a motel but it's clean and new inside and out. Towels and sheets are really soft. The heater in the room and the bathroom (and for the towels) worked great (these are the first heaters that have worked on our trip and they work well). It's in a residential area. We called when we arrived at the train station and the motel manager picked us up. In the morning we had to catch another train and they drove us back to the train station. They let us leave our luggage when we went on the Trans Alpine train trip for the day. There is a washer and dryer on the premises. 10 minute walk to a few strip mall type in formal restaurants (the owner pointed us to them). We loved Sami's Slovaki and Kebabs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LagoonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Tower Junction Motor Lodge for one night as we were catching the Tranzalpine early in the morning and this place is practically next door. We stayed in a twin room and were really impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the room. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is a comfortable motel handily located close to both Tower Junction and Riccarton Malls in Christchurch.
Beds are cosy, facilities are of a high standard and are clean.
Despite being on a busy road with a lot of traffic, the rooms are really quiet.
Hosts are friendly and polite. We were impressed and if ever back in Chch again will definitely try and book there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

stayed one night, hiring two rooms/units. we were arriving late in to christchurch so i had contacted the lodge and asked if this was ok. this was no problem, and i was advised the key would be left for me. the email correspondence i had was polite and friendly. the lodge is about a 15min drive from the airport, and we arrived to find the heating on (it was a cold night!), and it was adequately provisioned for tea/coffee etc.
the units themselves were perfectly fine for our quick stay (we were off at 8am the next morning) - all amenities like a hairdryer, iron, ironing board, etc are there.
would certainly be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I chose the Tower Junction for its proximity to the railway station, as we were arriving from Picton one evening, staying two nights, then travelling by rail again to the west coast for 4 nights before returning to Christchurch by rail and then flying home. We walked from the station to the motel, and while Blenheim Rd is very busy and the area is industrial looking, the motel was great. We had a studio on the ground floor with large bed, large bathroom and great cooking facilities if required. Internet is currently broadband rather than wifi, but we were provided with a cable and it worked well. The room was very quiet despite the traffic on the road and we slept well. Ivana gave us useful advice on local restaurants and where to find an ATM as well as information on Christchurch. There is also a free guest laundry (washing machine and dryer - even free soap powder!) which was great.

We were able to leave our large cases at the motel when we went to the west coast, which was a big help, so we could travel easily on the train and bus. When we returned our bags were already in the new room and Ivana had also received and put in the room a large parcel from our son in Australia. We also left our bags there on the day we left so we could have a last look at the city before going to the airport. Really fantastic and friendly service!

It is best to book early if you want to stay here as the motel is busy with insurance assessors, construction workers etc. We met a few of the other guests who all seemed nice and there were certainly no problems with noise etc. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussieoldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
1.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
3.5 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#32 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Junction Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Junction Motor Lodge

Property: Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Address: 112 Blenheim Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower Junction Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the perfect blend of style and comfort. Close to the City Centre, entertainment centres, retail shops and restaurants, Hagley Park and Christchurch's main railway terminal, most of which are within easy walking distance. We are a self-rated four star plus motel. Our accommodation is excellent without being overstated. We have included every convenience such as cooking facilites, entertainment and internet acess and go that extra step to assist with extraordinary guest requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tower Junction Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing