We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”
Review of No.4

No.4
Ranked #98 of 978 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe, Gastropub, New Zealand
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

As regulars to this local bar/restaurant we decided to go fir our sons 20th birthday.
Everyone enjoyed the food and the service we received from the young man was fantastic.
Had a great night out

Helpful?
Thank MVS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    18
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Drinks”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Lovely bar with friendly staff, great evening sun on the courtyard, and happy to have the dogs at our feet. Not tried the food yet but its a great place for a drink, esp with the happy hours and loyalty card!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elsie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice setting and lovely Food”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had a meeting here and wanted some nice quick nibbles and wine over the tea hour - waitress was very helpful and prompt service, a little pricey but very nice pulled pork and whitebait slides.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldlywisenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't blame it on being Monday guys!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Went out for lunch with my sister, wanting to go somewhere I had heard great things about and had recently been with a friend.

We decided to have a light lunch and have salads, as the platter was too big last time, despite being delicious.
They took close to a hour to come out, and the restaurant and bar area was not busy, maybe 3 other tables (10 people total).

The waiter was great, recently moved back from overseas and the West Coast.

Asking for extra sauce when we ordered, and actually receiving none on the salad, having to ask for some to be brought out, and it coming out in a dirty ramekin with a dirty teaspoon!
Attention to detail was lacking.

I was definitely disappointed and will not be back for a while, will cross the road to JDV next lunch!

Slow, average food, dirty dishes and small portions for the money, as my sister works in hospitality she has made and makes better Caesar salads, also knowing how long they take to prepare!

Can't blame it on the Mondayitis! Should be good whatever day of the week it is

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanterburyChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback, good or bad as it helps us to ensure that our standards are either being met or not. Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations on Monday, and especially when you have raved about us in the past.

There is no excuse for the mixed reviews you had on our food. We hold our standards extremely high and this is a great disappointment. I pass onto you my sincerest apologies.

The kitchen team are very disappointed in themselves, their usual high standards they set for themselves were not met on this occasion. We pride ourselves on consistency and unfortunately this was not the case. They are addressing the issues now.

Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know and again our apologies for what should have been an enjoyable lunch that was not.

Regards
Shaun Halliwell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Average meal”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Dined here for my birthday, was really hoping for some great food, but instead just got average food. The fish lacked seasoning and was just OK, but for the price i was hoping for something better.

Maybe try again another day, but in no hurry to do so

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise_H46H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No.4 also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to No.4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing