We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, service, great rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Focus Motel & Executive Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, service, great rooms.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I have stayed here multiple times and it's always a fantastic stay. Carol looks after us really well going beyond normal service (recently she couriered back my WiFi hotspot I dropped down the lift shaft!).

The rooms are lovely and the location - very close to the casino and obviously in the city - is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThanksMembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
85
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
205 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Fairly small "suite" but with everything you need - fridge, cooktop, microwave, etc. Clean, well appointed and comfortable.
Friendly manager, very helpful.
Location is excellent - an easy stroll to restaurants and the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ortho85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

This is the third time that we have stayed at this little slice of heaven. Roy and Carol are the consummate hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Great location and fabulous facilities. Rooms are well equipped and immaculately presented. Will be back again in a few weeks .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradan gal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I've been traveling to Christchurch for business twice a year for the last 10 years, and this place takes the cake. The staff was incredibly helpful, warm and so very genuinely friendly, and the rooms were spotless and had an appealing modern design that I actually really liked (finally!). I was given a small apartment with a kitchenette; simple, relaxing, quiet. I could have stayed for weeks.

The location is quite good; located in a mixed business and residential area, it's a short walk to the CBD and a short walk to Papanui Rd, where you will find some cafes, restaurants, etc.

I would be breaking all sorts of international laws and would surely be locked away for a long time, but I find myself daydreaming about kidnapping the amazing people who run this place and have them work their magic in my home.
Nah, I'll just go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momo-colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Focus had everything we needed and the owners were friendly and really helpful. The motel feels brand new and is close enough to walk to the city centre and amenities.
The car park, the lift and the room were excellent. With a lounge/kitchen and a separate bedroom with bathroom off we were really comfortable and able to relax and resort ourselves after travelling.
V&T Cornwall UK

Room Tip: great for the casino if you want to
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed 22/02/14 and were delightfully upgraded to a Superior Suite-gosh it was lovely. Very clean, tastefully decorated, including a special touch of chocolate bar's on the Super King bed. My husband and I enjoyed the balcony so that he could smoke and also enjoy what was happening around us. Roy was knowledgeble and helpful to our requests and we thank you for making our Wedding Anniverysary extra blissfull :-) We will be back. Mr and Mrs Roche

Room Tip: The Superior Suite was great in that it had a separate bedroom, so you could entertain if wanted, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here in December 2013. It was the first place we stayed in New Zealand and Roy was very welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and modern. It's in a good location to explore Christcurch CBD. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thediscerningone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focus Motel & Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focus Motel & Executive Suites

Property: Focus Motel & Executive Suites
Address: 344 Durham Street Nth, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Focus Motel & Executive Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focus Motel & Executive Suites offers warm, professionally styled & luxuriously appointed inner city boutique accommodation for the busy corporate executive or discerning traveler. Our newly purpose-built complex has a contemporary style with up to four-story views and quiet elevator access to each level. You will be perfectly located in the Christchurch CBD, only 150m from the Convention Center, Town Hall, Casino and Victoria Street shops, bars and restaurants, and an easy stroll to the heart of Christchurch???s wonderful cultural precinct, including the Art Gallery, Arts Center, and many other entertainment choices. Ample off-street car parking is both convenient & very secure. All of our suites have a sunny north facing aspect and indoor-outdoor flow to a balcony or courtyard, ideal for relaxing at the end of the day. We even have a sheltered barbecue area for your enjoyment. We offer you an unforgettable, service orientated and friendly experience with competitive prices for luxury accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Focus Motel & Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing