We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I was a bit hesitant staying at a motel - this I think is my 1st time at a motel and it seems the only difference between a motel and a hotel is that you have individual units as opposed to a hotel room. The location is very good in this beautiful yet devastated city. The friendly host/owner (Naomi) was most helpful with info and booked all transfers for us. Everything was clean and functional. Most importantly I have no complaints

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rikkimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Manager at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hello Rikkimca and thanks for staying despite some initial hesitation - maybe NZ motels need to change their status as we are very different from the image and reality of some motel styles in some areas of the world. Great to see you have no complaints - great to see Naomi looked after you while I (Jeff) was away at the Scout Jamboree. Great to see you are now comfortable with the NZ style of motel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    226
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
554
66
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

For the rate we paid,we feel it was value for money as the unit is well maintained.kitchen was also well equipped and apartment was spacious and cosy.

Standard of cleanliness was so high that even the cutlery were arranged so neatly and glitters in the light. Wow.my husband couldn help exclaiming this word when checking out the whole apartment. Hosts were hospitable and informative too.

Will stay there again if i ever return to christ church.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Agnes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thanks for the review Agnes99. Its great to see you found our motel to be value for money! We operate in a competitve market and so its good to get comments like this. Also great to see you liked our standard of cleanliness and style of hospitality. Great to see you'd be comfortable staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here for one night before continuing our drive of the South Island. The manager was really friendly and helpful as we arrived late and night and needed to leave early in the morning! So I emailed to let him know and he was really helpful. We needed to get to the railway station early and he let me know about a local free bus service to take us to the station and booked this for us. Our room was clean and comfy and quiet so able to get a good nights sleep. I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyBride2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi there HappyBride2013 and thanks for the review after staying with us for the one night during your South Island adventure. Late night arrivals and early morning departures are no problem for us so long as we know in advance like you did! Great to see you had a wonderful rest overnight and that you found the onward journey to be easy and efficient also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop in NZ on a three week tour, and a great introduction to the NZ motel. Our room was large, clean, furnished to a high standard, and had all we needed for our 2 night stay in Christchurch, including tea, coffee, milk, cookies and toiletries. Parking was also no problem, and the motel is ideally situated to explore on foot.

Our hosts could not have been more helpful, especially given the devastation, and provided their own map to show where to find everything we might need, as well as providing large umbrellas, which we needed due to two days of rain.

A little disappointed to have to pay for wifi, but this was at a reasonable cost and worked well (which was not the case everywhere).

We would certainly stay here again - thanks to the owners for a great welcome to NZ.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DellaSalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thanks for the review DellaSalway. Great to see you liked just about everything about the motel and our style of service...apart from the wifi cost. We do have a good system and for the $5 you get 2 access passes and our internet is fast and unlimited. We could move to a limited free system but we generally find that most people are fine with paying for a quality service. I noted your comment that sometimes the "free" wifi systems do not work as you would expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

very clean and spacious place. located not very far from the center of town as well. unfortunately, the earthquake that occurred here a fee years back has left things in quite a state if disrepair, thus the city itself was not very busy at all. but, the accommodations here were fine and suited our needs great. for the price, I would've hoped for breakfast to be included or something. overall, great place to stay to spread your legs out.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank finncomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi there finncomics and thanks for the review. Yes, the city is still recovering from the quakes and there is not much we can do about that. What we can do is make your stay with us as comfortable as possible and its great to see that we did indeed do that! Great to see you found our accommodations to be fine and suitable for what you needed. PS. being a motel, while we do offer breakfast, it is not calculated into the room price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Easy to walk to good places to eat and the restart mall in the CBD. Motel is in very good condition, service very friendly and room nice. Can hear people in next room but maybe they were very loud....

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank familyGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
They must have been very loud is all I can say familyGNZ. You should have let us know and we could have either knocked on the door or rang the phone! We don't really appreciated guests making noise to the extent that it affects other guests and from other reviews you will be able to see that noise from neighbouring rooms is not really an issue here. We have told guests to keep quiet before and we will do it again.
Other than that great to hear you loved our rooms and our style of service! Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay: reasonably close to the airport and within walking distance of the CBD and many good restaurants and cafes per the map we were provided upon check-in. Our rooms were super clean, modern and very well appointed with every little thing we might need during our stay. The owners were helpful and very informative, especially with regard to detours required by the earthquake reconstruction. This saved us a great deal of frustration during our stay. I appreciated the eco-friendliness of the owners: instructions for recycling were very clear and easy to follow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hello Nancy C and thanks for naming the review after the motel name! Noice touch! Yes, at 10km we are close to the airport and at just 800m from the Cathedral Square we are also close to the centre of Christchurch! Great to see you could find your way around town easily after we filled you in with the latest detours - it is a challenge sometimes as the city recovers from the effects of the quakes but we can help make it a little less stressful! Thanks for liking our eco policies - its important to do what we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,735 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
1,687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing