We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best motel in Christchurch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best motel in Christchurch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

No reason to choose any other motel.

Leaving aside its central location, the rooms are well-maintained and comfortable.

Far more importantly, the owners give individual attention to their guests. They helped me book and revise tours, and also helped out one early morning when a small glitch occurred in one of my tours. They are very familiar with local tour operators.

There is plenty to do both in Christchurch and surrounding areas. Do not hesitate to visit.

Absolutely PERFECT.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
"Best Motel in Christchurch" thanks for that J B! And thanks for staying with us during your jaunt from across the ditch! Great that we could help tidy up a few of the ends, middles and starts of your busy schedule and were able keep it all on track through the week! Yes, there is plenty to do in Christchurch and the surrounding area and yes, Christchurch is a must visit. Thanks for the review, come visit us again next time you're down this end of the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    223
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
545
66
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

An excellent base for Christchurch being an easy walk in to the city. The room included a microwave and toaster so you could make your own breakfast. Very clean, tidy and helpful people for whom nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hello David W and thanks for posting the review after staying with us. Great to see you liked everything about us - where we are - the rooms - and our style of hospitality! Great that you were able to enjoy your stay in Christchurch and found us to be a great base close to the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
225 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We only stayed one night as travelling around South Island. The motel is conveniently situated for an easy stroll into the city centre. On arrival the receptionist gave us a street map of Christchurch and explained where the main sites could be found, also a list of eateries. The room was very clean and a good size. Toiletries were provided in the bathroom which were of good quality. All in all a wonderful stay in a very pleasant motel. One small tip, don't flush the loo when someone is in the shower!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alysonBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Don't flush the loo when someone is in the shower? OK..... have been puzzling over this tip for a few days and have thought of many and varied possibilities......
The only conclusion I can reach is that while one of a couple is relaxing and luxuriating in the bathroom with our Methven Satin Jet shower head (which twists 2 jets of water together to give a most wonderful showering experience - NZ made it is), the other should be either enjoying the 70 plus TV channels, making use of the high speed internet, relaxing in the leather recliners or taking a run around the park. Yes, that's right, anything but flushing the loo.
Thanks for the review alysonBromsgrove and great to see that you found our motel to be Very Welcoming and worthy of plenty of stars! Just lucky there isn't a category for ranking the quality of what happens when the loo is flushed when someone is in the shower....... whew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We arrived without a reservation but were graciously accommodated. Jeff provided excellent information on the what to see as Christchurch rebuilds and the list of recommended restaurants was very helpful. We also appreciated the generous wi-fi connection. The room was very comfortable and well equipped.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balabacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hello Balabacka and thanks for the review! Thank you for arriving without a reservation! Now that's a slightly weird thing to say but we are always pleased when we get what we call a "drive in" in the city centre these days! I guess we should add that you thought you had booked, but had not, but you got here and we were able to look after you! Happy all around! Great to see you liked the info we could provide and found the room to your liking and the wifi to be generous! Many thanks for coming to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
435 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This delightful Motel is right on the edge of the CBD and fortunately has not been affected by the recent earthquakes – apart from some disruption to the nearby road structures. A 5-10 minute walk takes you right into the heart of Christchurch, a 10 minutes walk away are the wonderful Christchurch Botanic Gardens. The Motel itself is modern, rooms are very comfortable – ours had the bedroom upstairs in a loft situation. The bed is very comfortable. The living area and kitchenette downstairs worked well to watch TV, read and relax. A full breakfast is not provided, like many Motels but one can visit any number of fine breakfast places and small cafes within a block away. Similarly some reasonable restaurants are but a few minutes walk. Parking is available near your unit. Christchurch is slowly coming back to activity after such devastation and we were very moved by the sadness the city experienced with the earthquakes whilst heartened by the positive ‘can-do’ attitude of the locals. Human resilience at its best. Visiting both the old, now closed, Cathedral and the new ‘Cardboard’ Cathedral was a great experience together with the profoundly moving church in the open opposite the new Cathedral with its poignant white pained collection on chairs. The CBD shopping centre is re-opening with a host of shipping containers in various paint schemes selling their wares, some operating as cafes – all rather innovative and exciting. A great visit made all the more memorable by the friendliness and help of the hosts at CentrePoint Motel – Jeff and Naomi, as they provide so much advice, humour and local colour – wonderful people. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilthetravellerXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Wow! Reviewed by a reviewer with 134 reviews! Many thanks for the review PhilthetravellerXl. And thanks you for the in depth coverage. We are very pleased to see that you found our motel and us to be just what you wanted. Its great to see you have covered off all the main aspects of the motel including how you found the beds to be very comfortable. We do offer breakfast, continental everyday and cooked Monday to Friday. But the options at the local cafes are so amazing that we do encourage guests to go there! Thank you for your comments about Christchurch, we do appreciate people coming to see our city and for understanding just what has happened here. Thanks for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We don't usually stay at motels but with all the rave reviews for the CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, we thought we give this a go. We stayed two nights and certainly haven't regretted this decision.

Naomi was fabulous - friendly and helpful and full of handy advice for what to do in Christchurch. We loved the friendly touches too - such as the welcome cookie in the room, or being given some milk for your coffee when you check in (nice little selection of coffees and teas in the room too)

Our room was nice and clean, with everything you need for your stay.

The location is great - about 10-15 minutes' walk into town. And because you get free parking, it is easy to get around anywhere around the Christchurch region.

When we were there, the road outside was a one way street (sadly a common sight in Christchurch after the earthquake) so you may have to drive around the block to get to the motel but it's really no biggie. And the good location and fabulous owners make this a great place to stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi-1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hi there Kiwi-1976 and thanks for staying at a motel and thanks for making it our motel! Great to hear that you had no regrets! Great to see you loved our style of hospitality, the cleanliness of the rooms and our proximity to town. Yes the road is one way at the moment but we are providing fll info to guests who book in advance so that they can get in and out as easily as possible! Once again thanks for coming to stay in our Motel - hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our 2 bedroom apartment was lovely and spacious so that we could all relax in a comfy chair as we got home from being tourists. having teenagers it was so nice to have 2 bathrooms ( including spa bath) as part of the package in fact it was almost like having a parents retreat because we could make our own tea and coffee, watch tv and use the shower etc without leaving our room. My kids have told me the WIFI was fast and good and partner appreciated no smoking on the premises at all.It is an easy walk into town and we were appreciative of the driving directions that we received from the hosts as there are a lot of road works happening. The hosts were very helpful and upon our return to Australia they contacted us to alert us that we had left some items behind and would we like them to be returned? .It was a bit hard to do much cooking because the kitchen facilities are mainly microwave, toaster etc but then as chief cook I was on holiday too so enjoyed the restaurant meals and take aways.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julee037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hello julee037 and thanks for taking the time to review us. The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom CentrePoint Suite is ideally suited to mature families and one reason they like it is the degree of separation you can get! Great to see there was something else in the room or motel that was impressionable for each of the family too! Great to see you liked our style of hospitality which does include making every effort to get left behind items back to where they should be! You are right about the kitchenette, just a microwave there but with over 20 restaurants within 1k of the motel there are plenty of options! Thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
4.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing