We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We just stayed one night before flying home and we had loads of space to sort our belongings in a really comfortable room. Beautifully furnished and decorated, well equipped and, of course, spotlessly clean. Had difficulty getting to the Motel - there were roadworks everywhere. Admired the owners' spirit in running their business in the face of such adversity following the earthquake. City Centre in walking distance and Jeff had lots of information and suggestions of restaurants and places to see.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_n_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for the review Frank_n_Fair after staying with us for your last night. Great to see you loved the rooms and had plenty of space even though the ongoing roadworks around the city do make getting here a bit of a challenge. Thanks for your kind words, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    224
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
549
66
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent location for walking into what is left of the city centre.This is a great place to stay although kitchen facilities are a bit limited. We had a gound floor appartment that was a little gloomy,but the furnishings and equipment was excellent. Naomi amd Jeff were very helpful and directed us to a Thai 'container' take away around the corner which was fantastic. The city of Christchurch is a great place to visit at the moment just to see how the locals are fighting back to rebuild the city,the cardboard cathedral is probably the star.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello pmole and thanks for the review. Yes, our kitchen facilities are limited and we advertise that fact as much as we can. Our kitchens do have a sink, microwave, fridge, toaster, jug (kettle) and tableware. We don't have electric hobs so bacon & eggs for breakie is not really possible. Preparing lite meals is a possibility but we do find that most of our guests go out and enjoy the great range of restaurants in the local area. Thai Container is one great option!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sawbridgeworth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

It appeared surrounded by traffic cones but then so was Christchurch. The owner has a dry sense of humour which topped off a pleasant stay. The room was clean and well equipped if perhaps a little dated. Getting to the centre is a brisk walk but easily managed. The city centre is a shadow of its former self but still worth the visit if only for the cardboard church, the Banksie exhibition and the resilience of the city dwellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello GeoffSawbridgeworth and thanks for recognising my sense of humour in a relevant way. It has been described in other ways by others but dry is good. Also, those roadworks near us are no more although there are still some others around the city centre as the city recovers from the quakes. Yes, Christchurch is well worth a visit and thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for the second time at CentrePoint on Colombo, and we cannot be more pleased. We had decided to arrive a day ahead of schedule, and although Jeff & Naomi were full-up for the night, they happily found us another nearby hotel room at a reasonable rate. When we returned the next evening, they were again full of wonderful recommendations on restaurants, what to see in town, and when to leave the next morning for the airport. Our stay in Christchurch was made ever-so-easy with these owners, and we cannot recommend them enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi there H O and thanks for reviewing our Motel. Thanks for coming back to stay with us again and sorry we could not have you for the extra night and we had to send you away. We'd much rather have you stay with us but if we can't we don't mind helping guests find something similar in another nearby motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely, well equipped and very well maintained Motel with easy walking access to the CBD. Jeff is full of information and advice for your stay. Christchurch is slowly rebuilding itself and we will be staying longer next time we visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GapYearTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello GapYearTraveller63 and yes, you will have to stay longer next time! You'll have to come back, as everyone should, to see what we have done to rebuild the city after the effects of the quakes. Great to see that you found our motel rooms to be to your lijking and that you also liked our style of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We hired a Camper Van in Christchurch to tour the South Island the night before we picked up the Van we stayed at this Motel. Beautifully. Decorated, friendly and efficient staff, and eco friendly in a City still recovering from the earthquake.
When we returned the Van we stayed another night!

Room Tip: Ask for room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomoDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello TomoDee and many thanks for the title of your review "The best Motel We Atayed at in New Zealand" That is most wonderful you feel this way after staying with us at each end of your holiday. Great to see that you felt comfortable writing that - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed one night here. It is about 10 minutes walk to what was (pre-earthquake) Christchurch CBD. The owners were very helpful with suggestions as to what to see and where to go. The room was large and very well equipped with its own kitchen and TV with Sky sports channels. There is an Indian restaurant and Italian Restaurant with 5 minutes walk and we were also recommended an excellent place for breakfast which we drove to but would be probably 10-15 mins walk away. Good location to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hi there Martin C and thanks for the review. Yes, we are right on the edge of central Christchurch and so its only a short walk to the main attractions in town. Great to see you loved the rooms and the various appointments. Also great to see you loved the Indian restaurant and Italian restaurant just a few minutes walks away and soon we'll have more as more buildings come available! Yes, Christchurch is getting better day by day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing