We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner and very informative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #6 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Jeff and his wife are very welcoming, nothing was a problem to them .
The room clean and fresh , well worth the price.
Parking on site, two story apartment , laundry on site.
Centrally located, walking distance to restaurants and Christchurch city.
Enjoyable start to our trip around the South Island.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Anne2578 and thanks for the review via mobile as you continue your journey. Great to see our motel and style of hospitality set you up for your travels around the South Island. Great to see you liked the price and found us to be value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here on our last night in NZ. This was another wonderful place to stay. Jeff, the owner, was very welcoming and gave us ideas on some things to see that we didn’t see when we arrived 2 weeks previously. The motel room was so quiet - we heard no outside noise at all. Spotlessly clean and environmentally friendly. It has all the requirements of a high quality motel and is in a very good location. We ate at the same restaurant, ‘Himalayas’ (just down the street), as we did on our first night. The food and service is excellent and good value. The city centre is about a 15 minute walk away (you have to make a detour to get there) but once Colombo Street is repaired you could walk straight into the centre. Jeff also allowed us to leave our car at the motel, so that we could look around some more, until it was time to head to the airport. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Picton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hello Chris_Picton and thanks for staying with us for the last night of your holiday. Great to see you liked our style of hospitality and we were able to make sure you saw the mains things to see in Christchurch! Would hate to see someone leave without seeing the main things to see! Yes, Himalayas is a lil' piece of Indian magic just 160 metres away. Thanks for the reccomendation - much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The earthquake took quite a lot of the hotel rooms in Christchurch out of service - there is no spookier experience in the world walking through the devastated city centre, looking at a tower block hotel and slowly realising it is dead and empty and has been for three years.
Centrepoint is a motel that sits in a streetful of motels, just outside the city centre. Roadworks and other construction are going on left and right (the motel e-mailed us a couple of days before our arrival to give us directions as the street had become one-way due to sewer replacement.)The staff/owners - who had damage to deal with themselves from the earthquake, are unfailingly friendly and helpful.
We were there only one night and left by taxi (booked by the hotel and which turned up exactly on time) early in the morning so we didn't test all the facilities and amenities very much - but it did the job for our one night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi there RedHeadPeter and thanks for the review after your short stay with us. Even though you did not get a chance to check out the full range of hospitality we offer its great to see you are full of praise for that that you did. Yes, the aftermath of the quakes has been a challenge but we have redoubled our efforts to make sure that visitors to Christchurch are able to understand just what has happened here and we are glad that you were able to do this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We just stayed one night before flying home and we had loads of space to sort our belongings in a really comfortable room. Beautifully furnished and decorated, well equipped and, of course, spotlessly clean. Had difficulty getting to the Motel - there were roadworks everywhere. Admired the owners' spirit in running their business in the face of such adversity following the earthquake. City Centre in walking distance and Jeff had lots of information and suggestions of restaurants and places to see.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_n_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks for the review Frank_n_Fair after staying with us for your last night. Great to see you loved the rooms and had plenty of space even though the ongoing roadworks around the city do make getting here a bit of a challenge. Thanks for your kind words, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent location for walking into what is left of the city centre.This is a great place to stay although kitchen facilities are a bit limited. We had a gound floor appartment that was a little gloomy,but the furnishings and equipment was excellent. Naomi amd Jeff were very helpful and directed us to a Thai 'container' take away around the corner which was fantastic. The city of Christchurch is a great place to visit at the moment just to see how the locals are fighting back to rebuild the city,the cardboard cathedral is probably the star.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hello pmole and thanks for the review. Yes, our kitchen facilities are limited and we advertise that fact as much as we can. Our kitchens do have a sink, microwave, fridge, toaster, jug (kettle) and tableware. We don't have electric hobs so bacon & eggs for breakie is not really possible. Preparing lite meals is a possibility but we do find that most of our guests go out and enjoy the great range of restaurants in the local area. Thai Container is one great option!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It appeared surrounded by traffic cones but then so was Christchurch. The owner has a dry sense of humour which topped off a pleasant stay. The room was clean and well equipped if perhaps a little dated. Getting to the centre is a brisk walk but easily managed. The city centre is a shadow of its former self but still worth the visit if only for the cardboard church, the Banksie exhibition and the resilience of the city dwellers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hello GeoffSawbridgeworth and thanks for recognising my sense of humour in a relevant way. It has been described in other ways by others but dry is good. Also, those roadworks near us are no more although there are still some others around the city centre as the city recovers from the quakes. Yes, Christchurch is well worth a visit and thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for the second time at CentrePoint on Colombo, and we cannot be more pleased. We had decided to arrive a day ahead of schedule, and although Jeff & Naomi were full-up for the night, they happily found us another nearby hotel room at a reasonable rate. When we returned the next evening, they were again full of wonderful recommendations on restaurants, what to see in town, and when to leave the next morning for the airport. Our stay in Christchurch was made ever-so-easy with these owners, and we cannot recommend them enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi there H O and thanks for reviewing our Motel. Thanks for coming back to stay with us again and sorry we could not have you for the extra night and we had to send you away. We'd much rather have you stay with us but if we can't we don't mind helping guests find something similar in another nearby motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,075 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £65 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing