We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean motel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean motel in a good location”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This motel was clean with lots of parking space and a SUPER friendly manager Jeff. He advised us on places to eat, tours etc...
The room was on the small side, but had a large verandah area outside..
Wifi was strong and reliable...
We would definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineBernasconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hello ChristineBernasconi and thanks for the review after staying with us back in Feb., Chinese New Year to be exact! Great great great to see you'll be keen to stay with us again and it is always good to cover off the all important wifi and our service - great to see you liked them both!
As for the room, it is our smallest at twenty square metres and our website and confirmation sheet point out "Our smallest room at 20 square m. Great for 1-2 nights stays. Not recommended for longer than 3 nights." Other than the size its a wonderful room but if you like a bit more room in your room, stay away from the Mini Studio with Spa Bath, all of our other rooms are bigger than this one. Many thanks, see you when you are next in Christchurch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    225
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
553
66
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a fleeting visit to Christchurch. Upon check-in the owner was fantastic and very, very helpful, he gave us some maps and ran through recommended places to eat and visit. We were also given a couple of cookies and Easter eggs, which is a massive plus!!

The rooms are lovely and very clean and the bed comfortable. There is lots of channels on sky which was good for us given it was a pretty miserable day! The rooms have a microwave, toaster, kettle and utensils, as well as a small table to eat at.

The location is fantastic and there is free parking on site. The internet is $5/day, but is very fast and reliable. I was also able to get a pass to a great local gym for $5.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying here when visiting Christchurch!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hello there Anthea S and thanks for the review so soon! Easter eggs getting mentioned in reviews when Easter isn't even over yet!! Great to see you liked lots about our motel, our rooms and ourselves as well as making full use of the various services we offer. Yes, the internet is just the $5 and is reliable and fast and for that you do get 2 access points. Good on you for breaking out to our local gym too - its $15 for a casual visit but just $5 when you stay with us! Thanks for staying and thanks for the review! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was in Chrsitchurch on business recently and stayed at Centrepoint. Jeff the manager was very friendly and informative. The room was tidy, modern and comfortable with WiFi at a modest $NZ5 a day. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hi there and thanks for the review Pip16 after staying with us while in Christchurch for business. Great to see you found us to be to your liking and thanks for recognizing our internet at $5 per day.
Thanks for that last word - "recommended" - that is very much "appreciated!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

we rented a 2-bhk apartment which had well equipped kitchen. location is excellent, and owners are very friendly and accomodating. we enjoyed the free wi-fi, which was great help. they also arranged taxi services for us without any hassle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srjk_slash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We do not offer free wifi. Our wifi is $5 per day. You stayed while our gateway system was broken and we had a "no password" hotspot for the benefit of guests. It was an "honesty box" system and most people paid. We have a high quality internet system and therefore ask for guests to pay $5 per day for internet. It is not free.
Hello Srjk_slash and thanks for the review. Great to see you loved the kitchenette even though its just the microwave & tea/coffee making facilities. Great for preparing a lite lunch or breakfast! Great to see you also like our Heart of Christchurch location and our various guest services - making sure everyone feels welcome and comfortable. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely establishment not far from the city centre (what's left of it). Rooms are to a very high standard with everything you'd expect, and a lot more. Owners are very friendly and happy to help with eating recommendations, etc

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JONATHAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello Jon B and thanks for the review. And thanks for summing up the main points - we're close to town, we're good, and we enjoy helping our guests finding what we need. Great to see you liked it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We reserved the CentrePoint on Colombo Motel in Christchurch before we left Canada for our stay in Christchurch. We chose the hotel based on TripAdvisor recommendations, and were not disappointed! It had been nearly 20 years since we've been to Christchurch, and as we were spending a week in the Wanaka area, decided to spend a night and see the city on our way to Australia.
The 'devastation' in the downtown area from the 2 earthquakes was sadly amazing! From the location of the motel, we were easily able to walk thru some of this area. The motel was just beyond the edge of this major damage, and the friendly and helpful owners provided us with maps, recommendations of places to see, restaurants and bars, things to do etc. in our short time there. Their establishment did not receive any major damage, just cosmetic damage...costly enough on it's own.
Our room was very well appointed and equipped. The web site photos are very accurate. We enjoyed the leather lounge chairs, there was a very comfortable bed with great linens and supplies, a 'jet tub', small patio and in general, just very well thought out and maintained throughout with guests in mind! We enjoyed the free WiFi and they had a great Sky TV selection as well...pretty much everything we would expect in a 'quality' accommodation!
We arranged shuttle transfers to / from the airport with the owners when booking, a 'very' convenient and hassle free way to do this...recommended.
We enjoyed our stay, and seeing Christchurch after their tragedy! The city is making a great effort to rebuild and recover. Amazing to see!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pjston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We do not offer free wifi. Our wifi is $5 per day. You stayed while our gateway system was broken and we had a "no password" hotspot for the benefit of guests. It was an "honesty box" system and most people paid. We have a high quality internet system and therefore ask for guests to pay $5 per day for internet. It is not free.
Hello pjston and thanks for the in-depth review. Yes, we are just beyond the area of major damage in the city centre - we were very lucky to only have cosmetic damage which is all repaired now. Best of all great to see you were not disappointed and you felt our website photos were accurate. Great to see you made use of the various services we offered. Come see Christchurch again in 5-10 years to see what we've done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
795 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This motel is apparently the first building from the city centre that wasn’t destroyed by the 2011 Earthquake.
Location wise it is fantastic – a mere 15 minute away from the old City centre, which is currently reminiscent of a ghost town. It’s quite a depressing walk and you can feel the pain the city has been through. But it is also a walk that makes you realise that life is short so make the most of it while you can.
Regarding the Motel, it is not number 1 without any reason, and I cant find a reason why it should not be at the top – clean, modern rooms, spacious, and the host was informative, honest and simply put, a great host!
Can’t recommend this enough, if you are at Christchurch

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello varun_mukthi and thanks so much for the review. Yes, coming north out of Cathedral Square, we are the first building that did not get either destroyed, or closed for over a year for repairs. Yes, we were lucky to escape with just cosmetic damage. Thanks for recognising our location and that we, as hosts were good hosts cos that's what we try to do. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing