We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Motel, Decent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Clean Motel, Decent Location”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, it is in a good location relative to the city centre. The rooms are nice and clean although similar to another comment our room also had a bad smell which took about a day to clear. The motel seems to be quite environmentally conscious also as you get a recycling container and a biodegradable bag which is good. The host Jeff is nice and friendly and provides an intro describing the best locations in the city, marking them on a takeaway map and provides a list of places to eat categorised by price and cuisine type which is a nice touch. I believed it to be on the pricey side for a motel but motels in general appear to be pricey around Christchurch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello csmurf and thanks you for reviewing us. Great that you found our location to be good and thanks for taking the time to appreciate our in room recycling system. Our local Council offers us the options and so we have designed a way to take that option into guest rooms for guests who feel it is important to separate their rubbish and we appreciate those that do and worry about the future of the earth when we see that there are still many who do not.....
Thanks for appreciating our style of hospitality - we believe its important for every visitor to Christchurch to be able to experience the central city to the max! Price wise, yes, it is documented in many newspaper articles that Christchurch currently has the highest rates in the country which is mainly due to the pressure caused by the quakes. Here at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel we operate in this reality but are also operating in a competitive market with around 140 other facilities offering accommodation and so we do have to be competitive.

Now, as for those smells. Smells occur for a number of reasons and we do our best to keep all our rooms smelling just like no-one has ever used them before but sometimes a smell does get past our noses. The worse ones are burn't toast, popcorn in the microwave, perfume that has been sprayed around the room more than the body it was intended for and moth balls that come from the northern hemisphere winter. What we also find is that smells are very much dependent on the actual nose. One nose may take offence to a smell but then the next nose will be fine with it and this sometimes causes interesting conversations among travellers with differing sensitivities to odors! One common reason for smells in rooms is actually the previous guest and sometimes yes, it does take a day for that smell to go away. Some accommodation providers flood rooms with air freshner to mask any smells but we keep away from those options as guests often hate the chemicals more than the smell itself! We prefer to use natural airing but sometimes adverse weather (Christchurch has had record rain fall levels over the last month and the city has experienced flooding 3 times) conditions mean we cannot air as much as we want.
So yes, we do have smells because us humans either smell or create smells in our everyday lives and sadly those smells sometimes accompany us on holiday.
In closing, I do note in your comment that the smell did go away, as did the previous reviewer.
And I think we can all agree that it is really nice when those smells stop smelling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    226
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
554
66
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel has everything you might need, but I wouldn't call it anything more than practical for a short stay. It's a nice touch providing milk on arrival - which many NZ motels seem to do. They have TV, SKY channels, Wifi, Stereo etc, however I wouldn't have wanted to stay for anymore than the one night (that we did just to break up the long journey up the east coast). It's a bit drab with just a top window overlooking a vacant lot and there was a funny smell - which after a bit of airing was OK, but not really what you want on arrival.
The Motel is very close to town - about 10 min walk, although there's really not much to see/do in Churchurch right now, it is impressive to see some of the ingenuity that has come out of the disaster such as the shops located in shipping containers (quite arty!) though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRD_Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello JRD_Oxon and thanks for the review. Thanks for finding that our Motel has everything one would need especially your emphasis on the milk etc. Great to see you loved the location, and commented that it was very close to town – just a 10 minute walk away.
As for the other points you have mentioned, rather than reply, I welcome readers to scroll down to read previous reviews.
I will mention the earthquake though because of your “not really much to see/do in Christchurch right now” comment. I guess that it really depends where you look and just what you see. Prior to the earthquakes, the “vacant lot” out your window was full of a dozen houses where many people happily lived. They grew vegetables, mowed the lawns and planted colourful flowers in much loved gardens. Yes, people lived there but the earthquakes resulted in the houses where they lived being demolished. They lost their homes and were forced to leave the community they lived in. Many of our guests ask questions about what was on that “vacant lot” and the answer we give them helps them see that there is so much more to post quake Christchurch than meets the eye. It would have been good if you had seen that, out the window…..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The CentrePoint Motel embodies the best of New Zealand hospitality-- a clean, thoughtfully furnished room with a comfortable bed, a small kitchenette, and friendly, personalized service. Managers Jeff and Naomi made sure we had what we needed, and gave us helpful tips on negotiating Christchurch's streets and bridges, which are still undergoing earthquake repairs. An economical breakfast option was nice-- simple choices of cereal and bread for toasting (just like home), butter, honey and jam, juice, milk, and tea or coffee. Easy to eat first thing before heading out for the day. An on-site laundromat was great, too-- very handy.

Room Tip: We chose a smaller room because everything is on one floor-- for some rooms, the bedroom is upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello there SimiSue and thanks for the review. That first sentence is quite powerful and is a lot to live up to. Only to wonderful to see you like our motel and style of hospitality. We do try to make sure everyone has a pleasant stay and can get the most out of their stay in Christchurch - that's what Kiwi hospitality is all about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This motel was clean with lots of parking space and a SUPER friendly manager Jeff. He advised us on places to eat, tours etc...
The room was on the small side, but had a large verandah area outside..
Wifi was strong and reliable...
We would definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineBernasconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hello ChristineBernasconi and thanks for the review after staying with us back in Feb., Chinese New Year to be exact! Great great great to see you'll be keen to stay with us again and it is always good to cover off the all important wifi and our service - great to see you liked them both!
As for the room, it is our smallest at twenty square metres and our website and confirmation sheet point out "Our smallest room at 20 square m. Great for 1-2 nights stays. Not recommended for longer than 3 nights." Other than the size its a wonderful room but if you like a bit more room in your room, stay away from the Mini Studio with Spa Bath, all of our other rooms are bigger than this one. Many thanks, see you when you are next in Christchurch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a fleeting visit to Christchurch. Upon check-in the owner was fantastic and very, very helpful, he gave us some maps and ran through recommended places to eat and visit. We were also given a couple of cookies and Easter eggs, which is a massive plus!!

The rooms are lovely and very clean and the bed comfortable. There is lots of channels on sky which was good for us given it was a pretty miserable day! The rooms have a microwave, toaster, kettle and utensils, as well as a small table to eat at.

The location is fantastic and there is free parking on site. The internet is $5/day, but is very fast and reliable. I was also able to get a pass to a great local gym for $5.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying here when visiting Christchurch!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hello there Anthea S and thanks for the review so soon! Easter eggs getting mentioned in reviews when Easter isn't even over yet!! Great to see you liked lots about our motel, our rooms and ourselves as well as making full use of the various services we offer. Yes, the internet is just the $5 and is reliable and fast and for that you do get 2 access points. Good on you for breaking out to our local gym too - its $15 for a casual visit but just $5 when you stay with us! Thanks for staying and thanks for the review! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was in Chrsitchurch on business recently and stayed at Centrepoint. Jeff the manager was very friendly and informative. The room was tidy, modern and comfortable with WiFi at a modest $NZ5 a day. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hi there and thanks for the review Pip16 after staying with us while in Christchurch for business. Great to see you found us to be to your liking and thanks for recognizing our internet at $5 per day.
Thanks for that last word - "recommended" - that is very much "appreciated!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

we rented a 2-bhk apartment which had well equipped kitchen. location is excellent, and owners are very friendly and accomodating. we enjoyed the free wi-fi, which was great help. they also arranged taxi services for us without any hassle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srjk_slash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We do not offer free wifi. Our wifi is $5 per day. You stayed while our gateway system was broken and we had a "no password" hotspot for the benefit of guests. It was an "honesty box" system and most people paid. We have a high quality internet system and therefore ask for guests to pay $5 per day for internet. It is not free.
Hello Srjk_slash and thanks for the review. Great to see you loved the kitchenette even though its just the microwave & tea/coffee making facilities. Great for preparing a lite lunch or breakfast! Great to see you also like our Heart of Christchurch location and our various guest services - making sure everyone feels welcome and comfortable. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,301 reviews
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
1,681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing