We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We choose this motel on the trip advisor because of its high rating.We were put in a room for the disabled.We found this very depressing and the decor was very dull.The unit was geared for energy saving which I thought compromised any kind of luxury.We stayed in various motels on our travels around the South Island and this one we rated as the worst.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TIMOTHYG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I have never been more flabbergasted by a reviewer’s comments. Does someone referring to a room as being “for the disabled” and then linking this directly with being “very depressing” show that even though disabled people are fully accepted as a valuable part of our society, there are still people who just don’t get it?
I have no further comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
There are newer reviews for CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived late in the drizzly rain. Tired after a protracted flight. The owner was very helpful and welcoming. He provided us with a very handy map of what was what nearby, including restaurants. Our room was toasty warm. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello monikacanberra and thanks for taking the time to review us. Can't do much about the rain but can try real hard to make the sun shine through those clouds! Great that you liked our welcome which (unless we have a brain fade) in the winter time includes a heated room (or an airconditioned one in the heat of summer) a cheerful chat and plenty of information, that's our style of hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Its clean, comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. the studio on the first floor had a king sized bed, good toiletries, good bathroom. Excellent value for money and close to lots of restaurants and within easy walking of a bus top.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi poppylover and thanks you for the review. Your room had a king bed but others upstairs have superking as well. Same downstairs too actually - in fact we only have king or superking beds! (unless its a single bed) Great to see you appreciated our winter pricing and found we had plenty of restaurants close by! And yes, the bus right outside links through the Central (bus) Station to all areas of Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Spent the last 2 days of our 2-weeks NZ trip in Colombo. The motel was situated on a quiet street yet near to the city centre. Despite being on the ground floor where the carpark is, quality rest wasn't compromised. Rooms were huge and everything was clean. Toilet was also perfect for my husband who's in a wheelchair. There's a small little kitchen but there's no stove provided, so we were a little disappointed for not being able do some simple cooking.

Location is good, we may be able to walk to the old city centre but we chosen to drive instead. Jeff is a great host and ensured that we had all info we needed to tour around Christchurch. They have prepared a 'survival' guide, listing down a wide range of restaurants/supermarkets and any other possible info that we may need, all properly indicated with address and the provided map - thumbs up for the effort!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lavend3rmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello there lavend3rmist and thanks for the review after finishing off your NZ trip with 2 nights with us. Thanks for the thumbs up, great to see you appreciated our style of hospitality and made the most of it to get the most out of your visit to Christchurch. Thanks for mentioning that your husband is in a wheelchair and that you found the room etc. to be of an acceptable standard. It's important to us that disabled guests also have a comfortable stay. And yes, the kitchenette does not have a hotplate, just the microwave which is mentioned on the website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My booking was based on reviews on Trip Advisor. Meeting Naomi at Reception on check in was pleasant, she offered a wealth of knowledge of the area for attractions and places to eat/visit.

The rooms are large, spacious and offer all the amenities required.

I know where I will be staying when I am back in Christchurch!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmenz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello Schmenz1 and thanks for the review after staying with us after finding us on TripAdvisor. Good on you for taking the time to listen to out info on how to get the most out of your time in Christchurch - both in terms of food and what to see! See you back when you are next in Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have stayed here for business twice. It is a conveniently located, modern motel near the centre of Christchurch, and within walking distance of restaurants and cafe's. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, and the bathroom has a heated towel rail which is a nice touch.
Jeff and Naomi were the perfect hosts, they know Christchurch well, and were able to answer any questions about the region, and also had informative maps at your disposal.
I will be returning to Christchurch later this year, and will definitely stay at the CentrePoint on Colombo. I highly reccommend this motel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet,clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi there Leo N and thanks for the review after staying with us twice while on business in Christchurch. We look forward to seeing you again later this year. Great to see you liked where we are in the heart of Christchurch and thatyou found there were a good selection of restaurants not too far away. Good on you for making use of the info we know about our local area! See you again Leo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had a fantastic stay. Bed the most comfortable one I have slept in at a motel.
Fantastic to have a television in the bedroom. Well serviced and the owners were very friendly and helpful.
Well located and close to lots of great restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paws W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello Paws W and thanks for the review saying that your bed here was one of the most comfortable you have slept in at a motel! Wow, thanks! We do put a lot of effort into making sure our beds are comfortable - we look after them. Great to see you liked our style of hospitality too! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £60 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing