We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong, nothing sensational, if you need a bed stay here”
Review of Cranford Oak Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranford Oak Motel
Ranked #49 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I'm not quite sure where it got it's current 97% rating from as it's nothing special, however it does exactly what you need, and there's no reason not to stay here. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are fine (perhaps a little small).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theyarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights and were very happy with the lovely presentation of both our living area and bathroom.
The living area very clean,modern and comfortably enough space for both of us and our 2 big suitcases. The bathroom area and shower were also spacious enough and the shower had excellent pressure which is always a nice aspect for weary travellers as we were on the night of our arrival. The kitchenette had all that was needed for our needs so it was nice to be able to eat in for breakfast in particular. We had a lovely,comfortable bed and slept well both nights with only minor traffic noise from the main road but with windows closed it is not an issue.
We ate at the nearby pub both nights and enjoyed our meals which were well priced and nicely presented-tell the staff you are staying at the Cranford Oak and it gets you a 10% discount. The bar staff are definitely a friendly and happy lot which added to our time there-very convenient, close and reasonable prices.
Finally, the hosts Greg and Sandy who were so warm, friendly and helpful during our stay. Their presence alone, is such a great positive for this motel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tigers2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

What a lovely clean tidy motel with great hosts. Nothing was a problem and they were only too happy to chat about the city, the history and give directions. A friendly wave each day from the office certainly put a smile on our dials. If we return to Christchurch, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The main road is quite busy, so if you are a light sleeper I would ask for a room away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystalclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is okay
I have stayed at other hotels in Christchurch and I prefer them.
The rooms are pretty small and noisy.
People talking outside, walking upstairs, dragging furniture in their room upstairs was all too loud
And it is on a busy road, lying in bed listening to trucks going past makes sleeping difficult
The internet access was not free. We got 300 mb to use free, which expired after 5 days. Once we had used it up we had to pay for more, even after we had been there for 5 days.
I would have thought that if someone stayed for one night and was allowed to use 300mb that they would give us 300mb for each day we were there.
I found the heater difficult to set. It's just a dial so I didn't know how far to turn it to be comfortable. It took us a few nights of waking up in a sweat to finally work out where to have the dial
The hot water in the shower is difficult to regulate
There are no good restaurants in walking distance . Robbie's across the road is pretty average
Overall, it's a motor inn. It's okay for a short stay on the way through.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beachly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at the motel in June. Would recommend to anybody. Lovely and clean, modern rooms and decent water pressure in showers! Thanks Sandy for the chat. If ever back that way you will be the first place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Chinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stay at this Motel every 5 weeks for a couple of nights.
The rooms are always clean and tidy, and the owners are always friendly and helpful. Greg and Sandy are always happy to have a chat, and show genuine interest in their guests.
First pick for me in Christchurch - every time.

Room Tip: I personally prefer the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Booked 3 units and the booking handling was great. Booked over the phone, confirmation via email, and clear and concise details of after-hours checkin.

Rooms were modern, clean and with all the amenities needed for an overnight stay.

15-20 minutes from the airport

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeautifulMind000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#70 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
1.5 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#32 of 146 in Christchurch
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#47 of 146 in Christchurch
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
394 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbella Lodge Motel
Abbella Lodge Motel
#43 of 146 in Christchurch
68 reviews
3 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#21 of 146 in Christchurch
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranford Oak Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranford Oak Motel

Address: 116 McFaddens Road | St Albans, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £59 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cranford Oak Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cranford Oak Motel - Superior Accommodation in Christchurch at an Affordable Price. Recently voted the number 2 accommodation provider in Christchurch by the Global Review Index based on cleanliness, location, rooms, service and value! Winner of the TripAdvisor Award in 2013. Christchurch's affordable luxury motel accommodation located in the South Island of New Zealand with free WiFi and now with free Sky TV with 50+ channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cranford Oak Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing