We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
130
103
30
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
103
30
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagley park single room common room free wifi reception hours excellent kitchen large lounge city centre canterbury museum communal kitchen old house beautiful park homely feel communal areas electric blankets quiet location botanical gardens
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed in the 5 bed dorm for 2 nights; very spacious with large window and no bunk (the most important for me; though the bed is quite soft for my taste). It was next to the kitchen and stairs but when the door is closed you barely heard anything. Bathroom is relatively clean and available on both floors; never had to wait. Great spacious kitchen, nice living room; drying area on the backyard-it has everything you need. Bigger supermarket is a bit further away (walking 25 min) and tasty Thai restaurant nearby is a bit pricey; but that's not something big to complain about. Christchurch is recovering and I just loved the spirit of the people. They sincerely welcome every visitor to the city; glad I went there and glad I stayed at Dorset House.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed both your time here in the hostel and in Christchurch. Christchurch is definitely recovering and the more travellers are coming to the city the quicker the recovery will go – so thank you for recognizing this. We are also very happy that you had a comfortable stay here at Dorset House. I’m sorry to hear you were not told about the supermarket in Merivale, which is about a 15 minute walk away. We do hope this wasn’t a big inconvenience. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This place is a nice hostel. We stayed in a 5 bed mixed dorm. There were no bunk beds which is always nice. Each bed had linen, a plug point, a bed side table and light (have to unplug the light to use charge things up). The reception lady was nice and friendly. The living area was stunning and very comfortable. The kitchen was adequate.

The location isn't the best in that the bus stop is a 15 minute walk away. There is a bus to the airport at the end of the road which was really handy.

Overall a lovely place and nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayReviews90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi there,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed the single beds in the shared room, the comfortable lounge and that you found our staff to be nice and friendly. Thank you for staying and we would love to see you again. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights on arriving in Christchurch. The hostel was comfortable and staff friendly. Would recommend for anyone requiring a crash pad for a night or two. Travellers should note that there is still a lot of quake damage and construction happening across the city. Quake city by the re:start mall is interesting and good value.

Room Tip: Room 4 is comfy but can be noisy due to proximity to kitchen
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Hi Roxanne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are very glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you found our staff to be friendly. The rebuild of the city is indeed still in full swing, with construction happening and new places popping up. The Re:start mall is great to go shopping or simply to get a coffee (and is only a 10 minute walk from our hostel). Thanks again for staying and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand!

Warm regards,
Hilde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Having been very moved walking around a quiet, rainy Christchurch, Dorset House was the perfect place to return to contemplate the day. Probably the largest 5-bed dorm I have stayed in, all single beds (no bunks!), cosy and warm. Recently renovated showers and free use of hairdryers in the bathrooms. My favourite feature was the large, welcoming lounge, with a TV, free pool and a vending machine. Very easy to meet wonderful people and felt totally at home from the moment I checked in. Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmeMaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that it was cosy and warm. We are indeed quite proud of our spacious lounge and are thrilled to hear this was your favourite feature. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Enjoyed four nights in a private room at Dorset House, definitely a quality experience. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was a good size, comfortable beds, good bathrooms. Television and Wifi were a bonus. Excellent kitchen (though what sort of backpackers think it's OK to leave their mess for others (probably staff) to clean up? The location is quiet and easily reached by bus from the airport. It's a brisk walk into town but recommend nearby restaurant Strawberry Fare (not cheap but excellent food).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We're really glad you had a good stay at Dorset House and found it a quality hostel. (You're right that there can be a few people who don't do their dishes, but most of our guests are really good). Thanks again for staying and I'm glad you enjoyed it. We'd love to see you again.
Best regards
Angela
Dorset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews