We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dorset House Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ashford Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Merivale Manor(Christchurch)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
122
100
29
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
100
29
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagley parkhuge loungecommon roomsingle roomquiet side streetfree wifireception hoursexcellent kitchencanterbury museumcity centrevictoria stbotanical gardenscommunal kitchenold housebeautiful parkhomely feelcommunal areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in a private double room with shared bathroom, it was fantastic.

The bathrooms, kitchen and common areas were always really clean. They had a great selection of movies to borrow for free and wifi was free which was really nice. The kitchen was very adequate, it had everything you could need. The staff was really helpful and there when you need them.

It was great to have a little tv in our room, and the walls were really quiet we had no problems making ourself at home and sleeping great!

We would definitely recommend it and stay here again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laurmac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you had a great sleep and that you enjoyed our facilities during your stay. Thank you also for your feedback in regards to our staff and cleanliness. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again perhaps in the future.

Enjoy your travels!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Like
-There are many bathrooms and toilets.
-The kitchen is quite big and there are a lot of cooking equipment.
- The bedroom is warm and clean.
- It is very quiet, so I could sleep easily.
- The staff is nice and friendly.

Don't Like
-There is no restaurant around.
-It is a little bit far from supermarket.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eakkapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our facilities and that you had a good night sleep! We’re sorry to hear you weren’t able to find any restaurants in our area. Victoria Street, which is a 2 minute walk from us has numerous restaurants (Mexican, Spanish, Italian and NZ) and around the corner are a few Asian restaurants as well. The only supermarket in the centre is indeed a fair walk, but we also have supermarket closer to us in the Merivale Mall, which is about a 15 minute walk from Dorset.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed in 2 hostels throughout my stay in Christchurch and this is apparently the better one. Good and friendly receptionist upon arrival and answers to all my queries! Location is good too which is near to the city centre and Papanui Road that houses alot of nice restaurants and eateries! Toilets and showers are clean and well maintained. Although the only bad thing is that my room is just next to kitchen and stairs and it gets rather noisy when people are getting in and out the hallway. Overall would recommend this hostel if you want great location!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room beside the kitchen and staircase if you are a light sleeper!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xuan Cheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location to be convenient. Thank you also for your feedback in regards to kitchen noise. We always check the hostel late afternoon and will ensure that the kitchen door is closed to minimize any noise.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I had a really great stay here. I loved the little home comforts that were available, hair dryers in the bathrooms, dorms that had beds rather than bunks, heaters in the bedrooms (that were switched on in the early evening for you so that the room was nice, warm and welcoming after a full day of exploring),also really liked the cosy lounge, plenty of sofa's and bean bags, perfect place to sit and chat to fellow travellers, met some great people that I then went on to meet as I was travelling around the South Island. I have stayed here twice and both times found the staff to be really friendly and accommodating, pointing out the best places for coffee, shopping and any other things I needed. Location is great too, just off Victoria Street which has cute cafes and bars which are literally a stones throw away. I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to stay in a lovely warm homely hostel where staff greet you with a smile, I have stayed in other hostels in Christchurch and know that this is not the case for all of them!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLL1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re very glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay here! We’re indeed very lucky with all the cafes, restaurants and bars that have opened up on Victoria Street – far enough so that there’s no noise, yet only a 3 to 5 minute walk from us. Thank you also for your feedback in regards to our facilities and staff.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hostel was the most exspensive one we stayed at throughout our entire trip. The facilities were clean - the washrooms were lovely - however the kitchen was fairly small. We had our own dorm room (there were 5 of us) which was nice - sharing would have been a bit of an issue as there were no security lockers of any sort. The common room was also very nice and clean - free pool, movies and cable! However upon leaving on our last day we were met with an unexpected surprise: someone had broken into the hostel. We left to return our keys at 2:30AM so there was no one working at the time and a homeless/drunk man came stumbling out of the common room into the front hall. He stumbled down a hallway away from us and we quickly called the police and went outside to wait in the pooring rain for our shuttle - which was due to pick us up in about half an hour. The police came and escorted the man out of the hostel but did not arrest him. Hostel security should be a top priority and no amount of cleanliness can make up for it.

Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 129R0se_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We’re glad to hear you have enjoyed the facilities in our hostel, but are very concerned about the fact that a homeless person has walked in during the night (and appreciate you made us aware of this!). Our sincere apologies for this.

Security is an absolute top priority for us, which is why all of our outside doors open with a door code (which changes weekly). Unfortunately one of our security doors had soaked up a lot of rain during the downpours of last week which meant that the door actually had to be physically closed, as it didn’t automatically close when letting go. A handyman had to come in to chip off a bit of wood to ensure the door would shut automatically after leaving the hostel. It took a few days before a handyman was available, as you can probably appreciate it is quite hard to get someone in with all the work that’s being done in Christchurch. However, I can reassure you that this security door has now been fixed and will close automatically.

For security reasons we also have the owners living on site, who can hear everything in the hostel in case anything happens. I will ask them to do a few extra hostel checks in the next few days to ensure no one is staying in the hostel illegitimately.

We are currently also exploring possibilities of upgrading our door locks to a lock that requires 4 digits rather than 3 digits. Hopefully this is something we can implement in the near future, but in the meantime anyone entering the building needs to punch in a 3 digit door code.

We appreciate that you called the police and would again like to apologize for this unfortunate incident.

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews