We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorset House Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I loved my stay at the Dorset House. I was a very late arrival, but my after-hours entry proceeded smoothly and kept the house secure. I stayed in a shared room and it wasn't fully occupied. My roommates were kind, considerate and quiet. It seemed many like-minded travelers were staying here, and into have a good vacation, but not necessarily staying up all hours making noise, as one might find in a typical hostel. The place was well appointed and clean, the beds were comfy and even though I forgot to bring shower shoes I was able to use the clean bathroom without worry (and didn't even get athlete's foot.) The staff was friendly and ready to help; I rented a towel/bathrobe combo for a few bucks, I borrowed an alarm clock, they even booked my train transfer for me. I would happily stay at the Dorset House again anytime. It was simply a fantastic value and provided what I needed at the beginning of my trip across New Zealand's South Island.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primerstar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

We booked two stays at the Dorest House ~ one at the beginning of our trip to New Zealand and one right before we returned home. Both stays were wonderful. Having the kitchen to prepare meals was great. It was nicely equipped and allowed visiting with fellow travelers from all over the world. Dorset House is well located and was an easy walk or bus ride into the city and beyond. The staff was friendly and helpful and were able to answer all of our questions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdnra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Dorset House is just plain GREAT. Quiet, clean, comfortable, complete amenities and safe neighborhood. Highly recommended to all will be traveler to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This backpackers out of all the ones we stayed in was the most like a home. The facilities were great, kitchen was clean and the rooms were tidy. The staff were very friendly. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemofthema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I was a solo female over 50 and I stayed here three nights. One night on my way to Franz Joseph and a week later two nights. The first time I arrived late and everything worked as planned. I had a code to access the locked front door. The key was available as planned and my room was very nice. One special thing to say about this place is that you can get the heat you need. There is an electric radiator heater plus an electric heater under the bottom sheet. I booked a single room. The rooms are small and only have a bed, night stand and lamp, TV mounted on the wall and hooks on the back of the door for clothes. The kitchen was clean and cheerful. I was able to leave a bag there the first time I was there to pick up when I returned. The house is about a 10 minute walk to town. A little farther from town then some places, but then also in a quiet neighborhood. Internet was available and computers for use. Another great thing was that the front desk was very helpful directing me to activities of interest and they made the phone calls to make reservations for tours and for shuttle pickup to the airport. Mostly 18-25 year old backpackers so if you are older you are in a group by yourself. The cost of a taxi from Cathedral Square to Dorset House was $8NZ.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caribseabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

The rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily by a friendly group of cleaners. The rooms were spacious and the communal area had tv with a library of dvds and a free pool table and a vending machine. The only downside was the unreliable internet access. Really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiltonj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We love the heated mattress and it was a comfort to know that they have it here at dorset house. Except that their heater is not too strong, however during non-winter times should not be an issue ;) The staff is really friendly and they have cool lounge and kitchen! It was so cosy that even during winter times, it simply warmed our hearts. :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence_Tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.6 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#4 of 111 in Christchurch
506 reviews
1 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#8 of 111 in Christchurch
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 111 in Christchurch
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#3 of 111 in Christchurch
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#11 of 111 in Christchurch
189 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#20 of 111 in Christchurch
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset House Backpackers

Address: 1 Dorset Street | PO Box 25350, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £17 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dorset House Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located central city, boutique hostel in historic 1871 home, in a lovely quiet garden setting and next to beautiful Hagley Park. You will find everything needed including a guest lounge with pool table, internet, WiFi, DVD's, cable, kitchen, balcony, guest laundry and free off-street parking. A selection of single, double and twin rooms are available, with fully made beds. Enjoy a stroll to Cathedral Square, or indulge in cafes & shopping on Victoria St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorset House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing