We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to be shut down while getting repaired.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tranquil Lodge

Tranquil Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquil Lodge
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs to be shut down while getting repaired.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

The place is in need of an overhaul. There are cracks in the walls from earthquake damage, everything feels damp and smells musty. Not sure when the place last had a clean with wet towels and old toiletries sitting in the bathrooms and a massive bag of overflowing rubbish in the linen cupboard. There is junk out the front of the house where damaged furntiure has been removed from the earthquake. Bathrooms are being renovated so its like a building site somewhat. Im sure the owners are still trying to scrape an income and I feel sorry that their building is damaged but they need to charge alot less then what they are or close down until the place is bought up to a decent standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelequalslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    7
    13
    9
See reviews for
3
20
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

The hostel owner was very helpful and gave us a lift back from the car rental site, the room was large, the hostel clean, if a bit dated and slightly damaged from the earthquake. Location is not central but is walkable to the centre

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldwide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

We initially stayed here on our 1st night in Christchurch because it was cheap. But Graham (the owner) was so helpful and the hostel was so convenient and just good value for money, that when we picked some friends up from the airport a couple of days later, we all ended up staying here too.

We stayed in the dorm rooms which are spacious, clean and warm. It has a great kitchen!

It is a 15 minute walk to the centre of Christchurch, but if you have backpacks with you, get a taxi. We walked and it was more like 30minutes with all our bags lol!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candnadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed here on two separate occasions as we transferred in Christchurch; the guy who ran the place was lovely and very helpful whilst the faclities were good. It is very quiet and 'tranquil', usually something we wouldn't have gone for but if thats what you're looking for its great! Its not very central (about a 15min walk to the town centre) as there are a lot of hostels right in the centre, but generally a nice place with a family feel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahE456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling!
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

This place was incredible, although it is a little out of town (15mins walk) it makes up for it in a hundred other ways! The extra touches like free laundry, free bike hire and free lifts made us feel really special. We only stayed here for one night and at $16 it was by far the cheapest in the city.
The place is maybe just a touch ruin down, maybe it could use a womans eye to some things but wow the kitchen is tidy and so is the bathroom. The bedrooms are perfect and we even got an upgrade to a double room! No question I would reccommend this to anyone!!
I have done a lot of travelling and stayed in a lot of hostels, this one os close to the top of the list!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciafromIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

You may think that this hostel is a bit off the beaten track, but it literally is only a 15 min walk to town. And if walking doesn't tickle your fancy you can hop on one the the FREE bicycles belonging to the hostel, along with free helmet and lock. Graham, the owner, is the nicest guy you could possibly meet. He collected us and dropped us at the airport-free of charge. Also, to my complete delight, there was free laundry and dryers-amazing. We stayed here for just $16NZD a night-BARGAIN. GO HERE!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

Place is in real need of a massive clean up!! The room we stayed in was disgusting - the walls were covered in dirt, the skirting boards were all chipped away, the mattress felt around 20 years old and the following morning we both had bite marks on our bodies. There was only one shower, which frankly, we were afraid to use.

Understandly, this place is a hostel, and so you should never expect too high a standard, but we have travelled extensively for a year, in and out of hostels, and we never seen anything like it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neidelally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#11 of 102 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#16 of 102 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
4.7 mi away
North South Holiday Park
North South Holiday Park
#13 of 102 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#129 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury House Backpackers
Canterbury House Backpackers
#29 of 102 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Achilles Motel
Achilles Motel
#118 of 144 in Christchurch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Lodge

Property: Tranquil Lodge
Address: 440 Manchester Street, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tranquil Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing