We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay after a long trip into NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #30 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Very comfortable, spacious and super clean room. Includes many ammenities (TV, DVD player, Fridge, Microwave, IPod player/clock, WiFi, etc...). They have a DVD library you can borrow from. Well stocked with tea and coffee. The small patio was great to relax and got plenty of sun. Walking distance to cafes and a 5-10 min drive to the super market.

This turned out to be an excellent choice for a 1-night stay after our long plane ride into NZ and prior to our drive across Arthur's Pass.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment. The rooms were spacious enough, although there was only one wardrobe (in the twin bed room). Beds were comfortable, good bedding. Spa bath, good shower, nice toiletries (available to purchase). The kitchen was well equipped and spotless. Heater and air conditioning unit in the room, so sunny and cool weather were both covered.

The sofa fabric was looking a bit tired, but overall I liked the room and the motel very well. Small private outdoor courtyard for catching the last of the evening sun. Upstairs rooms had a small balcony, but they lost the sun while we were still sitting out.

Bookshelf in reception with books to swap/take away, and a pretty wide selection of free-to-borrow DVDs if you need entertainment.

Good area for eateries, lots of choice within easy walking distance.

I didn't hear the train, but my friend in the other room did, so maybe earplugs would be a good idea if you're a very light sleeper.

Room Tip: Downstairs on the wing away from the main road had lovely sunny courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The apartment was immaculate with many thoughtful amenities. The location was great for shopping and restaurants. It is also right next to a huge park and downtown christchutch was on the other side of the park. Not sure about public transportation as we had a car. Walk to the Saturday/sunday public markets.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank chester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

In the Riccarton suburb but close to the botanical gardens and to the shopping mall, it was all fine.
We had breakfast as suggested across the road.
Good job we thought the 4.3 quake was a noisy night train!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The room itself was well-equipped and quite comfortable. In keeping with Christchurch and NZ accommodation, there is no airconditioning or fans to provide forced ventilation, so it becomes necessary to have windows open to allow for any air movement. Unfortunately this allows a LOT of noise to penetrate. Road noise from Riccarton Rd was continuous but not annoying. However the premises next door hosted a very noisy early breakfast crowd which destroyed our morning sleep on each of the three morning of our stay. The killer of them all though was the railway line 60 metres from our bedroom window - the waning bells and then the sounds of the trains throughout the night (four one night) disrupted our sleep and we are not light sleepers.

Although this is not the management's fault, we would suggest considering this before booking.

Room Tip: Elsewhere if you want a peaceful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don-Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Lorenzo Motor Lodge is centrally located on Riccarton Road, which is only about a 10-15 minute drive from the airport and within walking distance of Hagley Park, the Botanic Gardens, the Riccarton Mall, and even some of downtown. The distance from the park and botanic gardens is about a 15-30 minute walk (depending on how far into the park/gardens you travel) while downtown is beyond the park/gardens area so about 45 minutes away, and the shopping mall (with a food court and typical shopping stores) was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

There is no breakfast available on site so they recommend you go to one of the cafes across the street, which works out fine. We opted instead to pick up some cereal and milk from one of the convenience stores/gas station grocery stores down the street from the hotel and eat breakfast in our room since we had bowls, silverware, etc.

As far as services go... the hotel staff cleaned each day, which included doing dishes and the general cleaning. We also had a good experience with the complimentary wireless internet, which we were thankful for since previous hotels along our journey had spotty internet coverage at best.

We thought we might regret not having a car, but due to the fabulous location and the fact that our Edoras Lord of the Rings Tour picked us up at the hotel, it was not a problem at all, and we were quite happy to see parts of the city while getting a little exercise! We would stay here again if we have the occasion to visit in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinyWizards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Friendly welcome. Free wifi in room. Good size room and small outside patio. The staff even arranged a free transfer to the railway station. Easy walk through the park into the city. Plenty of restaurants within a few minutes walk. Trevinos was our choice and an excellent one at that.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
655 reviews
1.5 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
281 reviews
1.6 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#31 of 146 in Christchurch
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#21 of 146 in Christchurch
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorenzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Motor Lodge

Address: 36 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#11 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#23 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £60 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lorenzo Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorenzo Motor Lodge is conveniently located close to Hagley Park and Westfield Mall. A 'tuscan style' property, with studios, one and two bedroom apartments beautifully presented by the owners Ping Liu. There are many quality restaurants, cafe's, bars and great shopping close by. With service and cleanliness a priority at Lorenzo, you will be pleased that you chose to stay here while visiting Christchurch. A short 10 minute drive to Christchurch International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lorenzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Christchurch
Lorenzo Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing