We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient value for money in Christchurch”
Review of Aalton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aalton Motel
Ranked #57 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Good value. Convenient. For city centre-a pleasant walk through the park. Choice of restaurants nearby. Free shuttle to train station but is only 10-15 main walk. Shuttle not free for return journey! Some passing noise at night but only what you would expect in any city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

Arrived 24th December 2012
Totally Love this place, very very Comfortable.
Just Unfortunate to meet an angsty person because we accidently took his parking lot.
Take note, Parking lot follows the room number.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razak_797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Had an event in Christchurch where the whole family came over to Christchurch. Rented out 5 rooms for the lot.

The rooms were big, well equipped and warm. It was cosy, clean and felt like a home.

There was a guest laundery at the site.

The hotel is very strategic. It is located a mere 5 minutes walk to Hagley park and another 10 minutes to Westfield mall. There is a dairy that sales the basics next door, a 3 minute walk and food establishments a mere 3-5 minutes which sold both western and asian food.

The host was very friendly and easy to deal with. They live on site.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViciousTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed at the Aalton motel when travelling with friends. The 2 bedroom unit was clean, spacious and well equipped, although a bit dated in decor. The shower pressure wasn't that great but otherwise everything worked well and the unit was very tidy and functional. The kitchenette was very well equipped and overall the unit was spacious and functional. Friendly owner. The location is excellent for Christchurch: easy to find from the airport, several cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood and a 10-15 min walk through the lovely Hagley Park to the city centre.

Room Tip: Larger units are really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very comfortable self-contained unit with a double bed and 2 single beds. There's also a sofa bed. Wifi is available for free but capped to a max data of around 400mb (if I remember correctly). It was Xmas so we had to rent for the complete period of 4 nights, which was ok since we were basing our travels from there anyway.

Shops were walking distance away and easy to get supplies for the stay.

There is nothing to complain about this place actually and I greatly enjoyed the stay. They even give free milk on check-in.

Room Tip: Please park in your designated parking spot. First day we didn't know that rule and the guy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalton, Owner at Aalton Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Hello Mazran, It was a great pleasure to host your family here for the wedding. You were the perfect guests and are welcome back anytime.
I am sorry that you came across this persons attitude. As soon as I was aware of this I attended and spoke to him and it was explained that he was wrong in his attitude and his approach. It would not be tolerated.
Our Free internet allowance is 200Mb daily, extra can be purchased if required so for four days, you would have had 800Mb of Data to play with.
Many thanks for your excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We rented a 1BR unit for a night's stay, which was spacious and well appointed. Beds were very comfortable and the pull-out bed (queen-sized) wasn't too bad either. There is free WiFi (200MB/night's stay) included and convenient parking on the property itself. Motel is located near to lots of shops (eateries and nearby shopping malls) and the Hegley Park is around the corner. There is a pool for guests' use but didn't get a chance to use it.Owner was friendly and helpful.
Would definitely be on my list of accommodation to book if ever in Christchurch again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTang17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed one night at the Aalton late October 2012. It is well run, not modern but very clean, spacious and well appointed studio units: We thought the separate kitchen and the small courtyard at the back of our unit were really great. It is very well located: The Aalton is on Riccarton Rd with Hegley Park a short stroll "down" Riccarton Rd and beyond that the City Centre (which requires a longer stroll across the beautiful Hegley Park). If you go in the other direction, "up" Riccarton Road, you find the very large Riccarton Mall, with a great variety of shops, supermarkets etc. Plenty of dining and takeaway opportunities nearby too. Our unit was to the rear of the property and we had no problems with traffic noise, and it seemed to us that the other units were generally fine also, though Riccarton Road is busy especially at peak times. Host Iain gives heaps of info in his well-practised welcome speech. The Red Zone is very sad - lots of post-quake demolition still going on, and no re-building yet possible, Christchurch still has much to offer but you may need to book good accommodation early because it seems that many tourist accommodation options are closed off in the Red Zone. Wi-fi Internet is free at The Aalton, and we thought the amount was very limited till we discovered as we toured the South Island over the next month, just what expensive internet really was: What is now increasingly free in most western countries is very expensive in most N Z tourist accommodations in Sth Island.

Room Tip: Studio Units at the rear of the property were quiet and very well set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandBTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#44 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
3 mi away
Abbella Lodge Motel
Abbella Lodge Motel
#43 of 146 in Christchurch
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Arena Motel
Arena Motel
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#80 of 146 in Christchurch
70 reviews
1.2 mi away
Addington Court Motel
Addington Court Motel
#52 of 146 in Christchurch
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aalton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalton Motel

Address: 19 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £60 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very spacious ground floor units with full cooking facilities, SKY digital television and FREE Wireless Broadband in each room. Comfortable and well appointed in an ideal location. Walking distance to City Centre, Shopping Mall, Restaurants and close to Westpac Arena, Railway Station and AMI stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aalton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalton Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing