We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel is a good location”
Review of Aalton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aalton Motel
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Bishopsteignton
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good motel is a good location”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived very late and the keys were waiting for us, as arranged, and the room which was adequate, very clean and well equipped. The next morning we met the owner and were given information about the area.

There are a number of restaurants close by and access into the city centre is just ten minutes walk through Hagley Park.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    47
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
47
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very friendly staff, big and clean apartments with perfect equipment. The beautiful park is just around the corner, fifteen minutes walk to city center. 24 hrs supermarket three houses away. Absolutely recommendable

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of our holiday in New Zealand. Room although a little small was well equipped and very clean. Good location very near to Hagley Park and easy walk into city centre. Plenty of restaurants nearby on busy Riccarton Road. Good free Wi-Fi. Payment is asked for on arrival which we felt was a bit odd. Noise from traffic late into evening and again very early morning also trains heard early am. Overall fairly good value for money and not too far from airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catsmum654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Booked 9 months in advance for a family of four and all communication was swift and efficient as was helping us with a late evening check in.

The motel itself is in a good spot by Hagley park and worked well as a stopover for a flight the following day. The rooms are large and clean but could do with some upgrading as they did feel a little 'tired'.

Overall decent value in a good spot and worked fine for us.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a family unit at The Aalton Motel for two nights. The unit was beautifully clean and equipped with everything we required. There is a laundry and guest pool and spa. We were made to feel very welcome, and even shown to our unit by the owner. There is free wi-if (capped to a certain amount) and plenty of tourist info available on site. Hagley Park and the Botanic Gardens are 5 minutes walk away, the city centre about 20 mins. A great find and excellent value. Well done!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was our first stop off after the 24hourish flight from London to Christchurch and it was a god send!!! Individual Cabins fitted with a small kitchen, big bathroom, big double bed. Lovely setting and right next to the park and Botanical Gardens- were we found Little Owls. Just a stroll from here into town. The owners were kind enough to store our bags for us while we went and picked up our camper. Really Nice. Can't say enopugh about how nice this place is!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemstar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a wonderful place,the owners are great !! Iain was very helpful,they have thought of almost every little detail,the divan bed in the one bedroom unit is a special sofa cum bed that can be converted into a double bed,this motel is very close to so many amenties like a 24hr convenience store,indian restaurant,hagley park,botanical gardens;everything is walking distance, the only thing that bothered us was the traffic noise on riccarton road but i think if you want to stay in riccarton this can't be avoided.We were impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms, and also the beds were comfy. The wi-fi speed was great, you get 200 MB worth everyday and we used our 600 MB without realising but Iain gave us one more day's worth free of charge !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is further away from riccarton road, e.g unit 5 or 6 which are at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vineetyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 144 in Christchurch
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#57 of 144 in Christchurch
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
162 Kings of Riccarton Motel
162 Kings of Riccarton Motel
#78 of 144 in Christchurch
39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#41 of 144 in Christchurch
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Roma on Riccarton Motel
#34 of 144 in Christchurch
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aalton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalton Motel

Property: Aalton Motel
Address: 19 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#24 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very spacious ground floor units with full cooking facilities, SKY digital television and FREE Wireless Broadband in each room. Comfortable and well appointed in an ideal location. Walking distance to City Centre, Shopping Mall, Restaurants and close to Westpac Arena, Railway Station and AMI stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aalton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalton Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing