We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a great location for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avonhead Garden Motel
Ranked #51 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 21 October 2009

My family and I stayed there with Sally and Alan for 5 nights originally. We were planning to stay one more night there on the way out of Christchurch, but as we liked the place and Christchurch so much we cut short our stay in Queenstown to come back early.
We stayed in Novotels in the rest of NZ and without a doubt, the beds at Avonhead Lodge, were the most comfortable I sleep in. The facilities in the kitchens included everything needed.
The kids could go up and get DVD's from the front desk that cost nothing and I grabbed a book to read as well.
I would recommended both the Avonhead Lodge Motel and Christchurch to anyone wanting to go to NZ.
Greg & Charmaine

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavamunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

During my stay at the motel i was treated great. Upon arriving home from a late meeting i found my heater had been turned on for me making it like i was coming home. I was treated amazingly well and made feel like more than a traveller, i felt like family. The room was spotless, the amenities perfect, I could not ask for more. I would recommend this motel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyou1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Our stay at the Avonhead Lodge Motel was only brief. We arrived late one night after arriving at Christchurch Airport from Australia. We stayed just the one night before flying on to Queenstown the next morning. As we are a family with a 5 month old baby, we like to stay in units that have self-catering facilities (to heat up and wash bottles, etc) and we were having a hard time finding somewhere in Christchurch that didn't have a 'minimum 2 night stay' policy. We chose Avonhead Lodge Motel as we were able to stay just the one night we required. What a lovely surprise! Upon our arrival, there was milk and a map to our room and when we walked in it was all cosy and warm as Sally and Allan had the heating on in preparation for us! It's little things like that that make the difference! The room was old but spotlessly clean and the bedding and linen were good quality and very comfortable. It was also so quiet, you could've heard a pin drop. When morning arrived, we were greeted with the beautiful gardens surrounding the motel and saw how well-maintained it is. Sally then drove us to the Airport.. Thank you Sally and Allan.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

This motel is a real gem. We stayed there with other relatives for a family function in Christchurch. It is in a quiet suburban location, easily found from either the South or West. It is convenient for the airport but not under the flight paths. The 10 units are situated on a back section around a very pleasant garden area. Car parking is separate with garages. We had a large two bedroom unit with king sized bed in one room and twin beds in the other. The living room had very comfortable seating and a well equipped kitchen. My brother was in a large studio unit. This also had a full kitchen. Allan and Sally are very hospitable hosts. I will certainly be recommending this motel to any friends looking for accommodation in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.8 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#58 of 146 in Christchurch
147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#44 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
4.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Bonne Motel
Belle Bonne Motel
#73 of 146 in Christchurch
60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airport Birches Motel
Airport Birches Motel
#59 of 146 in Christchurch
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonhead Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonhead Garden Motel

Address: 168 Yaldhurst Road | Avonhead, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £71 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonhead Garden Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Amanda and Gary welcome you to Avonhead Garden Motel, Christchurch. Surrounded by lawn and spacious 3/4 acre gardens, you can relax and enjoy the peaceful environment. Garden seating and private patio seating. Our lovely modernised, refurbished units are sunny and face north or west onto the gardens. Here at our Christchurch motel in Avonhead we offer the choice of 13 spacious and affordable self-contained Studios, 1 Bedroom or 2 Bedroom Units. All ground floor units. For comfortable refreshing accommodation in Christchurch see Avonhead Garden Motel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Avonhead Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing