We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute gem - Perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avonhead Garden Motel
Ranked #57 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolute gem - Perfect for families”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

It's not five star. But the owners will make you feel so warm and cosy you will rather be nowhere else. Quiet and a little out of town but great for an early flight.

Spotless and cosy units with nice garden aspect. Close to shops.

And just lovely, helpful owners - hard to escape a nice converstaion sometimes!

Not a single complaint about our stay! We will return here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    8
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
6
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We chose Avonhead Lodge after reading other reviews and it seemed that it would be a lovely place to stay for our overnight visit. However, on arriving, we found that the motel was old and not at all what we had expected. The hosts were very lovely but the standard of accommodation was not as it had seemed on the internet. We had a one bedroom unit and, although it was clean, it was quite small and the facilities were all old - it was a disappointing start to our New Zealand holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2010

This is the second time we have used Avonhead Lodge as a base while staying in Christchurch for a family reunion. Alan and Sally are great hosts and went out of their way to make sure we were all grouped together (3 families) in adjoining units. We made good use of the tables and chairs on the grass area around which the units are arranged and this helped to make a rare holiday together even more memorable.
The units are roomy, clean and comfortable and although conveniently located on one of Christchurch's main thoroughfares there is no traffic noise.
Also very handy to Christchurch Airport.
We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinjlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2009

My family and I stayed there with Sally and Alan for 5 nights originally. We were planning to stay one more night there on the way out of Christchurch, but as we liked the place and Christchurch so much we cut short our stay in Queenstown to come back early.
We stayed in Novotels in the rest of NZ and without a doubt, the beds at Avonhead Lodge, were the most comfortable I sleep in. The facilities in the kitchens included everything needed.
The kids could go up and get DVD's from the front desk that cost nothing and I grabbed a book to read as well.
I would recommended both the Avonhead Lodge Motel and Christchurch to anyone wanting to go to NZ.
Greg & Charmaine

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavamunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2009

During my stay at the motel i was treated great. Upon arriving home from a late meeting i found my heater had been turned on for me making it like i was coming home. I was treated amazingly well and made feel like more than a traveller, i felt like family. The room was spotless, the amenities perfect, I could not ask for more. I would recommend this motel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyou1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Our stay at the Avonhead Lodge Motel was only brief. We arrived late one night after arriving at Christchurch Airport from Australia. We stayed just the one night before flying on to Queenstown the next morning. As we are a family with a 5 month old baby, we like to stay in units that have self-catering facilities (to heat up and wash bottles, etc) and we were having a hard time finding somewhere in Christchurch that didn't have a 'minimum 2 night stay' policy. We chose Avonhead Lodge Motel as we were able to stay just the one night we required. What a lovely surprise! Upon our arrival, there was milk and a map to our room and when we walked in it was all cosy and warm as Sally and Allan had the heating on in preparation for us! It's little things like that that make the difference! The room was old but spotlessly clean and the bedding and linen were good quality and very comfortable. It was also so quiet, you could've heard a pin drop. When morning arrived, we were greeted with the beautiful gardens surrounding the motel and saw how well-maintained it is. Sally then drove us to the Airport.. Thank you Sally and Allan.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

This motel is a real gem. We stayed there with other relatives for a family function in Christchurch. It is in a quiet suburban location, easily found from either the South or West. It is convenient for the airport but not under the flight paths. The 10 units are situated on a back section around a very pleasant garden area. Car parking is separate with garages. We had a large two bedroom unit with king sized bed in one room and twin beds in the other. The living room had very comfortable seating and a well equipped kitchen. My brother was in a large studio unit. This also had a full kitchen. Allan and Sally are very hospitable hosts. I will certainly be recommending this motel to any friends looking for accommodation in Christchurch.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.8 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#33 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#12 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
298 Westside Motor Lodge
298 Westside Motor Lodge
#68 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Bonne Motel
Belle Bonne Motel
#84 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airport Birches Motel
Airport Birches Motel
#59 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonhead Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonhead Garden Motel

Property: Avonhead Garden Motel
Address: 168 Yaldhurst Road | Avonhead, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonhead Garden Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet self catering units set in a lawn and garden environment. While an established property the Units are spacious warm with lots of sun we have a ****Qualmark rating. All units have been modernised and refurbished in 2013/2014. New bathrooms in all and new kitchens in most. New furniture furnishings and beds,(new beds 2012)Unit 3. soon to be up dated! Only 6 mins to airport and 15 to city centre. Bus stop at gate. Free wifi. Free Sky 52 Channels. Free Good quality Tea's, Coffee's and Hot Choc including fresh milk upon arrival. Bathroom complete with Shampoo, Conditioner, Body wash and Make-up remover! All you need! (New owners) Amanda and Gary look forward to being your hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Avonhead Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing