We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel”
Review of Earnslaw Motel

Earnslaw Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Earnslaw Motel
Ranked #128 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We found this motel to be clean and with great facilities. Our room included a double bed, TV, table and chairs, 2 single lounge chairs and a separate (almost) full size kitchen and separate bathroom. Everything was well maintained and clean (it was serviced everyday) and we found the room to be exactly what we needed for our stay in ChCh. It cost about $120 a night which I thought maybe a little overpriced for the side of town it is in. Having said that, we did walk to Riccarton Mall in 20 minutes and coming from a much bigger city ourselves it seemed to be so easy and quick to drive around ChCh anyway! P.S we felt earth tremors while we were there but the motel is only one level and very solidly built and is not particularly close to where the worst of the earthquake hit, we felt quite safe there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Earnslaw Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

This motel is family-run and very well-kept. The motel signage does not look like much from the main street but the internal grounds and rooms are very well-maintained. We stayed here on our return to Christchurch after several days of camping throughout the South Island and we found this motel extremely comfortable. Its situated close to the airport (about 10 mins drive) and close to a the Riccarton mall (a few mins drive). It may have been from all the camping but the bed was extremely comfortable and I think I had the best nights sleep in New Zealand in this motel. The kitchen is very clean and well-equipped with pots and pans. All round, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Friendly staff, spacious room with equiped kitchen. Clean, comfortable.
Only negative point no soap or shampoo given after the first day so you have to buy your own.
(you can get free DVDs to watch at the reception)
As with all motels in the area you need a car to move around. Distances are huge in NZ, (nothing to do with the motel, but you need to know it when going to NZ)
Remember it's a Motel (not a hotel)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

very clean apartment and ideally located if you wish to travel to Akaroua.
Kitchen is small but living room and bathrooms are spacious.
Offers free parking and allows check-ins at add hours (2:30am for us)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KashyapParikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I found this motel to be really affordable, very clean and comfortable and just right for my stay in CHCH. It's not a 5 star hotel but is a really nice, convenient, family run friendly motel with great hosts and nice units which feel nice and home-like. Was very happy, especially with the price. Beds were really nice and comfortable, nice hot showers....I had no complaints at all!! Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisarutherfordnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

paint does not cost a lot of money and everything needed painting.very cold and heated only by a small oil heater.not value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathrin4210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#37 of 146 in Christchurch
264 reviews
1.0 mi away
ASURE Bush Inn Court Motel
ASURE Bush Inn Court Motel
#123 of 146 in Christchurch
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Classique Lodge Motel
Classique Lodge Motel
#113 of 146 in Christchurch
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tui Lodge Motel
Tui Lodge Motel
#118 of 146 in Christchurch
26 reviews
3.4 mi away
Avalon Court Accommodation
Avalon Court Accommodation
#126 of 146 in Christchurch
45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econolodge Canterbury Court
Econolodge Canterbury Court
#88 of 146 in Christchurch
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Motel

Address: 288 Blenheim Road, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £48 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Earnslaw Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing