We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated rooms, but very kind, helpful owners”

Aarburg Airport Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aarburg Airport Motel
Ranked #108 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dated rooms, but very kind, helpful owners”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Needed a last minute room in Christchurch near the airport, and asked a taxi to drop me off on the street closest to the airport with inexpensive motels. After checking a few nearby, I was lucky to find a single room available at Aarburg. For single occupancy the rate was $30-40 less than neighboring motels, but what really stayed with me was how kind the owner couple was to me. I explained I was out of NZ dollars and barely had bus fare in my wallet, and they offered to drive me to the airport the next morning to catch my connecting flight. Also, I asked about wifi access, and they gave me their username and password (try finding free wifi at your typical NZ hotel!)

Yes, the room was very dated, but spotless and comfortable. Options appear to be limited in Christchurch since the earthquake. There is little in terms of food/shops within walking distance, but that's par for the course near the airport. Sometimes, when you're a tired, broke backpacker, kind, helpful service rises above all else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calibakpakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
17
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

the end of my trip i stayed there 1 night on 20 august , i was given a family room the heater was not enough to warm the room , the portable heater was then given by them which i used to warm my bed as the heated blankets didn't work , the beds were cold and moist . the flooring was very cold , the bathroom was very very small and the pressure in the shower was very slow , i wouldn't recommend this place only good thing was the free shuttle . furniture and rooms very outdated .

Room Tip: try to avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bacardiboy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Having arrived CH CH at 2am on a delayed flight from Brisbane and camping in a hire car alongside Burnside Park in freezing cold temps , the good folk at Aaburg Motel were a godsend at 8 am on a cold Saturday morning, not only did they rush cleaning a room for me ,well before check in time , I did not have any prior booking !,but the sheer friendliness of mine hosts was heart warming in the extreme . Yes the rooms are dated , but clean , most comfortable and very well priced imho.. I do plan to stay there on my next NZ visit .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middx
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The friendly owners will collect you from and take you back to the airport which is very close.The motel style rooms are a little dated but spotlessly clean.Heating could be better but the beds were very comfortable and shower efficient and hot. We had a family type unit with two rooms,kitchen,shower etc. Kitchen facilities were available for self catering although we only used it for making coffee and tea which was provided with a jug of fresh milk.There is a good Garden Centre coffee shop(terra nova) a few minutes walk away for breakfast/ lunch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagittarius7Middx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Same as other review, the heating in the rooms were not good enough, our electric blanket was not functioning. The size of the rooms were fine, but it was a little bit too compact at the toilet. The motel is a bit dated but still worth for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooh_tyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Heating not good enough for NZ winters. No heater in the bathroom. Rooms very dated. Blown light bulbs not replaced. General below standard for the price. Staff not particularly helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We booked here for our last night in New Zealand as we had to be at airport at 4am. For the price we could have done much better elsewhere. Owners were friendly but room was very dated. It did have kitchen facilities which we made use of but the bathroom was awkwardly set out and the rooms did not have adequate heating. Only one radiator was provided but did little to heat the rooms. It was handy to the airport but next time I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Airport Delta Motel
Airport Delta Motel
#32 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Airport Magnolia Accommodation
#37 of 132 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Lodge Motel
Airport Lodge Motel
#58 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Airport Stableford B & B
Airport Stableford B & B
#19 of 132 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.9 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aarburg Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarburg Airport Motel

Property: Aarburg Airport Motel
Address: 94-98 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aarburg Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing