We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Admiral Motel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$105
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
US$132
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$395
US$270
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Classic Villa(Christchurch)
US$182
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$127
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Montreal(Christchurch)
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
90
42
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
42
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbealey avenuefree wifilake tekapostudio roomfast wifithai containerwell equipped kitcheneating placesnew zealandaway from the roadfriendly hostshire carvictoria streetlong flightsmall kitchenettecomfortable staystayed here for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We arrived into Christchurch slightly disorientated on 27 December 2013. We got a very warm welcome from Rick and Ricki who told us that they had just taken over the business in the previous 10 days.

Ricki brought toys for the children and they were able to play outside which gave me a break. It was very private and quiet and we had plenty of room in the house to cook and watch TV.

The place was very clean if a little old fashioned.

We decided to cancel our reservation for January in another hotel and stay at the Admiral. Rick collected us from the bus on our return from Dunedin and brought us to the airport which was much appreciated. They were very helpful and gave us vouchers for tourist attractions

Room Tip: Ask for room no. 1 in the corner if you want a 2 bed. Its probably the most private
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This is a long pending review. We stayed for four nights in studio room.

Pros
Spacious room with well equipped kitchen.
Free wi-fi (good strength at room too).
overall clean well maintained facility with a homely touch everywhere.
Friendly host.
Free pick up to station for early morning tranz-alpine train.
Intercity coach drops you at door step.
Cons-
a little far from city center. However, a 15 min walk through this picteresque garden city during cool NZ summer was refreshing at the worst. :-).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 1 night. The lady at the desk was friendly, but rather unhelpful as it turns out. The map and directions she gave us made no mention of all the road closures that would be an obstacle in reaching our destination. Worse than that, she did not mention that the adjacent street to us was where people went to pick up "paid companions." I would think that if two young foreign girls asked for directions, she would warn them to avoid this area, especially at night.

The room was spacious and clean. However there were some unwelcoming signs. For example, there was a sign claiming if any smelly foods were cooked in the kitchen, the credit card on file would be charged $200. Considering it was $110 a night room, this seemed excessive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My wife and I stayed in a self-catering room in the Admiral Motel on Bealey Avenue for one night in May, 2012. Probably the best way to summarise what we thought of the room was something my wife noticed in the shower: with the taps turned to where they needed to be to get the best pressure and temperature from the shower, the labels appeared to say "Cold War". We suspect the rooms have needed an update since at least then.

Everything was old and a little bit shabby, but probably not quite at the stage of needing a replacement. Unfortunately this did lend an air of neglect to the place, which was unfortunate.

We didn't try to self-cater with the limited provided equipment; instead we went out and got take away. For more than one night this would have been a bit annoying, but for an evening before an early morning flight, it wasn't too painful.

The bed was comfortable enough, if a little bit saggy, and the road noise wasn't as bad as it could have been. Given that the room was the same price as one in the hotel next door (which I've also stayed in), I can't recommend staying in the Admiral until it receives an upgrade.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacificFing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The office smelt very bad on first arrival, If I had not already paid I would have moved on quickly. Office person was not friendly. Unit is very dated but was tidy enough. The towel In the room was of one star accommodation, something you would dry the dog with. I stayed three nights and was glad to be on my way. Would not stay again

Room Tip: Don't choose room 9, there is a set of traffic lights 5m from your room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews