We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Birches Motel
Ranked #59 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient stopover”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Clean and tidy hotel close to airport. We stayed here after arriving late at night before driving south the next day. The room we had was ideal as we were traveling with our teenage daughter as it had a tiny little single bedroom attached. I have never seen that anywhere else but its a great idea. The staff were very helpful and even supplied us with a continental breakfast at short notice early in the morning. We travel to Christchurch regularly and we will definitely be using this hotel in future. We hired a car but the hotel also has its own little shuttle bus.

Room Tip: This is a single level hotel. Big plus as no struggling with luggage up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAVCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    59
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
53
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Ideally located only mins drive away from Christchurch airport. We stayed in a 2 bed apart which had a double bed, 2 x singles and a fold out couch which was satisfactory for my parents, my husband and I with our two children. Although small it was clean and satisfactory for the one night we needed to recharge before setting off to explore the south. We arrived on midnight flight and reception was friendly and efficient. Don't think I would recommend for any longer than one night as the kitchen was tiny and dont think the couch would have cut it for more than a night. It really is just a stop over before or after flight.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank V_A_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom unit and arrived very late from the airport. The owners were nice enough to come and pick us up in the middle of the night! Not many places offer this service and we were very happy to save the taxi fare! The room was fine for what we paid although could do with some refitting some time soon. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellydalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed in the studio spa room which was very cosy, it was a great place to start our honeymoon. We arrived after hours which was not problem, loved the spa bath and the shower, nice warm room to spend a chilly night in.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissiepeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We chose this hotel because we had an early morning flight out of Christchurch and they offered shuttle service also. The rooms were large and well appointed and the staff was so nice and helpful. It is close to the airport but you do not hear any plane noise! Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlashVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We needed a place near the airport to stay because we were arriving late. The motel was very clean and the airport pick up at 12:30am and drop off in the morning was really appreciated. Beds very comfy. Nothing to complain about for a short stay. Thanks for your hospitality.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lanie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Thought I would write a review of this motel. I stay here on average monthly basis for busienss due to its handy location to work and can say I have been in most rooms which are extremely clean and comfortable. The owners are some of the nicest and most helpful people I have encountered on my travels across the globe and I can say I will continue to stay at this motel as long as I have the need to stay in Christchurch. Thanks for making each stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe_AKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.8 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#12 of 144 in Christchurch
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Avonhead Garden Motel
Avonhead Garden Motel
#54 of 144 in Christchurch
46 reviews
2.2 mi away
Airport Lodge Motel
Airport Lodge Motel
#57 of 144 in Christchurch
202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Birches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Birches Motel

Property: Airport Birches Motel
Address: 390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Birches Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Birches Motel, built 2001, is located just 4 kilometres from the Christchurch Airport, but out of the flight plan. All our rooms are GROUND FLOOR with NO additional floors on top. We offer our guests the comfort and convenience of being close to the Christchurch Airport, without the noise and hassle.Our courtesy shuttle service operates between the Christchurch Airport and Railway station between 9:00am - 9:00pm everyday, except, Xmas Eve, Day, Boxing Day & New Years Eve, Day. In addition to this we offer a park and fly option for those wishing to leave their cars behind whilst they travel overseas, conditions apply.We are close to both Hornby Shopping mall (2 minute drive, 10 minute walk) and Westfield Riccarton (5 minute drive). We are also one of the closest motels to Riccarton Racecourse & Riccarton Park Convention Centre, we offer a shuttle them during normal shuttle hours. Though it is only a few minutes walk. We are also only 5 minutes walk from a nearby minigolf and driving range, for those interested in Golfing. If you are heading into the city there is a local bus service that is a mere 400m down the road.We are ideally positioned for incoming travellers as we are on the crossroads of both the North and South bypasses. As well as on the main road off to the West Coast. Making us a perfect base to start your holiday. If you are looking closer a field, then Akaroa and Hanmer Springs as well as Arthur's pass are all within around 2 hours drive of us. Along with all the Ski Fields, such as Porters Heights and Mt Hutt.For those hungry travellers a large number of local eateries will deliver to our motel, as well as free transfers to the popular Avonhead Tavern. There is also a 24 hour service station down the road for snacks and goodies.So for a relaxing experience stay, stay with us at the Airport Birches Motel.Kind regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Airport Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Birches Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing