We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airport Birches Motel
Ranked #60 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, friendly”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Owner/manager accommodated our very late arrival (2am). It was very easy to find and close to the airport. Rooms are clean and nice touches with plunger coffee and biscuits. A nice little place for entering and exiting Christchurch. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    59
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
53
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for one night to start of our 2 week journey around the South Island. We were picked up at the airport late at night free of charge. Our room was basic, clean and sufficient. We received great service and all staff were friendly the next day. This is a husband and wife run operation and these guys work very hard to provide the service that they do, particularly airport pick ups. You just can,t expect a pick up early hours of the morning as they need sleep too. I took a taxi in the morning to pick up our rental wagon and it was only $15 and only a couple minutes drive from motel. So overall a handy place to start of your journey around the South Island.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Annema... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

lovely, quirky room layout. Massive spa bath. Very clean with everything you need. We left our car with them while travelling overseas, it was well looked after for a very minimal fee. Owners took us to airport free of charge and also organised free shuttle to casino the previous night .Very friendly and obliging staff and management. We will stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pistol116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We given a foldout bed with a horrible mattress. Springs dug in my back all night. When i told the Manager, he replied has well aware of the horrible mattress, and that was all he had to say. Manager offered no apology or understanding. Would never stay there again.
In addition, the room was very small and cramped.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Tony H

Thank you for your review, upon examination of the fold out bed we discovered a small ‘hose connector’ caught up in the metal work of the bed. We believe this was responsible for your bad night as the springs in the mattress were fine.

We are aware that a fold out couch will not meet the same quality levels as a proper bed and mattress which is why the fold out couch is referred to as such, and not as an additional bed.

We apologise for any inconvenience you may have suffered and wish you well on your travels.

Kind regards

Airport Birches Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here recently before a flight. The man was very nice and was quite chatty on the way to the airport in the courtesy van. We left our car there also at an extremely cheap rate. The room was pleasant enough, but could do with a touch up. A little dated in places. Very clean though and the bed was lovely and comfy

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

For our family of 4 we booked a 2 bedroom family suite, which had 2 small bathrooms. It was a very basic room but was sufficient for our needs of staying for one night after flying in. We stayed again prior to flying out on an early morning flight. We were unable to utilise the shuttle service provided by the hotel as our flights arrived too late and left too early. The owners kept and returned a few bits and pieces we had left on our first visit, thank you.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveller5ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

If you're looking for a one night stay close to the airport in Christchurch this property will fit the bill. Rooms are somewhat small but decent enough. Location is very handy to the airport and restaurants are about a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.8 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#12 of 144 in Christchurch
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Avonhead Garden Motel
Avonhead Garden Motel
#55 of 144 in Christchurch
46 reviews
2.2 mi away
Airport Lodge Motel
Airport Lodge Motel
#57 of 144 in Christchurch
202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Birches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Birches Motel

Property: Airport Birches Motel
Address: 390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Birches Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Birches Motel, built 2001, is located just 4 kilometres from the Christchurch Airport, but out of the flight plan. All our rooms are GROUND FLOOR with NO additional floors on top. We offer our guests the comfort and convenience of being close to the Christchurch Airport, without the noise and hassle.Our courtesy shuttle service operates between the Christchurch Airport and Railway station between 9:00am - 9:00pm everyday, except, Xmas Eve, Day, Boxing Day & New Years Eve, Day. In addition to this we offer a park and fly option for those wishing to leave their cars behind whilst they travel overseas, conditions apply.We are close to both Hornby Shopping mall (2 minute drive, 10 minute walk) and Westfield Riccarton (5 minute drive). We are also one of the closest motels to Riccarton Racecourse & Riccarton Park Convention Centre, we offer a shuttle them during normal shuttle hours. Though it is only a few minutes walk. We are also only 5 minutes walk from a nearby minigolf and driving range, for those interested in Golfing. If you are heading into the city there is a local bus service that is a mere 400m down the road.We are ideally positioned for incoming travellers as we are on the crossroads of both the North and South bypasses. As well as on the main road off to the West Coast. Making us a perfect base to start your holiday. If you are looking closer a field, then Akaroa and Hanmer Springs as well as Arthur's pass are all within around 2 hours drive of us. Along with all the Ski Fields, such as Porters Heights and Mt Hutt.For those hungry travellers a large number of local eateries will deliver to our motel, as well as free transfers to the popular Avonhead Tavern. There is also a 24 hour service station down the road for snacks and goodies.So for a relaxing experience stay, stay with us at the Airport Birches Motel.Kind regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Airport Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Birches Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing