We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, noisy, poor bedrooms and common areas. Not at all family friendly. Ok if you're a solo builder”
Review of At The Right Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
At The Right Place
Ranked #134 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Common areas dirty and overbearing. Walls paper thin. Tiny inadequate kitchen. Bedroom bunks unsafe. Fire exit locked and no key. Listed as quiet and ft friendly. Not at all. Noisy till 2 or 3 and men chatting, smoking drinking and vomiting. Both nights.
When we arrived the lady on reception was a bit put out that customers were ruining her time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

Thanks for your comments. we always do our best for our customers and we appreciate all feedback.

The hostel is not a new building, however we try to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests. It is a shame you didn't come and speak in reception about the things you complaint in this wall. We could've explain and / or fixed some of the things went wrong for you.
WE can not control people's behavior at all times (we can't be t always behind the customer controlling their behavior) and if you book a hostel you will always find people noisy and with different perspectives than you.
Think that we don't like people vomiting either as we are the ones who have to clean and also keep the reputation of the place safe.
We deal with lots of backpackers and most of them love the place and the ambiance we create. We have lots of people coming back and also recommending our place. So we are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy and we look forward to may be having a second chance.
Hope you have a good day
We see you next time hopefully,
safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed at this place because there is a lack of backpackers hostels in Christchurch. The price for a shared room is a bit expensive $32 pp. The nice thing is that I had the toilet and small kitchenette in the room, so I didn't had to go outside to go to the toilet or get a drink. Good mattresses and clean area.
The receptionist was a very friendly lady, she was very kind, and happy to help me to find a near by library with free WIFI and let me use the phone to make a local call.
The really bad thing was the communal kitchen: OH MY!! the kitchen was small, overcrowded, under stocked(no cups, lack of forks, only 2 dirty tea towels), and soooo dirty! The communal kitchen was bad experience, and the big pile of dirty dishes make it difficult to cook. More attention in the kitchen area, and paper towels could be provided to wipe and dry dishes after a person clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla_M86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Disappointed in this hostel....most expensive stayed at in either New Zealnd or Australia...probably because of the lack of accomodation in Christchurch due to the demolition of buildings....that would have been okay if the place had been better equipped....very basic cooking facilities, lack of utensils and mugs, plates etc. If you want to charge higher rates then do the decent thing and offer people a better service!

Room Tip: Tell them to reduce their prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Most aweful hostel ever, beds i was scared that brake down, nasty, filthy, noisy. I was so glad i only booked one night I ran as fast as i could from this place. Kitchen full of dirty dishes, rotting food, sticky floor. Most annoying you have to walk through the common room to go to the toilet. Just bad.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22ahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

Thanks for your review. we always appreciate constructive opinions.
The hostel is not a new building, however we try to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests. Dirty kitchen is not easy to control if your mates (backpackers ) don't wash after using dishes. We clean two times a day the kitchen and bathrooms. however sometimes, is difficult to understand why complaints go to us when we don't use the kitchen at all.
Your review bring us into concern as what we show in photos is what we offer. we have excellent stuff working always for the customer, so It is a shame you didn't come and speak in reception about the things you complaint in this wall. We could've explain and / or fixed some of the things went wrong for you.
We deal with lots of backpackers and most of them love the place and the ambiance we create. We have lots of people coming back and also recommending our place. So we are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy and we look forward to may be having a second chance.
Hope you have a good day
We see you next time hopefully,
safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the motel. $139 for the one night which was in a room that had a kitchen. No plug for the bath or sink was disappointing, TV reception average and a way too soft bed are the onlyinor complaints and were fine for one night.

We stayed in a holiday unit of similar facilities for $78 night for a week prior to staying here at the return to Christchurch the night before our flight home so compared to that I'm not sure it was good value.

Lighting on the stairs was non existent and needed. super soft queen size bed would be too soft for more than one night.

Receptionist really really helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crankyfrankly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I was probably unlucky because I stayed 3 nights and I don't have so mice memory of the place. I remember that the toilets where not so clean (bring your own towel!!), the washbasins hobbit-size (impossible to brush your teeth normally) and dirty air in the building. But it's safe! There was a medium earthquake one evening I was there and nothing fell.
It takes 20 minutes fast walking from the city centre and 25 minutes to the nearest supermarket. You're warned...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We were booked into here by the i-Site in Christchurch after being unable to find any accomodation on booking.com. The place is a combination motel/backpackers, and we stayed in a private studio room. From the outside it looks rather run-down, but on the inside it was clean and reasonably comfortable. We certainly have gotten better value for money elsewhere in NZ, but perhaps it is unfair to compare as Christchurch is a big city, and accommodation options are limited as all the places in the city center are still closed due to the earthquakes. If you are keen to be in Christchurch, this place is located within walking distance of places like the Botanical Gardens and the re:Start mall, as well as the few gap-filling bars that have popped up on Victoria St.

Room Tip: The rooms look to be about comparable, though every other room has a balcony with ashtray so it is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saffsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
2,100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#80 of 146 in Christchurch
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#71 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Achilles Motel
Achilles Motel
#106 of 146 in Christchurch
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#77 of 146 in Christchurch
119 reviews
2.7 mi away
AAA Northlands Motel
AAA Northlands Motel
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Right Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Right Place

Address: 85 - 87 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Akron Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £15 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — At The Right Place 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Right Place provides diverse and comfortable accommodation and is situated only 10 minutes walk from the city centre, botanical gardens, Hagley Park and Arts Centre. There are also plenty of restaurants & cafes in close proximity. All rooms and accommodation are located at the end of a 70 metre driveway, set well away from busy roads to give you a quieter and more relaxing place to stay.Quality Backpackers accommodation with comfortable common areas, free tea and coffee for all guests and friendly staff. All units have their own kitchen and bathroom amenities, are double glazed for extra comfort and opening direct or overlooking our private garden, bbq and play area. On-site facilities include internet access (broadband and wireless), guest laundry, excellent off-street parking. Proudly Kiwi owned and operated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your At The Right Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing