We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostel is expensive, dirty and in poor condition”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of At The Right Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
At The Right Place
Ranked #129 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hostel is expensive, dirty and in poor condition”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The most expensive we've stayed in to date but also the worst, avoid.

Reception is friendly enough but the hostel building (seperate) is not looked after one bit.

Holes in walls, lights not working, locks on doors barely work, generally dirty and kitchen is beyond just needing a tidy up.

Toilets and showers are too few and dirty. The kitchen is small with not great equipment, 1 of 2 kettles doesn't work & and one toaster only so good luck if it's busy.

Used by construction workers who don't care about the place or respect travellers either so expect alarms early in the morning if you've had to arrive late at night and just need a good sleep. Also small bunk beds which are probably for children, so don't expect to be able to sit up in bottom bunk, incidentally, if you get motion sickness then these bunks are really not for you!

A good 20 mins walk at least from town and also from NakedBus stop. Few food options nearby apart from pricey bars so it'll be a Burger King or Chinese only.

We're glad we only stayed one night and could get out. Brace yourself if this is the only place left with space.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Popey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this review, 27 July 2015
Thanks for your comments. we always do our best for our customers and we appreciate all feedback.
The hostel is not a new building, however we try to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests.
The people working in the rebuild are needed to get the city back to normal. It is a shame you didn't come and speak in reception about the things you complaint in this wall. We could've explain and / or fixed some of the things went wrong for you.
We are very sorry you hadn't have a good experience, however, we deal with lots of backpackers and most of them love the place and the ambiance we create.
Hope you have a good day
We see you next time hopefully,
safe travels
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    24
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
7
17
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Love the location, the room (I got a 5 shared room complete with bathroom and a kitchenette). The bunk beds are creaky, but I'm not complaining. The room is also very near to the laundry room.

The place is right on the main street, easy to get to the bus stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Booked here because the place I wanted to stay was booked.

This place is quite a hike from town center (about 20+ minutes) and is overpriced for what you get.

The communal rooms and bathrooms are FREEZING cold, there are holes in the walls that are plastered but not painted, there are only two showers and two toilets to share between all dorm room guests in the bathroom area (one toilet of the two was out of order when I was there). (This isn't counting the handicapped bathroom).

The kitchen is small and has been taken over by permanent renters: the city's constructions workers. They were very nice guys but I did feel a bit like an intruder.

The internet is $4/hr and, other than the local library, there aren't any free wifi alternatives nearby.

I stayed for one night and was out early the next morning. The stay wasn't traumatic or anything but I certainly wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Common areas dirty and overbearing. Walls paper thin. Tiny inadequate kitchen. Bedroom bunks unsafe. Fire exit locked and no key. Listed as quiet and ft friendly. Not at all. Noisy till 2 or 3 and men chatting, smoking drinking and vomiting. Both nights.
When we arrived the lady on reception was a bit put out that customers were ruining her time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this review, 28 July 2015
Thanks for your comments. we always do our best for our customers and we appreciate all feedback.

The hostel is not a new building, however we try to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests. It is a shame you didn't come and speak in reception about the things you complaint in this wall. We could've explain and / or fixed some of the things went wrong for you.
WE can not control people's behavior at all times (we can't be t always behind the customer controlling their behavior) and if you book a hostel you will always find people noisy and with different perspectives than you.
Think that we don't like people vomiting either as we are the ones who have to clean and also keep the reputation of the place safe.
We deal with lots of backpackers and most of them love the place and the ambiance we create. We have lots of people coming back and also recommending our place. So we are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy and we look forward to may be having a second chance.
Hope you have a good day
We see you next time hopefully,
safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed at this place because there is a lack of backpackers hostels in Christchurch. The price for a shared room is a bit expensive $32 pp. The nice thing is that I had the toilet and small kitchenette in the room, so I didn't had to go outside to go to the toilet or get a drink. Good mattresses and clean area.
The receptionist was a very friendly lady, she was very kind, and happy to help me to find a near by library with free WIFI and let me use the phone to make a local call.
The really bad thing was the communal kitchen: OH MY!! the kitchen was small, overcrowded, under stocked(no cups, lack of forks, only 2 dirty tea towels), and soooo dirty! The communal kitchen was bad experience, and the big pile of dirty dishes make it difficult to cook. More attention in the kitchen area, and paper towels could be provided to wipe and dry dishes after a person clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_M86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Disappointed in this hostel....most expensive stayed at in either New Zealnd or Australia...probably because of the lack of accomodation in Christchurch due to the demolition of buildings....that would have been okay if the place had been better equipped....very basic cooking facilities, lack of utensils and mugs, plates etc. If you want to charge higher rates then do the decent thing and offer people a better service!

Room Tip: Tell them to reduce their prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Most aweful hostel ever, beds i was scared that brake down, nasty, filthy, noisy. I was so glad i only booked one night I ran as fast as i could from this place. Kitchen full of dirty dishes, rotting food, sticky floor. Most annoying you have to walk through the common room to go to the toilet. Just bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22ahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this review, 28 July 2015
Thanks for your review. we always appreciate constructive opinions.
The hostel is not a new building, however we try to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests. Dirty kitchen is not easy to control if your mates (backpackers ) don't wash after using dishes. We clean two times a day the kitchen and bathrooms. however sometimes, is difficult to understand why complaints go to us when we don't use the kitchen at all.
Your review bring us into concern as what we show in photos is what we offer. we have excellent stuff working always for the customer, so It is a shame you didn't come and speak in reception about the things you complaint in this wall. We could've explain and / or fixed some of the things went wrong for you.
We deal with lots of backpackers and most of them love the place and the ambiance we create. We have lots of people coming back and also recommending our place. So we are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy and we look forward to may be having a second chance.
Hope you have a good day
We see you next time hopefully,
safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#79 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Achilles Motel
Achilles Motel
#118 of 144 in Christchurch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avalon Court Accommodation
Avalon Court Accommodation
#121 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tui Lodge Motel
Tui Lodge Motel
#117 of 144 in Christchurch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Right Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Right Place

Property: At The Right Place
Address: 85 - 87 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Akron Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Right Place provides diverse and comfortable accommodation and is situated only 10 minutes walk from the city centre, botanical gardens, Hagley Park and Arts Centre. There are also plenty of restaurants & cafes in close proximity. All rooms and accommodation are located at the end of a 70 metre driveway, set well away from busy roads to give you a quieter and more relaxing place to stay.Quality Backpackers accommodation with comfortable common areas, free tea and coffee for all guests and friendly staff. All units have their own kitchen and bathroom amenities, are double glazed for extra comfort and opening direct or overlooking our private garden, bbq and play area. On-site facilities include internet access (broadband and wireless), guest laundry, excellent off-street parking. Proudly Kiwi owned and operated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your At The Right Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing