We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
At The Right Place
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
14
26
16
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
26
16
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean towelsplace to staybealey avebackpackerscitymotelaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The most expensive we've stayed in to date but also the worst, avoid.

Reception is friendly enough but the hostel building (seperate) is not looked after one bit.

Holes in walls, lights not working, locks on doors barely work, generally dirty and kitchen is beyond just needing a tidy up.

Toilets and showers are too few and dirty. The kitchen is small with not great equipment, 1 of 2 kettles doesn't work & and one toaster only so good luck if it's busy.

Used by construction workers who don't care about the place or respect travellers either so expect alarms early in the morning if you've had to arrive late at night and just need a good sleep. Also small bunk beds which are probably for children, so don't expect to be able to sit up in bottom bunk, incidentally, if you get motion sickness then these bunks are really not for you!

A good 20 mins walk at least from town and also from NakedBus stop. Few food options nearby apart from pricey bars so it'll be a Burger King or Chinese only.

We're glad we only stayed one night and could get out. Brace yourself if this is the only place left with space.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Popey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thanks for your comments. we always do our best for our customers and we appreciate all feedback.
The hostel is not a new building, however we try to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests.
The people working in the rebuild are needed to get the city back to normal. It is a shame you didn't come and speak in reception about the things you complaint in this wall. We could've explain and / or fixed some of the things went wrong for you.
We are very sorry you hadn't have a good experience, however, we deal with lots of backpackers and most of them love the place and the ambiance we create.
Hope you have a good day
We see you next time hopefully,
safe travels
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Love the location, the room (I got a 5 shared room complete with bathroom and a kitchenette). The bunk beds are creaky, but I'm not complaining. The room is also very near to the laundry room.

The place is right on the main street, easy to get to the bus stop.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Booked here because the place I wanted to stay was booked.

This place is quite a hike from town center (about 20+ minutes) and is overpriced for what you get.

The communal rooms and bathrooms are FREEZING cold, there are holes in the walls that are plastered but not painted, there are only two showers and two toilets to share between all dorm room guests in the bathroom area (one toilet of the two was out of order when I was there). (This isn't counting the handicapped bathroom).

The kitchen is small and has been taken over by permanent renters: the city's constructions workers. They were very nice guys but I did feel a bit like an intruder.

The internet is $4/hr and, other than the local library, there aren't any free wifi alternatives nearby.

I stayed for one night and was out early the next morning. The stay wasn't traumatic or anything but I certainly wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Common areas dirty and overbearing. Walls paper thin. Tiny inadequate kitchen. Bedroom bunks unsafe. Fire exit locked and no key. Listed as quiet and ft friendly. Not at all. Noisy till 2 or 3 and men chatting, smoking drinking and vomiting. Both nights.
When we arrived the lady on reception was a bit put out that customers were ruining her time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

Thanks for your comments. we always do our best for our customers and we appreciate all feedback.

The hostel is not a new building, however we try to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests. It is a shame you didn't come and speak in reception about the things you complaint in this wall. We could've explain and / or fixed some of the things went wrong for you.
WE can not control people's behavior at all times (we can't be t always behind the customer controlling their behavior) and if you book a hostel you will always find people noisy and with different perspectives than you.
Think that we don't like people vomiting either as we are the ones who have to clean and also keep the reputation of the place safe.
We deal with lots of backpackers and most of them love the place and the ambiance we create. We have lots of people coming back and also recommending our place. So we are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy and we look forward to may be having a second chance.
Hope you have a good day
We see you next time hopefully,
safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed at this place because there is a lack of backpackers hostels in Christchurch. The price for a shared room is a bit expensive $32 pp. The nice thing is that I had the toilet and small kitchenette in the room, so I didn't had to go outside to go to the toilet or get a drink. Good mattresses and clean area.
The receptionist was a very friendly lady, she was very kind, and happy to help me to find a near by library with free WIFI and let me use the phone to make a local call.
The really bad thing was the communal kitchen: OH MY!! the kitchen was small, overcrowded, under stocked(no cups, lack of forks, only 2 dirty tea towels), and soooo dirty! The communal kitchen was bad experience, and the big pile of dirty dishes make it difficult to cook. More attention in the kitchen area, and paper towels could be provided to wipe and dry dishes after a person clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla_M86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews