We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice place”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was my first time in Christchurch and I was happily welcomed at this Lodge.
I was early but I received my room at around 11h which is unusual and very kind.
The room was very neat and with all necessary amenities.
Great TV channels and free internet to be mentioned.
Also good advices from Bruce.
If I go back to Christchurch I will surely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P07F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    189
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
198
367
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We moved to NZ in October and our first 'home' for over 2 weeks was Amross. We arrived looking like crap and probably not smelling so great but Sue and Bruce were fantastic and even helped us with our luggage upstairs to the apartment. As soon as we got in it completely surpassed expectations. The place was enormous. You'd pay an awful lot of money for a studio flat smaller than this in any major city in the UK. We'd seen pictures but it was just so much nicer. The place was well kept and you could tell that the staff were top notch. We went exploring in CHCH the next day and when we came back there was a new supply of cookies and chocolate (this happened every day... not just on arrival!) what a plus! The cleaning staff had even done the washing up for us. Sue and Bruce were great and helped us with everything from mail to bike storage while we got on our feet in this amazing country. Without them things would have been a lot harder for a couple of Brits who had never even visited before. We had to extend our stay in motels as finding a house to rent was incredibly difficult as the demand is high and supply low. They did their best to accommodate us for as long as possible but they're so popular (and it's completely deserved popularity) that we had to move to another motel a couple of doors down. It was nowhere near as nice and we were counting the days until we could move into the house. Completely spoiled by Amross. It seems talking to locals that the Bealey Avenue has a reputation for being noisy with traffic so if you've heard this, we have no idea if it's true or not because the rooms were all set well away from the road so we couldn't really hear anything. An absolutely fantastic place and cannot praise it enough. If you ever come to Christchurch, this is a great place to stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: There's no swimming pool! I can't remove the rating. Oops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiggleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it! The room was very spacious, they gave us free wifii (which is rare here in NZ), they offered like 50 channels on the TV (which is also rare.. usually you only get like 10). The kitchen was very well equipped as well as the bathroom. The bed was very comfy too. Service was top notch. Staff was super helpful. They helped us schedule airport transportation and held onto our bags after we checked out, until we had to leave to the airport. We definitely recommend this place!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dnlm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta,
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was the best experience by far during our three week tour of the country. The staff were friendly and intelligent. The facility is charming. The TV works. The internet is relatively fast and not limited by silly rules .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBristowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Pontevedra, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent two days in this motel and it was great the rooms are very spacious and the beds really comfortable with good bed linen nice room with kitchen and good television and Sue and Bruce are really nice and helpful , highly recommended , I made a mistake on the swimming pool option and I can't remove it so take no notice as there is no pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travelGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whanganui
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our first visit to Christchurch and this was the ideal place to stay.Easy to find,close to town,shops,restaurants and the lovely Hagley Park,our unit was clean, quiet and well-appointed.Well priced too.

Room Tip: Upstairs is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellemichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at this motel and could not have been happier. The rooms are large, the bed comfortable and all spotlessly clean. The kitchen area has everything you could ask for and the bathroom is well appointed. The owners, Sue and Bruce are friendly & extremely helpful. We arrived on an early flight & they stored our bags & let us have an earlier check-in. We honestly could not fault this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lillymarlene49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
621 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,796 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amross Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amross Court Motor Lodge

Property: Amross Court Motor Lodge
Address: 61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amross Court Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location. Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating. 14 clean, spacious, affordable units, comprising 1 and 2 bedroom units, access and studio units. Walking distance to good restaurants, city centre, Hagley Park and Museum. Free off street parking, free Wi-Fi. Air Conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amross Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing