We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A colleague and I spent a week in the twin unit while on a course in ChCh. I have spent many nights away in a previous job and are aware of the general standard (or lack of) in many motels.

Without hesitation I would say that this is one of the best places I have stayed at for the following reasons.
1) Close to some great restaurants and to the CBD
2) Very big unit - not lack of space. Big kitchen and lounge, and two big double rooms. The lounge had a really comfortable couch which is rare in many motels.
3) Great lighting - this is also rare in many motels which makes doing work in the evenings difficult. This unit had great lighting.
4) Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, Owner at Amross Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi and thank you for your review.
We thought it was great that you picked up on the lighting as we have replaced all our light bulbs with LED bulbs in the last few months.
Also the couch, we put new couches into all the 1 and 2 bedroom units at the end of last year.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Bruce and Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

The rooms are large modern,clean and have everything you need for a stay. The owners were away but the managers made us very welcome giving recommendations for places to visit and restaurants in the area. We would stay here again when in Christchurch.

Room Tip: This motel is with reasonable distance of the airport and walking distance into Christchurch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 286Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, Owner at Amross Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi
Thanks for your review, it is great to no our managers are do a fantastic job.

Bruce and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

An excellent choice of Motel and highly recommended. Reception very friendly and the accommodation good and very clean. The Motel is very well placed for walking the 15minutes into the centre of Christchurch. Its probably one of the most conveniently situated since many buildings in the centre have been destroyed by the earthquake of 3 years ago. There were no vacancies when we were there so reservation is recommended. We dined at 50Bistro at George hotel - see report on TA

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have been staying mostly in lodges during our trip with good experiences and this was no different. The front desk staff are not staff - they are the owners - she greeted us with warmth and caring. A tour of the facitities and showed us on the map the places we may need to go.

The rooms were very clean and large. The sitting room and kitchen were welcoming and had all the ameneties needed. We were not looking for room service - we were looking for clean and comfortable with parking and a kitchenette. This met all of our needs and expectations. There are many restaurants within walking distance.A pluse for us - not having to drive once we reach our destination! Yes - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jahna27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Rooms large and clean, with excellent facilities and attention to detail. High standard on every level. Very close to centre, bus routes and restaurants. Owners very helpful. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELAINE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Excellend stay in a 1 bedroom unit. It is spacious, comfortable, clean, well maintained and it comes with a fully equipped kitchen and toilet. A friendly lady at the reception. We walk in to get a room and was upgraded to the 1 bedroom unit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agathabryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was one of the best motels I have ever stayed in. Our wonderful hosts let us into our room at 11 am even though they had been fully booked the night before. After our overnight flight this was really appreciated. It may not have been the most opulent but everything provided was comfortable and extremely clean and the room was spacious with everything provided that we needed. Could not find fault in anything

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,951 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,373 reviews
1.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amross Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amross Court Motor Lodge

Address: 61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £80 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amross Court Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location. Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating. 14 clean, spacious, affordable units, comprising 1 and 2 bedroom units, access and studio units. Walking distance to good restaurants, city centre, Hagley Park and Museum. Free off street parking, free Wi-Fi. Air Conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Amross Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing