We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleep in unclean sheets”
Review of Avon City Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avon City Motel
Ranked #97 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This would be classed as the worst I have ever stayed in. You can have dated but clean. The shower was dirty, the rubbish tin looked like it hasn't been cleaned in years and the carpet was close to thread bare. The toilet seemed as if it hadn't been cleaned but as there are problems in Christchurch at the moment I let that by. What I couldn't let by was turning back the bed to see the sheets had not been changed, complete with makeup on the sheets and all over the pillow case. The bed still showed where somebody had been sleeping. When brought to the managers attention (who at 8.15am we had to get out of bed) the gentleman was shocked but the lady didn't seem to be bothered. They have such a pretty property on the outside but when you go into the room it just seemed to have marked walls etc. The tv seemed new but the remote wouldn't work that well, maybe new batteries would help. We at least got an apology letter but that was it no discounted refund. I will never stay again and if you do check the sheets first and smell the bedspreads (not pleasant at all).

Room Tip: always pull the bed back and look under the lid of the rubbish tin.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We pride ourselves in maintaining a very high standard of cleanliness and take any complaints extremely seriously.

We have only recently joined TripAdvisor and were taken aback by this negative review.

We have gone over our records and have found a copy of our apology letter sent to this guest. The letter was written and posted on the day of their departure. We explained that our extremely high housekeeping standards were unfortunately compromised and that we were sincerely apologetic about their unsatisfactory stay. We were disheartened to then find out that this review had been placed on TripAdvisor.

Our explanation for our compromised housekeeping is that our regular cleaner was sick and we did not check the cleanliness of the unit that the Temp had done.

We, as moteliers do rely on our guests to advise us if their remote/television or any other appliance is not working. As soon as we are notified of an inoperative appliance we immediately rectify the problem.

Occasionally we do sleep in until about 8am, as we are up until midnight every night ready to welcome guests who arrive late and need a place to stay. Most other motels close at 9pm.

We feel this review is inaccurate and unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Avon City Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

we stayed in sep there. in front of parking and busy main street, no play area and no entertain-stuff(like dvd player) not suitable for kids as safety. small sofa, old tv and tiny shower-room. we missed to have bath at home.
kitchen was ok. room is tidy and clean when check-in. good to have towel-change everyday.
close to fish n chips and pizza place. short walk to wine&beer shop.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02091972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2011.
It was very clean, spacious room, clean kitchen, but very small bathroom.
But the outstanding standard of cleanliness made up for it.
Although on the mainroad, double glazing made it very quiet.
Friendly helpful manager.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedomfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.8 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
724 reviews
3.4 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
72 reviews
4.0 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon City Motel

Address: 402 Main North Road, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing