We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get-together for a wedding”
Review of Coachman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coachman Motel
Ranked #78 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked 3 units. Everyone was happy with their accommodation and the proprietors went out of their way to cater for all of our needs. The units were quiet, comfortable and warm and parking right outside the door was fine. We will be back!.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Made to feel very welcome, Had nice comfortable Studio Room towards the road, Lots of extra Pillows and very clean spacious room. Hells Pizza -( Riccarton) delivered to the door, we didnt use the Kitchen but all the basics were there. A very easy place to find, with friendly host.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Poorly maintained rooms and not close to town. I suggest you pay a bit more and stay in town. I walked into town and back for the excercise and there is a bus service to make it easy for those not wishing to walk.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

If you are looking for somewhere that is convenient to the shopping that Christchurch has to offer that is located in the riccarton area, then look no further. When I stayed here, I was amazed at the size of the one bedroom unit and the price I paid. One comfy double bed and a single, with Sky tv to watch along with tea, coffee and two bottles of milk as a complimentary gift. The shower is warm, the atmosphere is inviting and for 100.00 it was well worth it. I tell my family and my friends about this place when we come to christchurch. The location is perfect with a bus stop literally 30 seconds from motel to stop. Lots of parking and friendly service makes this motel a very cool place. Cheapest around too

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80sgirlChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were very unimpressed with our small room. It was advertised as a double, but we were surprised at how small it was. There was very little room between the bed at the walls and nowhere for us to put our luggage. We understand that rooms are at a premium in Christchurch, but compared to another room we'd had in Christchurch earlier in our trip this one was very disappointing. We won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Central location and good for CBD & airport. Very basic, consisted of bits and pieces of odd/old furniture. In need of modernising & carpet was threadbare. $8 for 24 hrs internet, continually timed out. Sorry, but wouldn't stay again. Korean owners, pleasant and will pay more and go for upgrade next time in Christchurch. Ate at Lone Star which was excellent.

Room Tip: Would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Very spacious rooms, good spacious kitchen area. Date rooms but we got used to that in every motel in NZ. Short drive to the airport, which is what we needed for a very early start. Good wifi connection. Friendly staff. Was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkiebar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#82 of 146 in Christchurch
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ilam Motel
Ilam Motel
#139 of 146 in Christchurch
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
315 Motel Riccarton
315 Motel Riccarton
#21 of 136 in Christchurch
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ASURE Bush Inn Court Motel
ASURE Bush Inn Court Motel
#128 of 146 in Christchurch
50 reviews
3.9 mi away
AAA Northlands Motel
AAA Northlands Motel
#134 of 146 in Christchurch
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
#48 of 146 in Christchurch
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Motel

Address: 316A Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £50 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Coachman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing