We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Court Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
5
20
12
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
20
12
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Refurbished (from our room) older motel. Well located and comfortable. Good basic motel with comfortable bed, kitchenette and acceptable tv/sky etc.

Helpful and friendly proprieters

suffers like everything on Bealey Ave from noisy Christchurch night-time hoons!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samandhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed for a few nights in December on our way of a tour of the south island. Avalon was our first stop and although a little "quirky" for us Americans it was clean and tidy. Our room had excellent bedding, clean bathroom, and functional kitchenette. The fixtures are slightly outdated (one faucet for hot, one for cold on the sinks) and the bottom of the shower is made of a strange metal material that makes noises when you step on it. There is laundry on site for a small fee and the caretakers are very pleasant and accommodating. I would recommend this location to anyone looking to stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonyavalon, Owner at Avalon Court Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

thank you for your lovely comments
lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

1st day we arrived in christchurch, we checked into this motel. we were offered a two bedroom motel room but was told to use only one room. Fair enough. The room was quite musty and the sofa was old. is a bit outdated. we dare not throw rubbish in the rubbish bin as a excessive rubbish and dishes will be charged to credit card sticker was pasted on the wall near the sink. the bedroom was cold as the heater was in the living room. the electric blanket doesn't help.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aro5251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Booked three weeks in advance, turned up at 8pm to be told - owner had made mistake with booking. Sent us to motel in deserted earthquake damage zone, where owner was v helpful, but area was a nightmare. Nowhere to eat, nowhere to buy food and only people around were down and outs.
Extremely annoyed as spend a lot of time researching motels and areas in Christchurch before choosing Avalon.
Complained to owner by email, am still awaiting a reply hence warning - not only is owner incompetent but obviously cares little about customer service

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

we stayed in this little 2 BR type motel unit which was great value for money and exactly what we needed

this is a no frills place but has everything a family needs and provides the space a family of 5 rarely finds

the motel is locatedon a busy road but we did not find this too disturbing

we received a warm and friendly welcome during our 3 night stay and can thoroughly recommend this value for money motel

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarvis-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews