We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIPPED OFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Court Accommodation
Ranked #126 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Booked a two bedroom unit over the internet two weeks before arrival. We are a couple traveling with a child. My husband went to reception on arrival, and was charged the $140.00 for the two bed unit. When we got to the unit it wasn't a two bedroom unit or even a one bed unit, but had a queen and single bed in the lounge!!!!!! I went back to the office, and was informed that she hadn't read the booking, that there was no two bed unit available, and as it was a holiday weekend we couldn't get any other motel.

* WHY WERE WE CHARGED THE TWO BED PRICE IN THE FIRST PLACE?* A refund was then given for the overcharging on a smaller unit.

The units are VERY OLD and not like the photos portray. I had to wash all the pots and dishes as they still had old food on them. The bathroom had no extractor fan and steamed up badly. And we seemed to be sharing a hot water cylinder with another unit, it was very noisy, and meant that the shower was running hot then cold when the other unit used the water.

VERY DISAPPOINTED, WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS MOTEL

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

If you value your sleep, or are a light sleeper, it's best not to book here. The road traffic noise felt amplified.

This motel is also quite old, compared to some of its more modern neighbors on Bealey Ave. I personally didn't feel the room had much privacy, and was also taken aback when one of the bedrooms in my room was locked "so I wouldn't use it". I had booked a studio room, and was placed in a family room - that's not my problem.

The manager boasts of 50 sky channels and free wifi, however the channels do not include a movie channel and the wifi is only for a limited amount of mb.

There are also several notices in the rooms warning you not to have "excessive rubbish or dishes" as you would be fined $50.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Refurbished (from our room) older motel. Well located and comfortable. Good basic motel with comfortable bed, kitchenette and acceptable tv/sky etc.

Helpful and friendly proprieters

suffers like everything on Bealey Ave from noisy Christchurch night-time hoons!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samandhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed for a few nights in December on our way of a tour of the south island. Avalon was our first stop and although a little "quirky" for us Americans it was clean and tidy. Our room had excellent bedding, clean bathroom, and functional kitchenette. The fixtures are slightly outdated (one faucet for hot, one for cold on the sinks) and the bottom of the shower is made of a strange metal material that makes noises when you step on it. There is laundry on site for a small fee and the caretakers are very pleasant and accommodating. I would recommend this location to anyone looking to stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonyavalon, Owner at Avalon Court Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

thank you for your lovely comments
lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

1st day we arrived in christchurch, we checked into this motel. we were offered a two bedroom motel room but was told to use only one room. Fair enough. The room was quite musty and the sofa was old. is a bit outdated. we dare not throw rubbish in the rubbish bin as a excessive rubbish and dishes will be charged to credit card sticker was pasted on the wall near the sink. the bedroom was cold as the heater was in the living room. the electric blanket doesn't help.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aro5251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Booked three weeks in advance, turned up at 8pm to be told - owner had made mistake with booking. Sent us to motel in deserted earthquake damage zone, where owner was v helpful, but area was a nightmare. Nowhere to eat, nowhere to buy food and only people around were down and outs.
Extremely annoyed as spend a lot of time researching motels and areas in Christchurch before choosing Avalon.
Complained to owner by email, am still awaiting a reply hence warning - not only is owner incompetent but obviously cares little about customer service

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

we stayed in this little 2 BR type motel unit which was great value for money and exactly what we needed

this is a no frills place but has everything a family needs and provides the space a family of 5 rarely finds

the motel is locatedon a busy road but we did not find this too disturbing

we received a warm and friendly welcome during our 3 night stay and can thoroughly recommend this value for money motel

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarvis-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#116 of 146 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sherborne Motor Lodge
Sherborne Motor Lodge
#63 of 146 in Christchurch
119 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Motel
Diplomat Motel
#115 of 146 in Christchurch
102 reviews
3 mi away
Econolodge Canterbury Court
Econolodge Canterbury Court
#88 of 146 in Christchurch
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Court Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Court Accommodation

Address: 301 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £54 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Court Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for accommodation in Christchurch in the near future? Then look no further. Avalon Court Accommodation is conveniently located on Bealey Avenue and its hosts, Anthony & Susan, look forward to making your stay with them a happy and comfortable one. There are 10 spacious units in the complex; six studios and four two-bedroom units, which are ideal for families. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen and dining table and chairs, a separate private bathroom, Sky TV, direct dial telephone and complimentary tea and coffee. All units are smoke-free.As the Avalon Motel is a member of the Budget motel chain, you are assured of real value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Avalon Court Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing