We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget-plus crashpad in Christchurch”
Review of Tudor Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tudor Court Motel
Ranked #66 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Budget-plus crashpad in Christchurch”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

1980's style motel positioned at the budget-plus price point. Partner and I stayed one night passing through Chch. Happy with the stay bearing in mind what we paid. Huge comfortable bed, excellent standard of cleanliness with all the standard motel requisites. Seems only one person seems to look after the place so a few details get overlooked - no plug in the bathroom sink, toilet light was out, television positioned too low down to view easily. But no worries, our expectations weren't pitched any higher. Door design means heavy curtain must be pulled right across for complete daytime privacy, thus plunging the room into complete darkness. Post box for the keys was a neat touch, meaning we could get out of Dodge early in the morning. Note: reversing out the narrow carpark could be a mission for some folk (e.g.) big car, neck mobility problem, classic with no power-steering.

Room Tip: Don't arrive before 14:00h. There's only one chap on duty for everything and your room prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaston G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudor Court M, Manager at Tudor Court Motel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. We would like to let you that since your visit we added net curtains on the unit's doors to complete the privacy and replace the toilet bulb (we check every day and we are sorry we missed one, we have spare light bulb at the office and we could have replaced it straight away if you had let us know). Check in time is from 2pm like in most of hotels/motels, so we can achieve the high standard of cleanliness (as you noticed) even in high season. As you mention our beds are very comfortable, and we are happy you enjoyed your time with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a future. Tudor Court Motel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    22
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
30
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed there before Xmas 2013/14 the new management is great, even went our and personally bought us a plastic baby bath for our toddler, their continental breakfast was a touch of class too!. Close to major transport routes, bars and restaurants and the casino......will be definitely going back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglejay1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudor Court M, Owner at Tudor Court Motel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and especially about our delicious continental breakfast! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temuka, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Really nice clean comfortable motel in an excellent location.
Walking distance of lots of restaurants and other attractions like the casino.
Very helpful and friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudor Court M, Owner at Tudor Court Motel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our motel. As you noticed, cleanliness and friendliness are our top priority. Yes the motel is in a great location with everything you need in walking distance. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Terrible service, the mattresses in all rooms were terribly uncomfortable... Feels like you are sleeping on a bed of knives. When you wake up expect dints in your body from the springs... When you complain to the manager.. Expect a un helpful response. The owner is a disgrace to the Tudor hotel chain.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudor Court M, Owner at Tudor Court Motel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us.
If we are not mistaken, you are talking about the sofa bed in your room.
Our studio and one bedroom units are designed for 2 guests. As a convenience for those travelling on a budget, we offered you the sofa bed as an option for groups of 3 guests, to allow all guests to share a unit for a cheap price. The quality of sleep on a sofa bed will always be less than in a bed, so in the future we would recommend one of our One bedroom Family units which can cater for up to 4 guests or our 2 bedroom units and in both these room types, all guests get to sleep in a proper comfortable bed! As a result of your comments we will now only use the sofa beds as an emergency option and for children.
A few corrections to your review: The staff member tried his best to help with an extra mattress, the owners were on holiday when you visited and we constantly receive compliments about our newly updated beds. Also we are not part of a Tudor court motel chain. We are the new owners of this motel and exciting new changes and renovations will continue as time permits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Greeted warmly and given lots of help and advise. Room was lovely and clean with sky tv and free wifi. Short walk to the best Chch restaurants and the hosts had given me a great recommendation. Followed by an evening stroll in the nearby park/gardens.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudor Court M, Manager at Tudor Court Motel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
Yes we are very central to everything and are walking distance to most places. We are happy that we could give you great recommendations and advices, we like to help guests to enjoy the exciting recovery and rebirth of Christchurch.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you decided to share your comments with us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very basic Motel. Door fell off kitchen cupboard, hole in bedroom door, dust hanging from light shades and thin towels. Very, very noisey. A spare bed squashed into lounge which meant very little room for table or lounge suite.Had to ask for clean towels, but cleaner didn't take away used ones!! Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I have stayed here a few times now and always find it a clean and comfortable place and it is close to town and services while also being an easy drive to the airport. A couple of really good Asian restaurants within walking range. It is starting to show its age and is a bit tired ,but given the demand for accommodation in Christchurch it still represents great value and is still obviously popular given the motels on either side were half full and Tudor court was booked out. The new managers need to lift their game, no glasses in room 10 and a very noisy tap either in the laundry or the unit below but otherwise still good, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 or 10 are best..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#81 of 144 in Christchurch
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#31 of 144 in Christchurch
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#27 of 144 in Christchurch
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Motor Lodge
Camelot Motor Lodge
#57 of 144 in Christchurch
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Court Motel

Property: Tudor Court Motel
Address: 57 Bealey Avenue | Merivale, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Court Motel provides quality accommodation whatever your reason for visiting Christchurch. We are situated centrally in Christchurch, the gateway to the South Island of New Zealand. All suites have: Wireless in-room internet access, Well-equipped kitchen in all units (microwave, cooktop or stove), Sky Television, Morning and afternoon sun, Access to guests' laundry with iron and ironing board, Some suites have a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tudor Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing