We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired and over priced”
Review of Designer Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Designer Cottage
Ranked #3 of 135 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed in No 55. It is a small and cosy cottage, but the decoration is very tired, lots of scuffs on the paint work and a very large, undecorated, patch repair to the plaster on one wall in the main bedroom. The Toilet / washroom facilities are very limited and the sink for washing in is so small that we resorted to using the kitchen sink instead. The bed in the main bedroom seriously needs attention, it was very noisy when moving.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artificer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Designer Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

The Design Cottage has convinced me with its charm. The room was large and tidy. The owner is very friendly and gave me many tips. The proximity to the center and varied food options is best.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I went to New Zealand recently for the World Cup. I made a detour to visit Christchurch and of course Designer Cottage. What a huge difference Christchurch is from the one I visited two years ago. The earthquake has done a lot of damage to the city centre and many other areas.

Fortunately Designer Cottage escaped much of the damage. It still retains the uniqueness and the charm of little cottage. This is my second visit but it is still that welcoming and comfortable. It just made me feel like home away from home. I like the garden in the middle of all the cottages especially when the two cats are running all over the place.

The person behind these welcoming cottages is none other than Chet. He is always that friendly, welcoming and ever willing to offer you suggestions on areas to explore. To put it this way, without a friendly, approachable host Designer Cottage will just be another B&B. But Chet has made Designer Cottage comfortable, friendly and indeed a home sweet home especially when you are traveling.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAROLDYEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stay for two nights, although the bed is quite small for us (couple + Infant) for the double room, but it is clean and comfy, and also the heater works well. Shared bathroom is clean. And with friendly and accomodate host, Chet, make us feels like at home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yansen_Ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I have stayed at Designer cottage 3 times in the last two years.
Every time Chet makes us very welcome and nothing is too much trouble.
We will stay there again when next in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Breakfast is a good time to catch up with fellow guests from all over the world. Chet can advise wh...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiJohn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I had been staying there few times last year. It is amazing cottage and cute. The host Chet Wah is very friendly and accomodate. He is very helpful and you feel just like home. The cottage is close to the city centre. The garden is full of local fruits and I were amazed with the kiwi and pear trees. I'm also touch how generous is the host for offering a clean water from his well to the public during the earthquake. The friendly service I get from the breakfast table always brought a good memory. I will never forget that. I recommend to anyone to stay at the Designer cottage. Happy Customer: TH

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyHQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Our visit to Christchurch was made very comfortable and enjoyable by Designer Cottage, and the owner Chet. The cottages are all well maintained, have an old world charm, and are rock solid. i would recommend Designer Cottage to any visitor - international or domestic, for the good service, excellent rates and especially good local knowledge.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with any of them...
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_Diwaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,899 reviews
2.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#2 of 135 in Christchurch
648 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#1 of 135 in Christchurch
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Designer Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designer Cottage

Address: 53 Hastings Street West, Christchurch 8023, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £47 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Designer Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designer Cottage was a sailors' retreat in the 70s and is located in peaceful surroundings just off Colombo Street near the shops and opposite Sydenham Park. The walk to the city centre from the cottage will give you the chance to admire many listed heritage buildings on Colombo Street. We offer a variety of rooms, which are all tastefully decorated, including share facilities, private room with en-suite and a self-contained cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Designer Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing